We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cenzontle

Cenzontle
Ranked #12 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We love experimenting with mexican flavors and rest of the world cuisine, twist's in conventional mexican dishes, or mexican twist's into traditional world known recipes. Freshly cut, muddle on the spot fruit are the main contents of our cocktailery. We focus in a full Tulum experience, great food, drinks, service and ambiance. Fundado en 2013.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Beautiful food, great service, and a lovely atmosphere. I had tuna with squid ink rice which was delicious, as was all of our food. The guy who owns it is so knowledgable and passionate about the food. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoL297937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    74
    28
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food charming atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

By far our finest meal in Tulum, a town with restaurants every 20 feet. The menu is very creative and locally sourced as much as possible. We shared two appetizers, one of stuffed peppers and the other, roasted octopus on pears. Divine. My entree was perfectly seared Tuna and my husband had local lamb in a dark rich sauce. The portions were more than generous. The owner talked to us about his wine list and we chose a red from Uruguay which was perfect. A lovely painted armoire stands behind the intimate bar, And soft lights fill the small garden dining area. This is a don't miss kind of place . Only 10 tables but filled with charm and terrific food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judymanynames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best meal in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The cocktail list is fantastic and perfectly executed. The service is uber chic. Relaxed and unpretentious. You feel right at home straight away. The decor is beautiful and quirky all at the same time. The menu is adventurous and beautifully executed. A wonderful experience all round.

Helpful?
2 Thank DBlei237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, excellent service & great drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Small, cozy restaurant on the side of the jungle. The menu is small yet is very good. I loved the octopus, the sliders, the stuffed peppers with goat cheese and the tuna pastor. Don´t expect a traditional mexican menu, this is the kind of place that takes the best of loca produce.
The owner and everyone else are extremelly friendly and accomodating.
The drinks are tops!
Since this is a new restaurant is there aren´t lines.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamssita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food beautiful setting friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed four delicious meals at this special little restaurant. I had the Ahi ,the catch of the day ,and the lamb, each was perfect. I also sampled several of the appetizers and a couple of desserts. Even if you're not a dessert person the strawberry compote is not to be missed!! Even if you just stop in for a cocktail I promise you won't be disappointed. The staff is super friendly and happy to explain anything on the menu. The ambience is great here and the music was a super cool mix (and not too loud) just right for a laid-back evening by yourself or with friends.

Helpful?
Thank missyT417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cenzontle also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenzontle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing