We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Problem Solving in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Diego de la Selva
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Problem Solving in Mexico”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Look, we didn't end up staying here, because the rooms for 3 people were booked. We had a problem with booking.com. They were not very helpful. However, Charles Galligani was a WONDERFUL problem solver who listened, was extremely attentive and provided the BEST customer service we have experienced in 10 months in Mexico by refunding our deposit, in cash, having the cash ready and waiting for me at the front desk and being the utmost responsive and friendly EVER. The hotel looks very nice, too. I recommend YOU stay here. I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoozenkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles G, Propietario at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
What a lovely attention you had writing us through tripadvisor, thank you so much. It was so nice to see you in Don Diego, even though we would have prefered to host you this night! But I'm sure we'll have a second chance one day not so far :) Things are getting better with booking.com, see! Let's be optimistic ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    145
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
104
297
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We don't enjoy touristy places or large resorts and while Tulum is full of them, Don Diego has managed to create the anti-resort. Instead you feel like you're in a small, luxury hotel tucked away in the middle of nowhere. The gardens are stunning, the rooms are comfortable and the staff is very laid back, while still attending to your every need. The food is excellent - no need to roam the streets of Tulum in search of a good meal. Their veggie garden supplies some elements of the meals and their hens lay fresh eggs for breakfast - yum. They are also making an honest attempt at participating in the local community and culture -- they have started bee keeping for a rare species that are special to Mayan culture. They grow the hives and then transfer them into Mayan groups who have been trained on how to care for the bees. It's simply a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two rooms - 3 and 5 - both good. can't imagine a bad room at Don Diego. One no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila24T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first half of our trip to Tulum. We had an amazing time, the location was convenient to town, the room and pool were totally relaxing and the staff was quite helpful. They gave us great recommendations. We were a bit worried about the plumbing when we first got there, there had been a problem in the neighborhood but they assured us the smell would be done in less than 24 hours. It was and we learned later (at our other hotel) that this place had very good plumbing standards for Tulum, their water pressure was particularly good! I highly recommend staying here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Wow, what a great stay. Super clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, beautiful garden, attentive but not annoying staff. One of our three days at the hotel, we did not leave till dinner time, just lounged around the pool. Even the nearby beach could not get us out of this little piece of paradise. If I were to return to Tulum, I would just stay here and not bother with a beach resort. It's easy enough to drive or cab to the beach. Plus, this way you have access to all the cheaper restaurants and shops in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles G, Propietario at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you Liza, we are proud of being part of your inspiration :) and through this message we really want to thank everybody who took 5 minutes to write us so nice comments on tripadvisor lately, a nice result of the great job from Norma, Sabrina, Luis and all the staff in Don Diego. Big abrazos from the Caribbean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The grounds are lovely and the owners were gracious. Good location and off the main road so it was quiet. Beautiful pool, clean quaint rooms, private, great service, delicious breakfast (included!). Can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandlynndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Me and two girls stayed at this hotel for a night and we were really pleased with its value and quality. It had a tranquil garden atmosphere and the rooms were very clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend it to others who plan to stay at Tulum.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Honestly, this place had great reviews but since it was rates #18th for Tulum area hotels, it was a second or third choice on my list. With that said, I did go into staying here with high hopes. The reviews felt good. A friend was with me along for the experience.

This place did not disappoint in any way. The staff was friendly and accommodating, rooms and huts were comfortable, breakfast was quality, pool is huge in a very nice tropical courtyard. They have their own beehive (many in the back), chickens and micro greens. Back to the breakfast. Everything is made from scratch.

The staff could not be stumped with any local area question. They will point you in the right direction for food, beaches, how much cabs rides should be, where to rent a bike and best live music.

This place is super quality and deserves to be a top five place, not 18. It might hurt their reviews that the hotel in located in the small town rather than right on the beach. You will get so much more for your money here and are still a short bike ride or even shorter cab ride to the beach.

Conclusion, our initial plan was to stay 1 night; we stayed 3 and felt sad for leaving. An A+ experience.

Room Tip: AC rooms are in the main part of the hotel and run around 950 pesos. The huts are kept cool by two f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles G, Propriétaire at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Matt, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, you are the best PR I could ever dream of, really!
It is a real pleasure to feel that the energy and the efforts we put in managing / decorating / arranging / maintaining our small hotel are transmitted to our guests.
Life is about improving everyday :)
Next time we will try to convince to stay a little more...
Saludos desde Tulum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 95 in Tulum
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 95 in Tulum
347 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Property: Don Diego de la Selva
Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | South part of the town, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2005, Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, offers to the visitors an accessible alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 12 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace. Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and tranquila atmosphere! Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and the best restaurant in town : "Yerbas y Sabores" for the ones who like to discover new ingredients :)- Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing