We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful slice of paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Ranked #66 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful slice of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights in Jan. If you can pay for a sea view room - 200bucks for a beautiful bright clean room with basic facilities but a big balcony looking onto the most perfect beach. Run by lovely people who cant do enough for you. Breakfast is included - just fresh fruit and toast, plus juice with tea or coffee, but very generous helpings! Great location for lazing on the endless beach all day before jumping in a taxi into town (50 pesos each way) in the evening for dinner.

Well worth the money for what you get.

Room Tip: Sea view all the way.... but the ones behind are fab value, however evem more 'no frills' t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louloubell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    58
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
92
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Playa Kin Ha is a clean and nice place to stay on a budget in Tulum. The best part about the hotel is its position on the beach, (a good one) and it's proximity to Posada Margherita next door. If you are looking for a no frills experience, this is a good hotel. Posada Margherita is amazing for breakfast, lunch and dinner and you can step out of your room and be there in one minute. At Playa Kin Ha, definitely only stay in the rooms facing the ocean, there are two of them.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We love Tulum and have visited many times over years and hope to visit many more in the future. This was our first time to stay at Kin Ha, where we spent 7 nights, including Christmas and Solstice (our anniversary.) We were very pleased, especially with the view--right on the beach, overlooking the most beautiful waters in the world--and the clean, simple room with a comfortable bed. Yes, it's more than fine with us that the lights are out a few hours after dark. We expect that in Tulum. Have you seen the stars in Tulum? We heard nothing but waves at night. Have you heard and seen the sea at Tulum?

We were also truly impressed with the staff, especially Ray (Ramon), who quickly became someone we knew we would miss when we left. What a wonderful host! He works from morning to night, always with a smile. He loves music and knows music; he loves cuisine, and knows cuisine. He loves the natural world, and knows its rhythms. He's interesting to talk with. Truly, *everyone* on the staff was great; we felt secure and comfortable, a part of the place that week.

The food in the restaurant is very good, but don't expect prices cheaper than the other restaurants in the area and certainly not than those in town (and there are excellent restaurants in town.) The continental breakfast included in our room was very good and satisfying, but if breakfast were ordered off the menu, it would be expensive. It would undoubtedly be good, though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katytudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We spent 10 nights here. If you decide to stay at this hotel, it's worth booking one of the 3 spacious ocean view-rooms for the spectacular sunrise and sunset, and of course, the beautiful beach. Plus, you don't hear the generator noise. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily, so no complaints for cleanliness. As for hot water in the shower, we did have but had to wait a few minutes for it. The staff's charm and helpfulness more than made up for lack of English language skills. Breakfast usually consisted of toast, butter, jam, fresh fruit and juice/coffee. A la carte menus (a mix of Mexican and Italian food, as the owner of the hotel is Italian) were delicious and fresh. We loved our stay so much and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, stress-free vacation directly on the beach!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle01ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed here for a week in May 2010, and I absolutely loved it. The staff is so welcoming and accommodating without being at all intrusive. It seemed like a little family; the ladies who ran the place would have their kids there in the afternoons, napping in hammocks and doing homework. The rooms are very simple, clean, and comfortable, and are not as "done up" as many of the other places on the beach, but I prefer this simplicity. There was plenty of hot water- the water in the shower is salty, but it's like that everywhere in Tulum. I consider this to be the best value on the beach. I would recommend this hotel to any independent-minded traveller who is looking to unplug and relax.
Also, as a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe here because the only entrance to the room is a door at the back of the room, so I could keep my door locked at night and still have the windows facing the ocean open.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed there in March 2010. Kin Ha has clean, spartan rooms, and ours had a fantastic view of the water which made it that much better. We were lucky to even get hot water in our shower, which was an added bonus. Another bonus is the generator--yes, it's annoying and loud at times, but it's better than not having power when you get back to your room at 11 pm after dinner (which is the case in a number of Tulum hotels). The downstairs restaurant is reasonably priced for Tulum standards, access to beach facilities (i.e. hammocks, chairs, etc.) was easy and hassle-free, and the staff were incredibly accommodating. Great value for Tulum.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuasi-espanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

If you're considering staying in Tulum over Cancun or Playa Del Carmen, you're probably looking for something a little more rustic, simple and quiet. Hotel Playa Kin Ha was just that.

The hotel is very small - only a few rooms which made it very quiet and relaxing...no kids running around, loud music, etc. Rooms are small and very basic...no A/C, no TV, etc. There was no hot water in our room which was the only major negative.

Located on the main road along the beach - roughly halfway down. You will need a car (or taxi, there are plenty of them) to get to Tulum Pueblo or the ruins. The property is set directly on the beach and the open air restaurant has an amazing view of the waves -- perfect place to grab a beer or margarita and enjoy the scenery. There are a few palapas + lounge chairs out front - we never had a problem getting one.

The staff was great - friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very convenient and reasonably priced. The continental breakfast included in our room rate was the perfect way to start the day - fresh fruit, toast, coffee, juice. We had tacos, nachos and other snacks - all were very good. We felt dinner was a bit overpriced for what it was - basic Italian food, but it was still nice to have the option to eat at the hotel.

Overall we loved Playa Kin Ha - if you're expecting a luxurious resort, this isn't it. But for a simple room to sleep in directly on the beach, it was great. We spent the other half of our trip at a resort in Puerto Aventuras and I wish we stayed at Kin Ha for the entire week instead.

Room Tip: The front-facing ocean view rooms have been renovated recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TA_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#48 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#78 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.1 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#18 of 115 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Kin Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Property: Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Address: KM 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Kin Ha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the National Park of Tulum and the Biosphere Reserve of Sian Kan, you can enjoy miles of beaches, white sand the best place of the Caribbean Mexican. Our eco-hotel is a mixture between modern and rustic. We have light of solar panels. We have 3 suites front the see(no a/c), each with private bath and terrace. where you can admire some spectacular sunrisethere are also three rooms in the back with a partial ocean view . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Playa Kin Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Kin Ha Tulum
Playa Kin Ha Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing