We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not expensive, and that's it”
Review of Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Ranked #74 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Bacalar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, not expensive, and that's it”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you're planning to visit Tulum and stay at "playa kin-ha" remember to fully charge all your gadgets before staying there, because there's not a single electrical outlet available, I'm not kidding, the fan's cable (no AC of course) goes straight to the wall.

electricity is not the only thing tey are cheap about, breakfast was supposed to be included, the only thing we got were coffee, a very small glass of juice, some few slices of fruit and some bread , butter and jam.

The location is awesome, the beach is great and reasonably clean, the only downside is that is a bit far from everything and you have to catch a cab to go anywhere, BTW, taxis here are not allowed to transport more than 4 people,keep that in mind before you plan your trip

So, if you insist in staying here, charge your stuff and don't count on the breakfast,

Room Tip: check if your room have mosquito net on the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabandija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    58
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
92
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you are looking for beautiful, quiet beaches, good food, relaxing atmosphere, no crowds, and a taste of what Mexico really is- then go here. My wife and I spent 4 days here in March during the normal spring break madness, and we saw none of the crowds, drunkards, and crazies you are likely to find at one of the big resorts. The staff is extremely helpful, especially to those who don't know the local language. I would absolutely recommend staying here if you are someone who is looking to make their own vacation adventure- all the experiences are there for you- if you are willing to go after them. Biking, swimming, kiteboarding- tons of nearby restaurants all within walking distance- live music, soft sand... ready to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just got back today and loved this hotel and I highly recommend it.
I agree with almost all the reviews here.
Just one clarification for travelers that are as addicted to the Internet as I am.
Kin Ha DOESN'T have WIFI. The listing on the booking site I used was incorrect in saying it did.

You need to get a coffee or a drink at a nearby hotel or restaurant.
As long as you buy something, they are all comfortable giving out their password.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose one of the two ocean view rooms if possible. Let Ray cook you a lobster - he's better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere special for my birthday and asked the price at a few hotels by the beach, everything was very expensive but Kin-Ha was reasonably priced. We had a fantastic two nights, the manager was really welcoming and friendly and for the night of my birthday they made me a cake (and didn't charge us which was really kind). We had a really relaxing stay and hope one day to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzaDramaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Kin Ha was exactly what we were looking for at our stay in Tulum. Low key, relaxed and beachfront. This isnt a 5 star stay so if you are looking for more, (a/c, pool, flatscreen, wifi, ipod dock, etc..) look elsewhere. However if you a looking for a clean, comfortable, great value, beachfront room, where you feel like you have gotten away from it all Kin Ha is perfect. Sparkling blue ocean, beers in the hammocks, happy hour downstairs with slasa roja and tostadas, listening to the ocean as you fall asleep...what more can you want?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was the perfect right on the beach hotel for my husband and I. We stayed the week of Thanksgiving. There were only a couple other guests while we were there, so it felt like we had the hotel and beach to ourselves. We had one of the Oceanview rooms above the restaurant and the sound of the waves were perfect to fall asleep to. I also enjoyed sitting out on the balcony. We snorkeled directly from the beach in front of the hotel and found a few spots beautiful coral and gorgeous tropical fish. The breakfast included with the room was fresh fruit and toast and jam, basic but very good. And the coffee was fresh and yummy. The view of the beach from the restaurant was breathtaking and an amazing start to the day. Oh, and I highly recommend the Seafood meal for 2 on the menu. The seafood was super fresh and delicious and it is sooo much food, well worth the price for a special dinner. The staff was very friendly, always with smiles on their faces. The hotel has a family feel and they are all very welcoming. It isn't high luxury, but clean rooms for a great price right on the beach with everything you need for a relaxing getaway. It's also a short trip to many of the Cenotes and Xel-ha and you could almost walk (or at least ride a bike) to the Mayan ruins.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the oceanview rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolinerebecca8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel is clean, quiet and well located in the pueblo. A nice Place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 95 in Tulum
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tata Tulum
Tata Tulum
#72 of 95 in Tulum
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#56 of 95 in Tulum
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#21 of 116 in Tulum
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#15 of 81 in Tulum
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Azul
Hotelito Azul
#59 of 81 in Tulum
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Kin Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Property: Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Address: KM 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Kin Ha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the National Park of Tulum and the Biosphere Reserve of Sian Kan, you can enjoy miles of beaches, white sand the best place of the Caribbean Mexican. Our eco-hotel is a mixture between modern and rustic. We have light of solar panels. We have 3 suites front the see(no a/c), each with private bath and terrace. where you can admire some spectacular sunrisethere are also three rooms in the back with a partial ocean view . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playa Kin Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Kin Ha Tulum
Playa Kin Ha Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing