We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING rooms, staff and location!!! Highly recommend!”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING rooms, staff and location!!! Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Me and my other girl friends stayed in Tulum from Sunday to Sunday and had an amazing time! We visited a lot of other hotels/restaurants and by far I felt we had the best hotel on the beach, with a great/central location. The staff was incredible! Anna was so helpful answering all our questions leading up to the trip, and in such a timely fashion. Adriana at reception/concierge/check-in was the best - she was unbelievably knowledgeable and helpful, she gave us a ton of ideas and activities to do, she was a pleasure to sit and have coffee with in the mornings! The wait staff from Erick, Rosa, Georgio and Ub were very attentive, fun, patient and helpful. The food was delicious and I recommend visiting Fernando in the evenings at the swing bar! Candy, the woman who cleaned our room, was so lovely and efficient - she was quick and thorough, and always saying good morning to everyone and making sure they had everything they needed. The security was great, we never locked our door, we never felt unsafe, it was perfection. 100% recommend!!

Room Tip: Ground Floor, Beachside - open your door and you are on the beach! Gorgeous, fall asleep to the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laughingtraveler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guests,

We love your review and thank you very much for your nice words about our staff.
It is so nice to now that you had such a nice and relaxing time with us.
Thank you again and we are looking forward to your next visit at Cabañas Tulum.

Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    203
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
135
495
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I visited Cabanas Tulum for 5 days in March, 2014 for our anniversary. This tiny gem of a hotel completely exceeded our expectations. The beach is beautiful. The food and drinks at Ziggy's are delicious, as is most of the food in Tulum, but what really made this place stand out is the lovely and gracious staff - especially Aubrey!

Aubrey- thank you SO much for making our stay so special and comfortable. When she found out it was our anniversary, she had our room decorated with flowers and sent us a bottle of champagne. She then helped arrange a super romantic private dinner on the beach at Encantanda.

I would really recommend a beach front room - they are the best. We stayed in No. 17 and loved it. You have to realize that Tulum is a very different experience from the rest of Mexico - the hotels are more ecologically sustainable and basic, and the whole experience is fairly rustic. But it is beautiful, charming, laid back and romantic!

I would also highly recommend going on a snorkeling trip with Nick. We swam with sea turtles and then went swimming in a beautiful ceynotes. Nick is sweet, patient and kind. He only takes small groups and the experience is magical. He also takes you to the best popsicle spot in town!

I cannot recommend Tulum enough - definitely try the smaller spots in town for some delicious authentic mayan food and also some of the more popular beachfront spots like zamas, encantanda and posada margarita.

Thanks again to all the lovely people at Cabanas Tulum! We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: make sure you get a beach front room! It really is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfiendnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and words about our Hotel and staff and congratulations again on your marriage anniversary.
We are truly honored and happy to know that you had such a wonderful time at our Beach Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon here in Tulum paradise.

Muchas gracias,

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My friend and I traveled to Tulum for five nights and enjoyed every moment at Cabanas Tulum. From the simple yet comfortable room to the gorgeous beach (lots of palms for shade and for a little privacy from other beach-goers) to the yummy complimentary breakfast (and delicious lunches/dinners) at Ziggy's, we were thrilled with our stay. We selected Cabanas through TripAdvisor and could not have been happier. We walked up and down the beach many times and visited several hotels for meals and feel that Cabanas was the best. The staff (especially Aubrey and Alfredo) was incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful but not overbearing.

We had a room with two firm but comfortable beds and a nice sideboard table as a dresser. We were in a couple of other rooms without the dresser and since the rooms are on the sparsely-furnished side, we would have really missed having drawers and a tabletop for use. The bathroom has two sinks which was perfect for two girls.

My only suggestions to make the rooms better would be a reading lamp between the beds (reading in bed by bright overhead light is not the most relaxing) and also a few more hooks or shelves in the bathroom for damp towels and toiletries. But small things that did not take away from our wonderful experience.

Ziggy's is lovely any time of the day with plenty of options for seating (total shade, partial shade or full sun on the beach). The breakfast was full of options and served until noon. The lunch/dinner menu has tasty fish options from full entrees to appetizers. And note: we found that wherever we went to eat, the portions are HUGE so sharing is a great option. It was really great to be able to get yummy food any time of the day without leaving the hotel.

Both my friend and I have high-stress jobs so we opted to do lots of lounging on the beach with no agenda, we did not make it to any of the local sites other than a quick trip into town for the ATM and a couple of souvenirs. I have no doubt that I will be back in the next couple of years when my son is old enough to enjoy the ruins and biosphere but regardless, we were very happy with our trip and our stay. FYI we did see kids of all ages and it's totally a family-friendly place, not only Cabanas but Tulum in general.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKLYNGRRRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. The whole team is happy you had such a good time at our Beach Hotel and enjoyed the low key atmosphere. We also appreciate your suggestions about the room which helps us to improve our amenities and standard.

Thanks again for everything and we are looking forward to your next stay with us with your whole family.

Muchas Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My boyfriend and I loved EVERYTHING about Cabanas Tulum and can't wait to go back. I wouldn't even want to try staying anywhere else in Tulum on the beach because it was perfect. The room, the bathroom, the hammock, the breakfast, the beach, the help, the vibe....they were all perfect. Great for a romantic or family vacation. Miles of beautiful, uncrowded beach to walk on. The staff at Cabanas Tulum couldn't have friendlier, warmer, more accommodating and relaxed. I appreciated the lack of rules.
There is so much to do or nothing to do which is my idea of a perfect vacation. We wlil definitely be going back.
Thanks for our great vacation!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have ocean views at the very least. Very clean and well thought out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polkap12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback and are happy to know that you had such a lovely time at our Hotel. Excellent service, Mexican Hospitality along with Tulum's beautiful beaches make the difference we believe.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes and muchas gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Right on the beach, beautiful room, friendly/helpful staff. This hotel is near the end of the hotel zone and removed from the dense area. The included breakfasts were terrific. Swing seats at the bar (Ziggy's) are great. Downtown Tulum is minutes away as well as several Mayan ruins and the Bioreserve (Sian Ka'an). Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guests,

The whole Team of Cabañas Tulum is very grateful and happy to read about your recent stay at our Beach Hotel. We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations in every sense.
It would be our honor to host you again in the near future . Again, thanks so much.

Best wishes,

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and were happy to have found that most of the comments were accurate. We had an excellent time and the hotel was fantastic. I think when compared to other hotels, this was probably the best.

Room Tip: This hotel was excellent. The beach was superb, breakfast at Ziggy's every morning was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grooveytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. It was our pleasure serving you and making sure everything was to your liking. Thank you again for being our guest and staying with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband, friends, family and I traveled to Tulum for a wedding. Due to the size of our group, we were split between 2 local hotels but everyone staying at Cabanas Tulum felt to be the true winners. We had a beach front room and loved every minute of our stay! We will be back for sure! The breakfast that was included (we didn't know that until we got there! - What an added perk!) was delicious!! The rooms included everything you needed. The cleaning staff made cute little towel animals and flowers which always put a smile on my face :) I did bring my own blow dryer but was informed that they did have them at the front desk if you wanted to borrow them. Adriana at the front desk was awesome! She was so friendly and helpful. Geronimo was also a pleasure. While there are not refrigerators in the room, he provided us with a cooler and a fresh bag of ice every day to keep our drinks cold! We will be back and we will stay longer next time!!

Room Tip: To me, beach front rooms are a must. You are literally steps away from the beautiful, soft sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and words about our Hotel and staff. We are truly honored and happy to have you had as our guest and are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Muchas gracias,


Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 96 in Tulum
1,262 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 96 in Tulum
587 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Property: Cabanas Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing