We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All things to everyone...(...who can afford it)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This place is trying very hard to get things right, and mostly succeeds. Many of the concerns mentioned in poor earlier reviews appear to have been addressed.

It's beautiful - set amongst dense foliage, in a patch of jungle right on a stunning stretch of beach. This jungle setting is an advantage, as the foliage helps to diminish any noises. The grounds are kept beautifully clean and tidy, without looking too manicured.

Rooms seem to vary greatly - ours (room 6) was upstairs on top of 7, about 50m away from the bar and beach. It was rustic and simple but also spacious, practical, and very clean. There is a balcony as well as a roof terrace to sit outside and enjoy the jungle. The Mosquito netting had a few holes in it but small bits of duct tape can provide a temporary fix for that.

The presence of a kitchen was superfluous to our requirements since we only stayed a few nights, and also the non-working (and smelly) fridge would make the storage of supplies tricky. When we asked for ice to keep a few beers cold we were given a yoghurt cup full, which didn't really cut it.

There is a bar and restaurant, but it does close around 22:00 which is great - no party noise disturbed our sleep. There are plenty of late night bars not far away for those who want to party through the night. They do very nice cocktails, and the food is good.

Most places who try to appeal to everyone fail, but here it seems to work. The vibe is generally of the new-age-shanti-om variety (in a good way), but we saw people of all cultural inclinations and all ages have a good time here. It feels very incisive - you are at home here, come as you are, whoever you are.

There is always something on, life music in the evening, yoga or tai chi sessions, or craft workshops, for those not content with just sitting on the beach.

The two young ladies at reception are an asset, very friendly and helpful, and their recommendations for diving and tours turned out to be excellent.

It appears that non-biodegradable cosmetics are a much bigger problem than we previously thought, so at Dos Ceibas you are asked to use the bio ones supplied by them. They worked well and there was plenty, so no problem there.

Negatives?

The absence of electrical sockets in the room is annoying - you have to bring your gadgets to reception to charge, forcing you to either hang around there for hours, or leave your valuable kit unattended. Also, there is no safe in the room so the only place to lock up valuables is, again, in reception.

These are minor points really - our biggest gripe was the price. At about 200.- USD per night this is pretty much on a par with luxury resorts, and although it's a very nice place, and we loved it, we didn't feel this high cost was justified. The high price tag might lead to some unrealistic expectations which could explain some of the earlier negative reviews.

For us, it simply means that although we would love to spend more time here, Dos Ceibas is simply too expensive for that.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a good choice, unless you have restricted mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrekkerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Staying at Dos Ceibas was one of the best vacations I have ever had! Our room was very nice with mosquito netting and pretty colors. The staff is very friendly, and speaks English (among many other languages). My friend and I had a 60 minute Aruvedic massage, which was extremely relaxing. We ate really great food (guacamole was the best I have ever had), listened to great music (acoustic guitar and Cuban salsa), and right on the beach.

I hope to go back there very soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This review is waaaay overdue. We stayed there many moons ago now, but continue to reflect on what a perfect place it was for our journey. Dos Ceibas is so special, a wonderful Eco-vacay which is both luxurious and sustainable. The beach was magnificent and pure, the water there is like a dream, food was outstanding and all the staff were welcoming & cool. Steps away for your sweet little house is the delicious ocean, with sweet palapa huts. There were hours in which we were the only people on the beach, for real. Though that may have changed by now. Our cabana we stayed in is still one of my dream houses, circular, funky, right temp, beautiful art, comfy bed... Special. We dream to go back someday. We have stayed in other spots on the beach in Tulum as well- But this is our favorite and a cherished memory. Super close to Tulum archeological site/ruins and the Bio rserve to the south, which is amazing. near crystal cenotes, ahhhhh. Viva Dos Ceibas!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A Sun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is our third and longest time (6 nights) staying at Dos Ceibas. We travel with our two daughters age 17 and 9 and therefore need a room that can accommodate four people. We stayed in #2 right on the beach. We visit Tulum frequently and have stayed at a number of different "eco" hotels, however, only at Dos Ceibas have we found that the "eco" principle is actually taken to heart and not merely a way to save on expenses. The vibe at Dos Ceibas is very laid back with a relaxed and friendly staff with whom you may or may not interact. Should you wish for complete privacy, that is an option or if you wish for pleasant conversation, that is also available. Almost every evening there is low-key live entertainment provided by local musicians. There is morning yoga and excellent massages available (the best I have ever had!). The hotel is Italian owned and operated by an international staff. Unlike, other spots, although the clientele is young, it is NOT a loud drunken pick-up scene. Both patrons as well as the staff are international and what unites everyone is a relaxed, I would even venture to say, "hippie" sensibility. Very important is that Dos Ceibas is completely safe and secure. Phone and computers are left to charge in the reception area and at no point did we ever feel that either ourselves or our valuable were at risk. The food in the restaurant is good especially the guacamole and the EXCELLENT pasta dishes (it is an Italian establishment and the owner is often in the kitchen instructing the chef). For those visitors who would rather indulge in less relaxing activities than Yoga, kite boarding lessons and equipment rental are available at the beach. We will definitely return. Thank you to Luca, Fabien and all the others including the extremely well-bahaved Aura for making our vacation perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 days with my partner. Cabana 8 first then a studio flat (n11). First one very picturesque perfectly blended in with the surroundings. Hammock outside perfect for that relaxing moment after being on the beach. The beach is amazing and there is a batman coming around as well durning the peak hours. Perfect location and nice friendly staff. The restaurant serves a variety of dishes and the bar has a happy hour from 4 to 7 pm every day... Try their Cucumber Martini it's to die for... Free wifi (but slow). Forget your shoes and walk barefoot...
Yoga classes every morning from 8am (15usd).
No swimming pool but hey you don't need one when the sea is so amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms 9-10-11 are studios with kitchenette if you fancy cooking your own food Otherwise go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdcworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for a week and although the beach is great, and in the best end of Tulum I am not sure where the money all goes for the price of this room. The bungalows are sweet, but very damp. The books on the shelves had mold on them and the beds are very small. The restaurant is very beautiful at night with the candles, but the service is slow and breakfast is even slower. Take a torch and spray in conditioner. For $200 per night I expect more. Maybe 7 days is too long in Tulum as people seem to have enjoyed staying here over shorter stops. Also there are a lot of "hangers on" around the place, people turn from yoga teacher to woodworker, to dog walker to guest in the space of a day so it is not clear if you need help who to get it from? The two young women on reception where fantastic, but for the amount we spent I would expect the manager to check if there was anything they could do for us during the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabian C, Gerente at Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dears ,
We are very sorry we didn t fullfilled what you were willing from us .

Dos Ceibas Ecological Posada has for politic never to go to our guests to respect their peace and privacy , willing to respect your free time ; but are totally at your servical for any need , help or will . ..and are at the reception for this .

I am very sorry , personally , and i also speak for the whole family not to have noticed you were willing more from us.


We hope you enjoyed your time and bringed with you some of the magical energies of Tulum
Very sincerely

Fabien and the Dos Ceibas´family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We recently stayed there for two nights and it was a highlight of our trip -- the cabanas, the beach, the setting - all were perfect! Later in the trip we were at much more crowded and touristy places and did not like them as much -- this was so serene and tranquil. Yes, there will be sand in your room, but no worries - it's worth it! Their fish tacos and guacamole won our award for the best on our trip - be sure to try them!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tata Tulum
Tata Tulum
#43 of 98 in Tulum
50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#59 of 98 in Tulum
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#21 of 98 in Tulum
753 reviews
2.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#19 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#74 of 98 in Tulum
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat

Address: Km. 9 Carr. Ruinas Tulum-Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#21 Family Hotel in Tulum
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £123 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dos Ceibas Hotel is the right place for the ones looking for peace and quiet in the Tulum area. Surranded by the nature our guests can enjoy the seaside, the local food of our restaurant and several relaxing and spiritual activities from the Dos Ceibas Spa. Guests can choose among different types of rooms regarding their personal needs and taste: seaside view rooms, garden view rooms and apartments. We can make your holidays special helping you to visit the main attractions through organized tours and excursions. Check also our website and Facebook official page Hotel Dos Ceibas to know better about us and contact us for any question. Look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Dos Ceibas Tulum
Posada Dos Ceibas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing