We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but inattentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Diego de la Selva
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but inattentive staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We visited Don Diego de la Selva during the middle of March. We stayed in one of the $60 non AC rooms. The room was very clean, and the pool was nice. We didn't realize until we got there that it was quite a long and unpleasent walk to the center of town and all the restaurants.

The staff was very friendly, however we had a couple problems. On our second day we talked to Jose about tours of the nearby bioreserve. He agreed to book the tour but didn't follow through. We got up early the next morning for the tour, only to find out that the tour was full and we didn't have a reservation. Then we spoke with Charlie and asked him to reserve the tour for the following day. He didn't follow through either. When we came back from sightseeing that day, we spoke with Jose and found out that Charlie hadn't made the reservation. Jose then tried to reserve a spot but the tour was already full. I can't believe they screwed this up twice. The staff needs to work on their communication.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SummerBreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    145
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
103
296
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

We found this hotel through its website, which showed a pretty hotel that looked intimate and sounded affordable. Thankfully, we were not disappointed.
Actually, it exceeded our expectations. It is billed as a B & B, & w/ 8 rooms, was just the right size for 4 cosmopolitan women trying to get away. Sure, dinner was served erratically--you had to ck. in daily if dinner was being served that night: on our 1st night, we missed the cut-off for the reservation (2PM) & the 2nd night, no dinner--and breakfast consisted of toasted hamburger buns (yikes!) but was immediately salvaged by the fresh melon juice and the homemade jams plus croissants one day & brownies the next.
The road leading to the property is unpaved but don't let that scare you. The wooden gate looks like an entrance to a hacienda (albiet a smallish one) which leads to a well-kept garden and beautiful pool. Proprietors Stephane & Charles were helpful and charming; on our first night, Charles kept the bar open serving us mojitos eventhough the rest of the guest had already turned in! We also loved the skylight in the bathroom!
Some extras: the hotel had filtered water that we refilled our used water bottles with instead of buying new ones; they had snorkel gear to lend for the cenotes & the beach (the nearest was less than 10 minute cab ride away); & the AC kept us cool at night.
In fact, we loved this place so much that we are planning to come back next year! Tulum had such a laid-back vibe, the cabdrivers were fair and courteous, and we found none of the aggressive haggling that we found while shopping in other Caribbean towns. We didn't feel the need to rent a car because the center of town was walking distance (15 minutes) & cabs were inexpensive.
Finally, Charles is such a great resource, especially where to find the best tacos in Playa del Carmen, so now you have to stay there to get that info. And Charles, you were right: they were the BEST tacos!
See you soon,
Maila, Judy, Julianna & Sandra from NY/Seattle/Chicago

  • Liked — Intimate/charming & the great service
  • Disliked — Toasted hamburger buns for breakfast--pls. see my complete review
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MailainMontclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

We were booked into one of the new palapas that are located in the back of the property. They were large but no air conditioning and the cost was $80---A refrigerator would have been nice. Breakfast was only juice and bread. They actually served a basket of toasted sesame seed hamburger buns! That was followed by a some kind of baked bread but there was no fruit or yogurt offered in spite of the many banana trees on the property as well as papaya . Property was clean, pool very nice, but they could use some artwork on the bare walls of the rooms. Owners are cordial but for $80 more attention to breakfast!

  • Liked — pleasant palapa for dining, pool, gardens
  • Disliked — very hard mattress, minimal breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2007

Hosted by Charlie and Stefan, the Don Diego de la Selva is an absolute delight! Charlie, an affable Parisian, chats with his guests to make sure things are right. His right-hand man Josue is a charming addition to the staff, handling everything from the bar to check-in. In all, it was a wonderful little place; spartan but extremely clean and well-kept. The pool was quite refreshing for an afternoon swim. I totally enjoyed the three days I spent here and would highly recommend this unique inn. Of course, it is necessary to have a car but that's true of many places in Tulum.

  • Liked — Location, amenities such as the pool
  • Disliked — No comfortable chairs in public areas
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misstutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#45 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.8 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#18 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Property: Don Diego de la Selva
Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | South part of the town, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2005, Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, offers to the visitors an accessible alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 12 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace. Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and tranquila atmosphere! Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and the best restaurant in town : "Yerbas y Sabores" for the ones who like to discover new ingredients :)- Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing