We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal in Tulum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cenzontle

Cenzontle
Ranked #8 of 382 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We love experimenting with mexican flavors and rest of the world cuisine, twist's in conventional mexican dishes, or mexican twist's into traditional world known recipes. Freshly cut, muddle on the spot fruit are the main contents of our cocktailery. We focus in a full Tulum experience, great food, drinks, service and ambiance. Fundado en 2013.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best meal in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The cocktail list is fantastic and perfectly executed. The service is uber chic. Relaxed and unpretentious. You feel right at home straight away. The decor is beautiful and quirky all at the same time. The menu is adventurous and beautifully executed. A wonderful experience all round.

Helpful?
2 Thank DBlei237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    66
    24
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, excellent service & great drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Small, cozy restaurant on the side of the jungle. The menu is small yet is very good. I loved the octopus, the sliders, the stuffed peppers with goat cheese and the tuna pastor. Don´t expect a traditional mexican menu, this is the kind of place that takes the best of loca produce.
The owner and everyone else are extremelly friendly and accomodating.
The drinks are tops!
Since this is a new restaurant is there aren´t lines.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamssita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food beautiful setting friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed four delicious meals at this special little restaurant. I had the Ahi ,the catch of the day ,and the lamb, each was perfect. I also sampled several of the appetizers and a couple of desserts. Even if you're not a dessert person the strawberry compote is not to be missed!! Even if you just stop in for a cocktail I promise you won't be disappointed. The staff is super friendly and happy to explain anything on the menu. The ambience is great here and the music was a super cool mix (and not too loud) just right for a laid-back evening by yourself or with friends.

Helpful?
Thank missyT417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, but the ambiance is second to none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Dinner and tasty, if slowly made, cocktails served to you while you lounge in a mangrove? Yes. It's real, if a bit surreal and the food and drinks are of a very high quality. We spent approximately $50 US for only getting two cocktails and two appetizers, but the vibe was on a level where we felt glad just to get to hang out in such a beautiful and interesting place. The owners are there to greet you with a smile and were very interested to know what we thought of the spot. Super unique experience unless you're used to eating world class food in a rain forest, weirdo.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
“Best Drinks in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We showed up a little bit late on Tuesday night and were greeted by a gentleman from Spain whose name I forget. He was very accommodating and friendly even though we arrived near closing. He did not rush us or even mention that the bar was closing until we were done. The drinks were based on Hollywood starlets and famous singers. They were very delicious and well balanced. I will be returning to this spot soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cenzontle also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenzontle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing