We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple rooms, PERFECT beach, good food”
Review of Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed 24 November 2012

If you familiarize yourself with the hotel on this site, you will know what to expect. I knew that the rooms were simple and offered all that we needed, so we were very happy with the accommodations. Someone who enjoys luxury would not be satisfied here. Rooms were kept clean and the balconys on the beachfront rooms are awesome. Just open your eyes in the morning and you get to see the sun come up over the water. We had plenty of hot water, just keep in mind the shower is saltwater. We would have liked being given fresher towels more regularly (were only given new bath towels once during our 7 night stay, although I am sure they would have given them to us if we had asked). Included breakfast is simple and satisfying - good bread with butter and jam, fresh sliced fruit, OJ and coffee/tea. The beach location is excellent with nice and never too crowded lounge chairs and hammocks. Food in the resaurant is good and extremely well-priced for the beach. We liked the guacamole, ceviche and fajitas. They also make their own pasta, which is good and MUCH better than the expensive, bland stuff next door at Posada Margherita <----avoid this overrated place. Owner and staff are helpful (though slightly hands-off), but speaking some spanish would be very advantageous to you if you stay here. Would recommend this hotel for a good, basic room and for good, well-priced food.

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and despite it being a little different than what we expected it's been lovely!!
The location is perfect, with a wide silent beautiful beach to relax or walk along the shore.
The staff was reserved but nice and helpful, and... the home made breakfast is maybe nothign special but the dinner was one of the best we've had in Mexico! Add the luck of being eating there when the turtles' eggs opened and a multitude of babies fled to the water... One of the best nights ever!
Backdrops? No electrical outlet in the rooms (ask at the reception is you want to charge anything) and quite far in the hotel strip (need a car to move).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you're planning to visit Tulum and stay at "playa kin-ha" remember to fully charge all your gadgets before staying there, because there's not a single electrical outlet available, I'm not kidding, the fan's cable (no AC of course) goes straight to the wall.

electricity is not the only thing tey are cheap about, breakfast was supposed to be included, the only thing we got were coffee, a very small glass of juice, some few slices of fruit and some bread , butter and jam.

The location is awesome, the beach is great and reasonably clean, the only downside is that is a bit far from everything and you have to catch a cab to go anywhere, BTW, taxis here are not allowed to transport more than 4 people,keep that in mind before you plan your trip

So, if you insist in staying here, charge your stuff and don't count on the breakfast,

Room Tip: check if your room have mosquito net on the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabandija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you are looking for beautiful, quiet beaches, good food, relaxing atmosphere, no crowds, and a taste of what Mexico really is- then go here. My wife and I spent 4 days here in March during the normal spring break madness, and we saw none of the crowds, drunkards, and crazies you are likely to find at one of the big resorts. The staff is extremely helpful, especially to those who don't know the local language. I would absolutely recommend staying here if you are someone who is looking to make their own vacation adventure- all the experiences are there for you- if you are willing to go after them. Biking, swimming, kiteboarding- tons of nearby restaurants all within walking distance- live music, soft sand... ready to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just got back today and loved this hotel and I highly recommend it.
I agree with almost all the reviews here.
Just one clarification for travelers that are as addicted to the Internet as I am.
Kin Ha DOESN'T have WIFI. The listing on the booking site I used was incorrect in saying it did.

You need to get a coffee or a drink at a nearby hotel or restaurant.
As long as you buy something, they are all comfortable giving out their password.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose one of the two ocean view rooms if possible. Let Ray cook you a lobster - he's better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere special for my birthday and asked the price at a few hotels by the beach, everything was very expensive but Kin-Ha was reasonably priced. We had a fantastic two nights, the manager was really welcoming and friendly and for the night of my birthday they made me a cake (and didn't charge us which was really kind). We had a really relaxing stay and hope one day to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzaDramaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Kin Ha was exactly what we were looking for at our stay in Tulum. Low key, relaxed and beachfront. This isnt a 5 star stay so if you are looking for more, (a/c, pool, flatscreen, wifi, ipod dock, etc..) look elsewhere. However if you a looking for a clean, comfortable, great value, beachfront room, where you feel like you have gotten away from it all Kin Ha is perfect. Sparkling blue ocean, beers in the hammocks, happy hour downstairs with slasa roja and tostadas, listening to the ocean as you fall asleep...what more can you want?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 100 in Tulum
149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#17 of 100 in Tulum
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
0.9 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#66 of 100 in Tulum
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Kin Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Address: Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £36 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Kin Ha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the National Park of Tulum and the Biosphere Reserve of Sian Kan, you can enjoy miles of beaches, white sand the best place of the Caribbean Mexican. Our eco-hotel is a mixture between modern and rustic. We have light of solar panels. We have 3 suites front the see(no a/c), each with private bath and terrace. where you can admire some spectacular sunrisethere are also three rooms in the back with a partial ocean view . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playa Kin Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Kin Ha Tulum
Playa Kin Ha Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing