We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel next to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel next to the beach”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you want to relax next to the beach and avoid Tulum-town (the Pueblo) or mass-tourism accomodation, Dos Ceibas is just the perfect place for you!

Dos Ceibas is a fantastic boutique hotel with a specific focus on the preserving of the environment.

We stayed there 8 days in total, in a studio for 3 persons with private kitchen.

Accommodation is both very confortable and eco-friendly (e.g. fans instead of air-con in the rooms, no electricity in the rooms while you are out, exclusive use of specific shampoo/soap to preserve the environment, etc. so that the hotel is almost self-sufficient energy-wise).

Service and management are very friendly.

Food is delicious and follows the principles of slow-food.

The hotel has direct access to the beach and is not surrounded by big hotels, so that we were only a few clients to enjoy the beautiful beach next to the hotel.

Yoga courses every morning are optional and were a great experience.

We definitely recommend Dos Ceibas and look forward to going back there!

Many thanks to the team for a fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    68
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
106
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The title says it all,but ... It is family hotel in the best part of the beach of Tulum. They've managed to preserve the natural landscape and at the same time to deliver everything we needed for our vacation. We met very warm people who gave us an amazing time. The reserve is just around the corner. Clear water cenote, 50 meters distance. Nice restaurants close by ...Quiet and clean rooms! Ask for Luca. He is a manager/family and gave us very useful information. We have spent few nights in different hotels in the area, but this was the one that we fell in love. Deffinitely going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panayot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After almost missing it, hidden in the wild side of the beach area, behind a jungle entrance, there it was... A shady mysterious path, tastefully tucked cabanas, silence, serenity and Paradise view of the turquoise beach at the end of it...
After having tried 5 hotels beforehand we (me and my brother) were sceptical...we intended to stay for a few days, expecting to be disappointed again...We ended up staying 5 weeks!!
We met amazing people, we... actually, this is the status I wrote on Facebook after our time there.. I think it says it all:
'Amazing new friends, guitar beach evenings, tartarugas, falling stars, Dos Ceibas, cenotes, plankton, our hammock terrace, lagoons, reserves, Margaritas, deserted beaches, snorkelling, Aura, party crabs, intimidating barracudas, coconuts, Tulum hugs, hitchhikers, full moon evenings... Thank you everyone for this unexpectedly amazing 5 weeks! P.S. Tulum, it is not over! Next time I promise we will find time for The ruins:) Xxxxx'
And... 4 months later, we moved to live in Tulum:)
To sum it up, totally recommending this place x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stilalex000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife (I'm still getting used to saying that) went to Tulum and found this place on TripAdvisor. I don't think we could have picked a better place to stay. We only planned to stay one night, since we had a room in Playa Del Carmen. That changed quickly. After spending about 20 minutes meeting the staff, walking around the area with a beer in hand, we booked a room for the next night.

The staff was beyond accomodating and entertaining. They helped with everything and gave great honest advice. Seriously probably the best service we had while in Mexico. Luca (sorry Luca if I mispelled your name) was awesome. He even lent me his personal snorkeling gear to go to the reef and pointed me to the best location to go. He wasn't wrong. The rest of the staff, well, I wish they would've offered me a job. You can tell from their energy that they love what they do and have great energy between each other.

The location is perfect for couples. Quiet, romantic and live music on the weekends. We were able to ride up to the Tulum ruins and down to Sian Ka'an from the location. Again, perfect.

The food surprised me. I figured it would be mediocre, just something to snack on. I was wrong. The chef (his name escapes me) created dishes that were perfectly seasoned. I'm a chef, so I tend to be a little critical. His dishes, especially the Tikin Xic, were great. The fish fillet Dos Ceibas was also above par. Simple and honest.

Another plus of the resort was yoga. My wife did yoga on both mornings and had a love/hate relationship. She said it was some of the best sessions that she has had and the last one on the beach was probably the most difficult one (but she did it and is still talking about how great it was). I watched this session and drank coffee and I felt tired.

I can tell you that we will be back. I wish we could've stayed longer, but such as life. If the staff does read this, again, thank you for making our honeymoon that much better. We couldn't have asked for more.

- Rob

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobDyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had been at an ecological accommodation in Costa Rica and so I did know what I was getting into - brackish showers, ceiling fans only, electronics chargers at the front desk only, nothing down the toilet that you don't produce naturally, eco soap only, etc.

At first glance, and in our first room (Mariposa upstairs, the pink one), things were very good, although I don't recommend that room to anyone with knee replacements because getting up those stairs is interesting (painful!) as several treads are widely spaced. But the beach looks like a Corona beer commercial, the room was pretty and spacious and breezy, they have a cute little restaurant (especially at night when the little candles are lit), and Luca and Fabien and the staff were very nice. We had a lovely reflexology-plus-back massage from Pamela in an alcove near the restaurant. Our waiter Manuel was a delight, with good service, a great smile and great recommendations for where to go and what to see.

Luca made a reservation for us to go to Sian Ka'an and for the massage, and everything went like clockwork.

The second room, Cocodrilo #8, was small, stuffy, it was hard to get the fan to work (involved flipping on and off any number of switches), and you could hear everything (and I mean EVERYTHING, especially the night they had too much to drink) from the bathroom of the people next door as if they were in your room with you. Not pleasant. Plus it was hard to get there at night when nothing but the main path is lit, and as an older (60) person with knee and hip replacements I am terrified of falling. And, the workmen were outside at 7:30am each morning talking and laughing loudly. And since you had to leave the door open to get any ventilation at all, it was not very private.

We ended up checking out a day early (before checkout time but they still charged us for the day) because my pregnant daughter couldn't sleep with the fan going on and off all night and the noise - their vomiting was making her vomit (no, she wasn't first trimester, so it was really sympathetic vomiting).

It's a great idea for a place that needs some refinement.

Pros:
-Beautiful beach and nicely funky architecture
-You can (and should, since it's deepish sand everywhere) go barefoot all the time
-Decent (although expensive) food at the restaurant, great mojitos and lemonade (and the ice is fine)
-Very nice staff (Manuel is outstanding!)
-Can arrange great tours and services for you

Cons:
-Big one for me: No way to get the sand off your feet before you go into your room, so your floor and bed and everything are always crunchy (a little rug at the entrance or a small tub with water would have made a huge difference)
-Draconian cancellation policy, basically once you've made the reservation you are stuck for some or all of the price

Recommendations:
-Provide Eco hair conditioner, because when you're always in salt water (including the shower) your hair mats up
-Need stronger fans in the rooms away from the beach

Beware:
-Way out on a narrow road with a lot of speed bumps and potholes and traffic including strolling folks and bicycles and loitering taxis, but, you would not want to be all the way out there without a car. The drive is not for the faint of heart

Tip:
If you forget anything, go to Chedraui supermarket ...sort of like Walmart
If you go to Sian Ka'an, try to get Jorge Machado as your (very knowledgeable) guide (and watch the little film about him, "A la Mar", for rent at Amazon)

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping because of heat, only get a beach-front room (Mariposa). But then, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skyhunt2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent two glorious weeks in May (sorry this is so late) at the Mariposa cabana at Dos Ceibas which was a few steps to the beach and so perfect! We traveled with two kids 1 and 3 yrs old and they had a super time walking around exploring the site which was all sand and little gardens and we practically lived at the beach! It was so tranquil with an uplifting energy all around and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. One example is our cabana was accessed by stairs which made me nervous for the children, but the onsite carpenter constructed a beautiful gate for the top of the stairs allowing us to relax that little bit more!

Th cabana itself was fantastic but yes, a little rustic. If you're expecting 4star luxury maybe this isn't for you. Our 3 yr old loved his swing bed and baby had a cot and ill never forget the beautiful towel art shaped into a baby elephant! Sooo cute. We were very close to the restaurant but only once in the two weeks did it get a bit noisy. There's a nice hippy vibe, but still rather mixed with travellers and tourists (oh yes some of them liked to remind you of the difference hippysnobs!) and one night the pleasant drums and chanting became awful wailing and "singing" that even woke the baby up. It was pretty hideous but they stopped when they realised.

We were lucky to participate in a Mayan full moon ceremony which was so beautiful with everyone dressed in white and many different parts to the ceremony so try and coincide with a full moon if you can!

Room Tip: Mariposa cabana (1) is the best! Closest to the beach on 2nd floor with a swing bed and stone bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This place is a little paradise. The beach is beautiful and so quiet, because you're almost at the end of the hotel strip. It's truly an eco-place, they really care about the environment.
Unfortunately I became very ill during my stay at Dos Ceibas (other reasons than food/hygiene). The whole staff was so kind and helpfull. They even brought me to the doctor in the village.
I participated in a yoga-class on the beach, that was amazing!
Our last evening we had an experience to never forget. While we were having diner at the beach (made in our private little kitchen) we suddenly saw 60/70 tiny turtles hatching (see my photo)! Wow, amazing!!!!
I would definitely recommend Dos Ceibas!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDPols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#8 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
3.0 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#69 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat

Property: Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Address: Km. 9 Carr. Ruinas Tulum-Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#21 Family Hotel in Tulum
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dos Ceibas Hotel is the right place for the ones looking for peace and quiet in the Tulum area. Surranded by the nature our guests can enjoy the seaside, the local food of our restaurant and several relaxing and spiritual activities from the Dos Ceibas Spa. Guests can choose among different types of rooms regarding their personal needs and taste: seaside view rooms, garden view rooms and apartments. We can make your holidays special helping you to visit the main attractions through organized tours and excursions. Check also our website and Facebook official page Hotel Dos Ceibas to know better about us and contact us for any question. Look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Dos Ceibas Tulum
Posada Dos Ceibas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing