We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, new friends and amazing staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El-Crucero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El-Crucero
Ranked #82 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money, new friends and amazing staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

When first booking this hotel we heard this sentence on the phone: "we are looking forward taking care of you". And that sure is exactly what these people delivered. We felt so welcome, and really well taken care off during our whole stay. In the end I think that staying in this lovely place even saved us some extra money, thanks to all those usefull tips received from the staff.

Room was what we expected it to be, with 350 pesos you just can't expect a "five star hotel" but it was money well spent. GREAT value. We had our own nice terrace and you could get all the privacy needed but at the same time never felt "left alone". Not once we had to wake up cause of noise etc. Also made some new friends and heard interesting stories from other travelers.

Location was perfect, rather staying here than in crowded center or in the cabanas on the beach which are on the other hand too far from everything exept the beach. Everything was aesily reached by walking or by bike, but still you had your own privacy.

And Gregory, the mayan waitress, was bringing sunshine even to a rainy day :)

In the end I want to thank all those people making our trip perfect!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    19
    11
    27
See reviews for
9
52
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

I planned to stay two nights and sadly left after four. There are so many wonderful attractions around Tulum and it's so much nicer to be staying in a cool garden setting close to the sea rather than in the heat and noise of the town. Luckily it is easy to get in and out of town via "taxi collectivos". All of the staff and owners were very obliging and gave helpful advice on how best to visit the local attractions, as well as in fact which were best to visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJDrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

My friend and I stayed 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is excellent: 5-10 minute walk to the ruins, 10-15 to the beach, and taxis and collectivos to downtown Tulum run right by the hotel. The staff is phenomenal and even tolerated my broken Spanish (though their English is better than my Spanish will ever be). The bar/restaurant is great and one of the most economic in the area, not pricey like the more touristy places. The owners are knowledgeable and quick to help you out with anything, from advice to tours.

Some of the negative reviews appear to be from people who expected one thing and got another. El Crucero is a nice backpacker spot. Nothing over the top, just a clean, safe, economical place in a really good location set in an awesome garden.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielwilliams33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa. onatrio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

On our first trip to mexico we wanted to experience things in a more authentic fashion after many trips and many resorts my wife and I thought it was time to try things from a more personal perspective and it was awesome the relationships we built with the staff over the week we stayed at el-crucero were long lasting. Not having to share beaches with 100 plus people was great too. Oddly enough everything we did from snorkelling in the cenotes to walking around the thousand year old ruins in tulum the private beaches and the the private walks around the island were mere minutes from the hotel. We never spent more than 10 minutes in a van to reach any of the many destinations for day trips. That ment more time with my wife doing stuff and not waiting to do stuff . I want to thank the staff at el-crucero for a trip that was for more memorable than any of the previous trip we have had the pleasure of taking and we look forward to going back so we can finish what we started.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peerless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I love this place! My friend and i came here for just one night, planning to visit the ruins (that are only about a 10 minute walk) and cenotes (all over the area!) the next day.
We went to the bar, planning to just have a beer, play some cards then go to bed, but we began talking with the staff and friends, who invited us to a salsa club (La Zebra) on the beach! We spent the next few hours dancing salsa on the beach, in a rainstorm, watching the lightening light up the ocean! Amazing!
Never before had I stayed in a hotel with such a friendly owner and staff. We were welcomed and helped right off the bat...
As for the rooms... they are not luxury standards that you might see in Cancun... but they were tidy, clean, and felt safe. We had the room closest to the highway, but I could barely hear any traffic noise.
We chose to pay a tad bit extra and have an AC...good choice, it made it very comfortable and easy to sleep... as it was hot outside even at night.
The windows all have mosquito nets on them, which saved my legs and feet, which had about 60 bites all over them already from walking the road to the ruins at dusk with no repellent (bad idea). The owner's friend, however, gave us the rest of his bottle of OFF lotion, after he saw my friend and I swatting and mosquitoes and itching all over. Bring good repellent!
Overall, great hotel/hostel! Fun, friendly, helpful staff, great atmosphere, good location and good value. Wish I could have stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swells939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed at El Crucero because it was the cheapest hotel in the area, close to the beach.
The staff was really friendly and helpfull.
The owner, a elderly woman, was very obnoxious.
The only advice I can give...stay away from here, but if you like to get free drinks,and give her attention,...go for it.

The rooms need some attention. The shower is very poor, and the toilet doesn't flush like it's supposed to.
The AC is included in the price, but is very noisy.
In other words, it shows there is no maintenance being done.

It's sad, because this hotel has potential,and with a man around, to fix these problems,it could become a interesting place for backpackers.

It's close to the ADO bus,the ruins,and if you don't mind walking a bit, you are like 20 min. from the beach.

The restaurant staff, was also very nice and funny, and the food was good (price quality).
Across the street there is another ho(s)tel,that you could check out.
If your looking for more cheap places, go to the center,across the ADO bus station, you find a amazing shop that sells fresh juice,and natural ice cream,and they will help you in anyway they can.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killroyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

This hotel only cost 350 pesos a night, so for that reason I believe that it was worth the very low cost. But I can't say this was a hotel I would recommend. When rating this place, I would say it meets all acceptable standards of a hostel but NOT a hotel.

First of all, it is included in the Lonely Planet as part of the downtown hotels, but it is in fact a 3-5km cab ride outside of town so don't be fooled by this. It is a 15minute walk to the Tulum ruins and the beaches, so I felt that I wasn't getting the benefits of being downtown or on the beach but instead stuck awkwardly between the two.

The highway is immediately beside the hotel and I am not picky about noisy hotels but the trucks didn't stop all night. At times it seemed they were going to drive right through our room.. Our bed had only 2 small single blankets and so I was freezing cold.
The room didn't feel terribly secure, as the windows are wooden slats with a mosquito net - fairly easy to break into. The toilets in the room are on a soak-away system, which means it isn't on a proper sewage system. Toilet paper goes in a bin next to the toilet.
On the upside, the room was clean.

The bar is a nice place to hang out, we didn't have any problems with loud patrons. Breakfast in the morning was adequate. The staff are very friendly. The grounds have interesting, cosy little spots with hammocks and gardens.
We were expected to pay for 2 nights upfront when we arrived.
This is a solid hostel. But it's not a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaskant23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markcrucero, owner at Hotel El-Crucero, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
I am glad we are a solid Hostel. And I am glad you thought it was "Worth the very low cost". Thank you. All of the other comments are invalidated by other reviewers. Some people feel otherwise. Once again, reviews are "Subjective", as in; A subject's perspective, particular feelings, beliefs, desires or discovery made from information pertaining to a personal experience.
Simply, for some people this is just not your type of place. Feel free to email us with any concerns and we will give you straight answers about them. Before you book. And take a thorough look at our website.
Choosing to book the cheapest place you find without adequate research is not a good idea.
I apologize for any illusions that the "Lonely planet" may have given you. I am not their writer, webmaster, nor their editorial staff. I do though, maintain our website and will respond to your emails.
As to the sewage system, it is very normal, in that there are two septic tanks with an overflow system for times of heavy rain. During these times, (Which is when you stayed), that overflow system "Seeps into a "Created wetlands" area planted with broad leaved plants and such to detoxify and clean said area. It is common for all hotels and homes outside of the city limits and along the beaches and jungle area to employ this system. Most places in Tulum would rather have you put your waste paper in the lined basket so as to help keep the system healthy and working properly. There are no guards or staff to admonish you if you don't want to do this. Most people unaccustomed to travel in Mexico are a bit shocked that we are all not on a public sewer system. These people...well they choose to "Maintain themselves" as they see fit. So be it. We don't have "Potty police" here.
Thank you for the comment that your room was clean. "We aim to please...you aim too please".
I am sorry you were cold. It has been a very cold winter here due to the "El-nino" influence. We were experiencing nights down to as low as a chilly 65 degrees or so. Usually January is not that cold. A trip to reception or talking to any staff member here will get you the extra blankets to keep you warm. Normally the last thing people want here is a blanket, rather an extra fan is needed. We only put two blankets in the rooms normally. It has been our experience, that more than that and they become souvenirs for "Thrifty" travelers.
Next, the wooden slats are also pretty much common in hotels in our area outside of the beach and jungle. With the night security guard and constant local police patrols, I feel safer here than I would in many other places with bars on the windows.
Lastly, when you make a reservation or request multiple nights during high season, yes of course we expect you to pay for your stay in advance. Stay for one night, if it is not your type of place, check out is at eleven. If you choose to stay a second night, simply come to the reception in the morning and pay for another night. But if you commit to only one night you face the possibility of someone else booking your room the following day. That is pretty much standard anywhere.
Thank you for your review. Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
13.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#85 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#75 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#73 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#79 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#68 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#78 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El-Crucero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El-Crucero

Property: Hotel El-Crucero
Address: Carretera Tulum-Cancun, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El-Crucero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Crucero Hotel Tulum
Hotel El Crucero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing