We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem that shouldn't be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Diego de la Selva
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem that shouldn't be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was the leader of a group of 12 birders/butterfly watchers on a recent trip to Mexico. We stayed three nights at the Don Diego de la Selva hotel in Tulum. I can't say enough good things about this place. Excellent price. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well. Kudos to the housekeeping staff. Our room had a very comfortable bed and outside patio with hammock.

The grounds are landscaped magnificently. We took a tour of the apiary and then proceeded to buy all the honey (excellent) that they had available for sale. The location of the hotel is away from the main roads and thus very quiet.

We dined in the hotel restaurant each evening. At first, we were just going to dine there the first night and then sample other venues. We quickly changed our minds after that first night. The food and service were superb.

I hope to come back to Tulum again and this is where I'll stay. Thank you, Charles and Stefan!

Room Tip: Recommend a room with A/C. It can get pretty hot in Tulum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles G, Propietario at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Eric!
You had a great team with you and we took a lot of pleasure to host you all.
I learned a bit more about birds and butterflies, that was so nice.
Say hello to the whole group if you see them, and have a great day!
Charles Galligani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    145
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
102
292
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yacht traveling south
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting this lovely hotel with two women friends. We were highly impressed. The grounds are beautiful, wonderful landscaping. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and immaculately cleaned. The staff was friendly and helpful. The owner charming and knowledgeable.
The restaurant was delicious an reasonably priced.

The entire place had a peaceful and serene atmosphere. Very eco friendly.

I can not recommend this hotel enough. It really enhanced our trip to Tulum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palenqueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Nice place in a jungle-like setting. Flowers, lizards, butterflies all over. Almost a small resort-like feel to the place.
Pool was nice, but the gardener was on vacation the week we were there, so it was a bit murky.
Would go back again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, non- beach club atmosphere!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
361 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay one night in order to access the ruins as soon as they opened and thus get ahead of the invading hordes of tourist busses.
The setting in a jungly garden a block inland from the main road an the south end of town was well sign posted and easy to find. We took the slightly more expensive air conditioned room and were glad of it. The room wan very clean and had a shady little balcony with a hammock and small table and chairs that we did not use fearing mosquitos. The room has a series of vented gaps to allow for air circulation, but while this hindered the efficiency go the air conditioner we managed to get the room cool. No road noise but you could hear night critters moving about and at one point the aroma of a skunk strolling by reminded you of the jungle location.
On the downside the pretty pool looked murky and gelatinous - not inviting at all which was a pity as a cool dip after a long hot car ride is always nice.
The front check in counter doubles as a bar in the evenings. The cat's food bowl is on the lower counter and I when returning from dinner at night I was horrified to see the cat come happily running along, hop onto a bar stool, then over the counter to sit and eat out of his bowl right next to the bar's blender.
It tuned mu stomach and we had breakfast elsewhere the next day.
An easy access overnight stop for those passing through. Clean rooms. No road noise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were sweet and kind to us and our baby. The pool was lovely. It is far from the beach, but easy to catch a taxi. The restaurant was delicious, and the pool a lifesaver when the temperatures got high. The price is really reasonable for the high quality of hotel. Thanks to everyone at this hotel, we miss you already.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice place. Feels very intimate and relaxed. Pool is cool and room are nice. Little bit far from the center but nothing to worry about. Food was ok service was excellent. Would go back if ill ever be in tulum again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TalSlomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Staff really helpful and kind. We had a problem with the light in the bathroom and it has been take care right away. Same thing with our AC. The bay windows was beautiful and the terrasse was a great place to chill out with a nice hammock. If you stay there ask to see the mayan beehive it's really interesting. Also the included breakfast was excellent with two different kind of homemade jam each day, fresh juice, coffee and a choice from there menu.
The location is a little bit far and there was construction on the road leading to the hotel making the access sometimes difficult. Bring some insect spray cause since there is so many vegetation on the site, there is also a lot of mosquitoes at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soutefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#4 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#18 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Property: Don Diego de la Selva
Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | South part of the town, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2005, Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, offers to the visitors an accessible alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 12 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace. Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and tranquila atmosphere! Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and the best restaurant in town : "Yerbas y Sabores" for the ones who like to discover new ingredients :)- Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing