We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“be careful with money in dos ceibas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“be careful with money in dos ceibas”
Reviewed 5 September 2007

During Ag we spent 4 days in this cabanas hotel. And we were stolen.
When we arrived they told us that the only security box was the one on the reception so we left them cash in a closed envelope. We were fool and did not ask for receipt. When we were leaving we asked them for the envelope and there were 100$ less. Having no receipt is not possible to make an official claim so we could not do anything. Be aware of the crew. There are other nice places in the area. We will never come back to Dos Ceibas.

  • Disliked — They took us 100$ from the cash placed in the reception
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank planetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    68
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
105
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2007

Despite the many mosquitoes, which aren't the fault of Dos Ceibas, this is a fantastic hotel. The buildings are lovely and charming, the staff was warm and friendly, and the location was unbeatable. Nice bit of beach, there.

In case this isn't enough of a rave, the food is outstanding. We didn't eat anywhere else in Tulum while we were there because we kept having such great meals there. Try the grilled shrimp and calamari, which are marinated in something indescribably delicious. Also the Dos Ceibas fish and the fish wrapped in banana leaves.

The kind staff called a local woman about us having a massage. When she wasn't available at the time we suggested, they worked out another time and it was one of the best massages either of us has ever had (the masseuse was Clarita).

The dog and puppy were adorable and friendly, fun to play with. Oh, yeah, we'd definitely go back!

The only drawback was that the rest of the cabanas were taking up by a large group, so there were times when we weren't able to sit at the dining tables because they were having a group event, but it wasn't during mealtimes or too inconvenient.

  • Liked — Location; food
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes, salty water in shower
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TangoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

Spent 6 nights at Dos Ceibas from March 27th to April 3rd...very much enjoyed our stay at DC...cabanas were clean, the beach was beautiful, service was adequate, property was well kept, guests were quiet & respectful...a few things to point out:

1) make sure you know what you're getting into when you stay at an eco-resort, as its not for everyone. Limited electricity, the possibilty of sharing your cabana with a bug or two, and not being able to flush TP all come with the territory

2) if you book a room with an "icebox", understand that means "cooler" for which you'll have to go into town on a regular basis to get ice (they dont offer it at the recepcion)

3) you'll need to be persistent if there is an issue with your cabana...we had a clogged shower and limited hot water, which was taken care of, but not after having to ask a few times. Staff were friendly, but as laid-back as the guests.

4) DC is pretty far down the beach road, so having a car is key

5) Getting a chair on the beach can be tough, so plan ahead. Tho there arent many guests, there definitely arent enough chairs for everyone .

As for the restaurant, it is what it is--not the best, not the worst...suppose you could eat every meal there, but you'd be missing out on all the great restaurants in/around Tulum.

All in all, a solid stat at Dos Ceibas

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crm227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

We stayed at Posada Dos Ceibas for the first night of an 8 day trip to Tulum that, unfortunately, ended yesterday. We really loved Dos Ceibas. The beach in front was the most beautiful of the four places we stayed on our trip (we also stayed at Tita Tulum, Posada Del Sol and Cabanas La Conchita.) The water was very calm compared to the other places, which made it fun for snorkeling even though we only saw a few fish.

We thought the food at the restaurant was tasty and actually very reasonably priced compared to the rest of the places along Boca Paila. The portion sizes were also generous. Yes, the places in town are cheaper.

We only had two minor complaints. The first one was that the bed was hanging from ropes from the ceiling. Haha sounds nice, except that every time we moved even the littlest bit, the bed would move all around. We felt sea sick after a few minutes, so we just put a couple chairs and a table around the bed to stabilize it. Funny, I know, but worth mentioning. Our second complaint was that Posada Dos Ceibas was pretty far down Boca Paila, and without a car it was a bit difficult to go somewhere else to eat or get snacks. There is a little store up the road, but it has a limited selection of goods. Luckily we liked the food at the cabana, so it was no big deal.

Bottom line- great place, would definitely return!

  • Liked — The beach!
  • Disliked — Swinging bed!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank CaliAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

We just got back from a spring break week at Dos Ceibas and I feel at ease recommending the place to just about anyone.
They are located on THE most beautiful stretch of beach.
The rooms are great and the price is right.
I would have to mention a couple things to be aware of, however.
The staff is not terribly friendly (with the exception of Israel).
In fact, nobody from the staff talked to us other than a young lady who thought we were trying to sneak on to the beach as non-guests and was pretty rude to us until she realized her mistake.
The restaurant is beautiful but WAY over-priced.
Although all the rooms were full during our stay, nobody really used the restaurant much.
Do yourself a favor, drive into town and get some great deals on some awesome meals.
Also, their restaurant's opening times kept fluctuating during our stay (getting later and later), so if you need to have that cup of coffee first thing in the morning, you might want to drive into town for that as well.
Plus terrible "Happy Hour" prices.
But the important things- the beach, the rooms- these were top notch.
We would definitely come here again.
I would only fail to recommend Dos Ceibas to people like my wife's parents who like to stay at one place and eat ALL their meals there.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank ColoradoDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

This was a few months ago but my stay at Dos Ceibas was great. The room was very nice, the food was good, the location was great as within a few minutes walk, you could be alone on a beach or you could be walking toward the other hotels. On our last day, our host was kind enough to give us a lift into the bus station. All the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this place. I appreciate their use of solar energy as well.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank McCoyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In-Town Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We dropped in at Dos Ceibas without a reservation and were greeted by a very friendly staff. After almost 14 days of trekking through more rural parts of Mexico with our children (aged 4 and 8), Dos Ceibas was a delightful find. The bungalows are nicely furnished and comfortable. The beach is gorgeous, with postcard-perfect sand, lounge chairs and calm water for safe swimming. The restaurant is situated outdoors, on the sand and under the shade of palm trees. At night the "electricity" in the restaurant is provided by dozens of candles burning in alcoves around the tables. The food was good, with decent options for the children. The Italian family that owns the property invited the children into their living room while dinner was being prepared and made them feel welcomed and comfortable. This is a good choice for families with children.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank ATL_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 92 in Tulum
822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#8 of 92 in Tulum
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 92 in Tulum
556 reviews
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat

Property: Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Address: Km. 9 Carr. Ruinas Tulum-Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#21 Family Hotel in Tulum
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dos Ceibas Hotel is the right place for the ones looking for peace and quiet in the Tulum area. Surranded by the nature our guests can enjoy the seaside, the local food of our restaurant and several relaxing and spiritual activities from the Dos Ceibas Spa. Guests can choose among different types of rooms regarding their personal needs and taste: seaside view rooms, garden view rooms and apartments. We can make your holidays special helping you to visit the main attractions through organized tours and excursions. Check also our website and Facebook official page Hotel Dos Ceibas to know better about us and contact us for any question. Look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Dos Ceibas Tulum
Posada Dos Ceibas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing