We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best private beach hotel”
Review of Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Ranked #72 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best private beach hotel”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Playa Kin Ha is very cute little hotel right on the beach. The beach is amazing, very soft and white sand like sugar. The sea was clear and warm. They were not too many people on the beach, so sometimes we would be the only ones swimming in the sea. Stuff is very friendly and helpful, although don't speak english too good. Raimondo who runs the hotel has borrowed us snorkeling mask and told where we can see turtles near the beach.
The rooms are quite simple, there is bed, two bed tables and clothes shelf. There is shower and toilet inside of each room. There were no outlets in the room, but you can always charge your phones at reception. Wifi in hotel doesn't work, but you can catch connection in the restaurant from neighboor's hotel. If you want to buy food or souvenirs, go to Tulum center( 10 min drive), they have also banks there.
We did walk around to check other hotels, but Playa Kin Ha is still my favorite. Very simple, but has all basic stuff. Very quite and private and has the best beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValentinaOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    58
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
92
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Tulum's beach is one of the most beautiful I've visited, and have been here many times over the years. You've every right to pay a premium to stay at a hotel on this beach, and pay as little as $85 for a beach cabana in places. Kin Ha's ocean view rooms do have beautiful views of the beach.

Kin Ha is a basic hotel, with the only amenity being a basic canteen as a restaurant. We stayed here for one night and changed hotel.

The rooms do not have any power outlets, no fan (ceiling or otherwise), no safe for valuables, hard beds, limp and inadequate drapes over the windows that did little to offer privacy and certainly failed to block any sunlight. The one source of light in the main room came from a ugly fluorescent light that was broken and hanging off the wall.

The bathroom was basic, and didn't even provide a shower curtain or significant space from the toilet to prevent the paper from getting wet.

There's really nothing else to report on as nothing else was offered, apart from beach loungers we didn't use as we were changing hotel that morning.

On the evening we arrived, we were full from lunch and only felt like eating soup. $20 USD for two average sized bowls of homemade tortilla soup and one bottle of water - certainly not gourmet, and definitely not worth $9 a bowl.

The free breakfast consisted of 6 pieces of cheap white bread, butter and strawberry preserve, with a small plate of 6 pieces of banana, cantaloupe and papaya. The instant coffee was unappetizing at best.

Breakfast entertainment consisted of chasing the cockroaches out of our room, and trying to talk above the noise of workmen cutting logs with a chainsaw at 8:15am, merely 15 feet from where we were eating, with other power tools spread around the 'restaurant' area including our table. Wish I'd taken more photos - was almost entertaining in a Faulty Towers kind of way.

Clearly my understanding of the rating system on Tripadvisor as rating Kin Ha four stars is either a gross misjudgement on the part of other guests or the equivalent of rating a McDonald's burger 4 stars. Its as if the staff at Kin Ha either don't really care about the property or should be in the middle of refurbishing but gave up.

Aya Y Jose is a (proper) four star hotel just down the road, with beautiful large rooms, banquet seats in the living rooms, plentiful breakfasts, incredible views, free wifi, power, lighting, large clean bathrooms, comfortable beds and a great food. We stayed there for a night and as they were full & only had $450 rooms available, the staff found us a room at their sister hotel Hip Hotel Tulum, as lovely as Ana Y Jose, with slightly fewer amenities. The staff at both locations are incredibly helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

If you familiarize yourself with the hotel on this site, you will know what to expect. I knew that the rooms were simple and offered all that we needed, so we were very happy with the accommodations. Someone who enjoys luxury would not be satisfied here. Rooms were kept clean and the balconys on the beachfront rooms are awesome. Just open your eyes in the morning and you get to see the sun come up over the water. We had plenty of hot water, just keep in mind the shower is saltwater. We would have liked being given fresher towels more regularly (were only given new bath towels once during our 7 night stay, although I am sure they would have given them to us if we had asked). Included breakfast is simple and satisfying - good bread with butter and jam, fresh sliced fruit, OJ and coffee/tea. The beach location is excellent with nice and never too crowded lounge chairs and hammocks. Food in the resaurant is good and extremely well-priced for the beach. We liked the guacamole, ceviche and fajitas. They also make their own pasta, which is good and MUCH better than the expensive, bland stuff next door at Posada Margherita <----avoid this overrated place. Owner and staff are helpful (though slightly hands-off), but speaking some spanish would be very advantageous to you if you stay here. Would recommend this hotel for a good, basic room and for good, well-priced food.

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaerbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and despite it being a little different than what we expected it's been lovely!!
The location is perfect, with a wide silent beautiful beach to relax or walk along the shore.
The staff was reserved but nice and helpful, and... the home made breakfast is maybe nothign special but the dinner was one of the best we've had in Mexico! Add the luck of being eating there when the turtles' eggs opened and a multitude of babies fled to the water... One of the best nights ever!
Backdrops? No electrical outlet in the rooms (ask at the reception is you want to charge anything) and quite far in the hotel strip (need a car to move).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacalar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you're planning to visit Tulum and stay at "playa kin-ha" remember to fully charge all your gadgets before staying there, because there's not a single electrical outlet available, I'm not kidding, the fan's cable (no AC of course) goes straight to the wall.

electricity is not the only thing tey are cheap about, breakfast was supposed to be included, the only thing we got were coffee, a very small glass of juice, some few slices of fruit and some bread , butter and jam.

The location is awesome, the beach is great and reasonably clean, the only downside is that is a bit far from everything and you have to catch a cab to go anywhere, BTW, taxis here are not allowed to transport more than 4 people,keep that in mind before you plan your trip

So, if you insist in staying here, charge your stuff and don't count on the breakfast,

Room Tip: check if your room have mosquito net on the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabandija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you are looking for beautiful, quiet beaches, good food, relaxing atmosphere, no crowds, and a taste of what Mexico really is- then go here. My wife and I spent 4 days here in March during the normal spring break madness, and we saw none of the crowds, drunkards, and crazies you are likely to find at one of the big resorts. The staff is extremely helpful, especially to those who don't know the local language. I would absolutely recommend staying here if you are someone who is looking to make their own vacation adventure- all the experiences are there for you- if you are willing to go after them. Biking, swimming, kiteboarding- tons of nearby restaurants all within walking distance- live music, soft sand... ready to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just got back today and loved this hotel and I highly recommend it.
I agree with almost all the reviews here.
Just one clarification for travelers that are as addicted to the Internet as I am.
Kin Ha DOESN'T have WIFI. The listing on the booking site I used was incorrect in saying it did.

You need to get a coffee or a drink at a nearby hotel or restaurant.
As long as you buy something, they are all comfortable giving out their password.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose one of the two ocean view rooms if possible. Let Ray cook you a lobster - he's better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 95 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#55 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#23 of 123 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Kin Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Property: Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Address: KM 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Kin Ha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the National Park of Tulum and the Biosphere Reserve of Sian Kan, you can enjoy miles of beaches, white sand the best place of the Caribbean Mexican. Our eco-hotel is a mixture between modern and rustic. We have light of solar panels. We have 3 suites front the see(no a/c), each with private bath and terrace. where you can admire some spectacular sunrisethere are also three rooms in the back with a partial ocean view . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playa Kin Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Kin Ha Tulum
Playa Kin Ha Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing