We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Don Diego de la Selva
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villas H2O(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joy Tulum(Tulum)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Gaia Tulum(Tulum)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
388
153
26
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
153
26
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelon juiceprivate patio with a hammocklovely hostsbeautiful poolpeaceful hotellots of hot waterpool area isjungle settingwater coolerrooms are spacious and cleanon site restaurantoverhead fanbreakfast was includedsouthern endtulum townlaundry serviceworked great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Wow, what a great stay. Super clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, beautiful garden, attentive but not annoying staff. One of our three days at the hotel, we did not leave till dinner time, just lounged around the pool. Even the nearby beach could not get us out of this little piece of paradise. If I were to return to Tulum, I would just stay here and not bother with a beach resort. It's easy enough to drive or cab to the beach. Plus, this way you have access to all the cheaper restaurants and shops in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles G, Propietario at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you Liza, we are proud of being part of your inspiration :) and through this message we really want to thank everybody who took 5 minutes to write us so nice comments on tripadvisor lately, a nice result of the great job from Norma, Sabrina, Luis and all the staff in Don Diego. Big abrazos from the Caribbean!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The grounds are lovely and the owners were gracious. Good location and off the main road so it was quiet. Beautiful pool, clean quaint rooms, private, great service, delicious breakfast (included!). Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tonyandlynndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Me and two girls stayed at this hotel for a night and we were really pleased with its value and quality. It had a tranquil garden atmosphere and the rooms were very clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend it to others who plan to stay at Tulum.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Honestly, this place had great reviews but since it was rates #18th for Tulum area hotels, it was a second or third choice on my list. With that said, I did go into staying here with high hopes. The reviews felt good. A friend was with me along for the experience.

This place did not disappoint in any way. The staff was friendly and accommodating, rooms and huts were comfortable, breakfast was quality, pool is huge in a very nice tropical courtyard. They have their own beehive (many in the back), chickens and micro greens. Back to the breakfast. Everything is made from scratch.

The staff could not be stumped with any local area question. They will point you in the right direction for food, beaches, how much cabs rides should be, where to rent a bike and best live music.

This place is super quality and deserves to be a top five place, not 18. It might hurt their reviews that the hotel in located in the small town rather than right on the beach. You will get so much more for your money here and are still a short bike ride or even shorter cab ride to the beach.

Conclusion, our initial plan was to stay 1 night; we stayed 3 and felt sad for leaving. An A+ experience.

Room Tip: AC rooms are in the main part of the hotel and run around 950 pesos. The huts are kept cool by two fans and many screened windows. We stayed 1 night in the AC room and two in the hut. The hut runs around 750 pesos and is just is good or better. We did not miss the AC in March.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles G, Propriétaire at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Matt, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, you are the best PR I could ever dream of, really!
It is a real pleasure to feel that the energy and the efforts we put in managing / decorating / arranging / maintaining our small hotel are transmitted to our guests.
Life is about improving everyday :)
Next time we will try to convince to stay a little more...
Saludos desde Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Don Diego with our two children aged 19 months and 3. The hotel has a lovely pool area which was only used by a few other guests so felt almost like a private pool.

The rooms are a very good size, clean and have huge glass doors out to private balcony area with hammock, great for chilling out.

It's right at the end of town but we had a car so this wasn't a problem. The staff were all incredibly helpful and served an excellent breakfast each morning which accommodated our daughter who is coeliac. Everything is on ground floor so very easy for access with pushchair etc. all in all would highly recommend staying here for other families like us looking for a lovely jungle-esq oasis to hang out at hassle free.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews