We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Deigo de la Selva saved my life...at least my vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Diego de la Selva
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2010

With great hubris, we so mistakenly booked an "adorable" beach cabana. After a night of howling wind and rain, in which everything became completely soaked, we admitted our middle age, and lack of "edge". Quickly packing our wet clothes, we slunk into town to find salvation.

We did not have high expectations for DDS, but we were so pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, well apportioned, sweetly decorated. The breakfast (included) was perfect, and the gourmet dinners were very affordable and fabulous. The hotel has an open central restaurant, and the rooms are off behind the restaurant. There is a fairly large pool, and much jungle flora and fauna for landscaping (hence the name).

Our host was friendly, generous, and always eager to help. He told us of the best sites to visit, and offered us a free breakfast when we arrived soaked and defeated the first day. The staff in general are friendly and responsive.

If this weren't enough, there is a Don Diego de la Playa, and we could use their beach! So we were able to have beach access without the misery of having to sleep on the beach. Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneWayEdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed at Don Diego de la Selva the first night of our trip to the Yucatan. I wish we had stayed longer than one night. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a hammock on the patio overlooking beautiful tropical foliage. It was so relaxing to dine outside in the restaurant - it was breezy and quiet, and the Mexican/French food was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. We're going back to the Yucatan next year - this time bringing lots of friends--and we'll be staying at Don Diego more than 1 night next time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

This place is a bit out of the way-- on the edge of Tulum town town a dirt road-- but very pleasant and welcoming. To get to most of the restaurants in town, you'd probably want to drive or take a cab-- I'd say it's about a fifteen minute walk to the main part of town.

All of the staff were friendly and relaxed (ie no one tried to sell us on a tour) and the pool and outdoor garden/ seating area are both beautiful. I spent a nice evening in a hammock by the pool, drinking a margarita and using my laptop (they have very good wireless). Beware, though: because it's a bit in the jungle, there were lots of mosquitoes. Rooms were pretty basic but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fresh fruit, toast, and coffee served in their nice outdoor area. There were several families staying there at the same time as us, and it seems like a good place if you have kids (nice pool, some board games lying about, overall kid- friendly vibe).

Overall, this is a very nice place to hang your hat if you aren't in Tulum for the beach, but I'm a beach- lover so probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BringBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Absolutely recommended. Charming touches and the best food!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniket G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I had been staying alone in a local low-budget hostel when I got really, really sick. I asked the staff to bring me to a place with a private bathroom, and by luck and chance they brought me to Don Diego de la Selva. The next few days, Thomas (at the front desk) checked on me periodically, brought me medicine and water and fruit, and even had the kitchen make me vegetable soup when I was well enough. I didn't ask him to - he just did it. I don't know what I would have done without him. I am so grateful. Besides that, the room was spotlessly clean, with gorgeous natural lighting, looking out to a lush garden. I would go back to Tulum just to stay here again and really enjoy it this time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mquen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We fell in love with this hotel as soon as we saw it. The bungalows are set in a lushious garden, with iguanas sitting around and flowers all over. Meals (French - Mexican ) are served on a gorgeous patio, where you can also lay around and relax in the hammocks; you really feel at home and the staff is super friendly. We stayed in a bungalow without air conditioning, and the ceiling fan was more than enough to keep us cool at night. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished. Loved it! The hotel is about 10 minutes from the town center, on foot, but taxis go by all the time and you can get to town or to the beach for a couple of US dollars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindacarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

If you are staying in the city7 of Tulum, Don Diego de la Selva is an excellent choice. Run by French people, youbreceive an excellent service, delicious breakfast included in the price (fresh fruit juice, fruits salade and bread + jam).

The cabanas are really all very well kept, clean, and with a lot of charming details.

The restaurant, is very good too. Well if you are European it is simply very pleasant to have the european touch again!!
:-)

(If you want to stay at the beach, they have Don Diego de la Playa too! guesing it's very good too)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsitaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#23 of 102 in Tulum
624 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 102 in Tulum
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 102 in Tulum
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 102 in Tulum
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Hacienda Tulum
Coco Hacienda Tulum
#18 of 102 in Tulum
77 reviews
2.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 102 in Tulum
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | South part of the town, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £54 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2005, Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, offers to the visitors an accessible alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 12 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace. Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and tranquila atmosphere! Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and the best restaurant in town : "Yerbas y Sabores" for the ones who like to discover new ingredients :)- Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing