We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want PARADISE, this is it!!!”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We just returned yesterday from Cabanas Tulum. This place is paradise! The staff, everyone of them, is attentive to your every need. The front desk staff will welcome you with great enthusiasum and start your stay off on a happy note. Friendly staff who are professional and take you to paradise. You won't want to return home. The rooms are clean, safe and seccure. The views are awesome. The ocean is just footsteps from your cabana. The beach area is kept very clean. Now let's talk about the La Bistro restrauant. You will get the very best here too. The food, drinks and staff are first rate. We did the wine tasting one night and the Margarita tasting another night and can I say "Salute!" to Bar and Food Manager Jose and Chef Mygil? What a presentation! We also did Coco Loco on the beach with Jose and his staff making fresh drinks in coconuts and Chef Mygil prepared servichie from the fresh catch of the day Grooper. We all had fun! We can't wait to come back and when in Tulum this is the ONLY place to stay as far as we are concerned. Thank you to evryone at Cabanas Tulum and La Bistro for making our stay in Tulum way over a 5 star rating. You are all the best and will be in our hearts forever!!

Room Tip: We had a beach front cababa.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

We have been going to Tulum for over 10 years and despite the modernization of the area it still has about the most perfect beaches in the world and makes for a wonderfully relaxing vacation. We had never stayed at Cabanas Tulum before but reading that it had air-conditioning from 7pm-7am sold us on trying the property and we were glad we did. The staff is the most friendly we have encountered in Tulum, the cabanas are about as close to the water as you could possibly be, and the breakfast is delicious. And, best of all, the air-conditioning works great but is not too loud to block out the sound of crashing waves. The cabanas are not as charming as those at other properties--they are concrete block rather than thatch, have only one small window in the bath, and have none of the artistic features we have expereinced in previous locations. But, their private front verandas are terrific with a hammock and two chairs, a breeze, and steps from the water and this is where we stayed, not in the room. I thought the property was cooler in general than others not just because of the a/c but because there is less vegatation to block the breeze. The highlight of my stay was a 90 minute Mayan massage given by Liliana on our Veranda--her hands are amazing! As others have mentioned, they are constructing more units that should be complete soon and look quite nice. For some reason, I thought the beaches south of the property where we have stayed before were more pristine but this is not the case. The beach in front of Cabanas Tulum is as perfect as you can find--more people around than there are down south but beautiful water and sand. I highly recommend and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that is beach front.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaski42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cabanas Tulum for a week in the beginning of May. We were quite excited about the trip even before going, having read many of the reviews - I have to say, every heightened expectation we had was completely surpassed and exceeded. The staff were fabulous - Lina and Emmer answered every question we had and gave us some amazing recommendations. Frankly, I believe that this is a very well-priced hotel, with great amenities - We both loved having breakfast included in the price, and were amazed at all the great, and filling choices you got for breakfast. We had no problems with internet - we were able to pick up the wireless in our room. We stayed in one of the beach front cabanas, and the beach is literally outside your front door. The breezes off the ocean were cool enough at night that we didn't have to run the AC at all, and it was never that hot during the day, as long as you stayed close to the beach. Tulum is a wonderful place if you want a laid back, low-key beautiful vacation. I have to say, this was the best vacation we've ever taken, and I can't imagine it ever being topped.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This was our first port of call for 2 weeks in Mexico, and prior to arrival the one I was most worried about - thankfully needlessly! The setting is fantastic - we had one of the beach-front cabanas and it was lovely, just 20 meters of white sand before a dazzling blue sea - just fantastic.

My favourite day there was when I got up at 6:15, watched the sun rise with my wife (we were still a little jet lagged, clearly!), cycled on one of the free bikes the Cabana offers to the nearby Yoga studio for an hour of excellent yoga (btw, they do a week long pass for unlimited yoga for something like $50!), then back to the cabana for a pre-breakfast swim and then an awesome breakfast at the cabana restaurant.

Pros about Cabanas:

1) Fantastic breakfasts - just fantastic, we tried different things every morning and were never disappointed, everything just seemed to be delicious - maybe special mentions for the spinach burritos, wholemeal pancakes and smoothies as our particular favourites!

2) Gorgeous beach, with *alot* of sea life if you had a mask to take a look underwater - I was amazed when I did - there was several rays and schools of fish everywhere!

3) The sound of the sea at night, mixed with a lovely breeze coming through the vents at the front of the cabana (combined with air con and a fan, just to be sure!).

4) Lovely staff, very friendly.

Cons:

1) The restaurant was able to consistently deliver delicious breakfasts and lunchs, but dinner was very disappointing and over-priced - couldn't quite figure that out. We tried two or three restaurants up and down the beach from the Cabana and they were all quite expensive and not very good - far better food was available much more cheaply in Tulum itself (and only 70 pesos in a taxi to get there).

2) The sound of construction (just hammers really) was occasionally irksome, but you could avoid it if you went down to the other end of the beach.

3) 2 for 1 drinks - I know this is a strange thing to have as a con, but it would have been nicer to have half-price drinks as sometimes you just want one!!!

4) Our bathroom was a little bit grotty - bits of bare concrete, and mexican toilets (cannot flush).

Tulum is a fantastic destination, and the Cabana is a brilliant place to base yourself for a visit here. I'd recommend eating breakfast and lunch in the beach area, but heading into Tulum for dinner and nightlife at night. I'd also recommend Scuba Tulum on the main street of Tulum to try cavern diving in a cenote - a brilliant experience.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room - you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martinicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from Cabanas Tulum, where we spent 4 happy nights.

We had stayed one night at another (more expensive) hotel down the beach for a wedding, and while that place was nice, we found Cabanas Tulum to be a better value.

The location was ideal (on a beautiful and clean section of the beach, a short walk from anywhere you wanted to get) and the staff was amazing.

Each and every person we encountered working there was happy to help us in any way possible. The front desk clerk let us take flowers from the bushes to feed the iguanas at the ruins, and she set us up with great transportation back to the airport in Cancun-- the driver even stopped along the way so we could shop for gifts, tortillas and tequila!

The free breakfast on the beach was a plus! You could order a hot drink, cold drink (try the agua de sandía!) and one meal. The breakfast burrito with two huge scoops of guacamole was amazing, as were there chilaquiles, eggs Mayan style, and huge fruit plate. Drinks at the beach club were two for one (and the prices weren't jacked up because of this. 2 beers for 40 pesos, 2 margaritas for 90...).

The bikes they had for free rental weren't the best, but they were free and they got us to the ruins with no problem. And, they were free.

The rooms are fine-- nothing fancy, but we rarely spent time in the room anyway. A big plus is that they had a/c in the rooms at night; it was great to cool off after a hot day on the beach.

We had 2 friends stay with us in a double beach front room, and while it didn't give us an immense amount of space, we had plenty of room for the small amount of time we spent inside it.

Overall, we were very please with our stay, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and welcoming place to stay in Tulum!

Room Tip: Beach front room is worth the extra 20 bucks!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The rooms are larger than average, very clean with nice bathroom. The beach has plenty of room & shade under the palm trees. Surf/waves are high. Shallow wade close in. Further out only for the strong swimmer. Food was very good & plenty to eat. An American breakfast was included and such a super view towards the sea. What a way to start your day with tasty coffee, juice & eggs ! Lunch yummy & cool under the shade. Dinner was truly supurb and presented in a romantic atmosphere. Meal pricing within the averages of a beach stay in Tulum. Alcohol a bit high. The staff is top notch : friendly and so very helpful.
The Cabanas Tulum was expanding during my stay with the addition of 20 more rooms. The construction did not bother me at all. Two thumbs up for this quiet beach Tulum hotel.

Room Tip: My second row was worth the price reduction.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TulumBernieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

All the rooms are close to the beach, very charming and rustic place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustavo036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 98 in Tulum
602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#25 of 98 in Tulum
877 reviews
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £185 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing