We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST!”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Darby,MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Everything down to the smallest detail is great. Lovely clean rooms, gorgeous beach, fabulous food(lots of fish and shrimp),delightful staff, peaceful and quiet. We'll be back any chance we get. 0cean breeze was delightful.

Room Tip: All cabanas have their particular advantages, we loved the ocean front locations. Single ladies find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julirta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Wow! Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Cabañas Tulum. We are over the moon to hear you had such a fabulous time with us! It was our pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Muchas gracias
Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    203
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
136
498
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Went to Tulum for the first time this year and just loved it. The hotel staff at Cabanas Tulum was great. They were all very friendly, attentive and helpful whenever we needed anything. The hotel is clean and the location couldn't be better as all rooms are just steps from the beach. I also really enjoyed my complimentary breakfasts at the hotel restaurant Ziggy's.

Something to note, from my experience, it seems that Tulum is very small-town, Eco-friendly. Don't expect the frills of big resorts or traditional hotels here. The room is BASIC. Bed, closet, bathroom. But when in Tulum, who wants to be hanging out in your room when there is so much to see and do outside?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kehau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Cabañas Tulum and your kind review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your beach vacation with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Muchas Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, CA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The rooms are lovely and simple. It's about the beach and the outstanding service. For a moderately priced room with a great location, it is a true value. If you want a more ornate, luxury experience beachfront in Tulum--you are going to have to pay considerably more. The only negative was the turbulence of the ocean, which is typical in November and early December. Breakfast at beachfront Ziggys (included with your room) is fantastic. You order from the menu and it includes fresh fruit, a smoothie, a hot dish (the enchiladas are excellent) and coffee or tea. Later in the day, you will find yourself ordering a cocktail at Ziggy's and diving deep into the chips and three types of salsa.

Room Tip: If the beachfront rooms aren't in your budget, go for a second story room in the second row back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeneferOSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen Cabañas Tulum for your beach Vacation in Tulum.
Thank you on behalf of the whole staff for your nice review. We are happy you truly could enjoy your stay at our Beach Hotel.
Thank you again and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It's the perfect combination between eco friendly and an upscale hotel. The rooms are minimalistic but still provided the necessities. Our room opened up to a little back area that sat directly on the beach. There's no AC but you seriously don't even need it. The ocean breeze provides a cool breeze at night.

The staff is wonderful and always so accommodating. They always went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable.

It's not totally fancy but it provides all the great amenities, service and space for a super relaxing vacation in Tulum. You won't regret booking here!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your nice words about our staff.and Hotel.
It is so nice to know that you had such a pleasant and relaxing time with us.
There is only one correction about the a/c, all our 8 Beach Front and Partial Sea View Rooms have aircon from 7pm -7am, just as published on our website.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to your next visit at Cabañas Tulum.

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Pond, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the end of April 2014 at Cabanas Tulum. The front desk, housekeeping, internet staff, maintenance, security, Ziggy’s restaurant hosts and wait staff, bar staff…everyone was very welcoming and fabulous. Whatever we asked for, whatever anyone could do to help us, they were always there with a smile and voila – it was done. We stayed in Room # 22, beachfront and the view was amazing! To wake up every morning to the waves, sun, ocean breeze, sand and palm trees was beyond what we had hoped it would be. It was very, very hard leaving. Your entire staff is to be commended for their dedication in making Cabanas Tulum a wonderful place to vacation. Ziggy’s Restaurant, which we ate at for breakfasts, lunches and dinners, was beyond our expectations. The food presentation as well as the delicious meals is definitely 5 stars at very reasonable prices. The margaritas are top notched. The dinner entertainment throughout our week was varied and very good. No matter if it was a quiet table for two or a table for 13, your restaurant staff handled our orders with aplomb and they were served hot. This amazed us as your chefs never failed to exceed our expectations. Kudos Ziggy’s!! We did not use the pool as the beautiful, clean beach was mere steps from our front door. Having read most of the reviews on tripadvisor.com about Cabanas Tulum we knew what to expect and we were not disappointed. Our one comment is to keep both of your screen doors closed when you are in the room so you have no tiny visitors come in. We were assured that maintenance was in the process of adjusting all of the screen doors. Don’t worry about the AC running only at night – we put our ceiling fan on high and didn’t even turn on the AC at all. Perhaps in the summer months you would need the AC. We did not. We thank everyone at Cabanas Tulum and Ziggy’s Restaurant. If we ever travel to Tulum again Cabanas Tulum is where we will stay. Gracias!!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get an oceanfront room. The views are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your your recent stay at Cabañas Tuluml. To read your feedback and your beautiful description of our Beach Hotel and staff made all of us very proud and happy. It was our pleasure having you as our guests and hopefully see you again in the near future.
Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Cabanas Tulum recently and the staff were really helpful and welcoming. However, having stayed a many hotels that cater specifically for families, we were surprised that the rooms were not larger and more comfortable. There is not a stick of furniture in the rooms other than the beds - no bedside lights, no table, no chairs - all extremely spartan, it felt like a monks cell! The property is tiny with the rooms really squeezed in. We were in the back row so we didn't feel we were anywhere near the beach.

On the upside, the hotel was really clean, the beach is beautiful, and Ziggys next door where you go for breakfast next door is great.

Room Tip: Try to book a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your comment and nice feedback about our staff.
We are sorry you could not fully enjoy our revamped rooms and amplified bathrooms.
Our guest usually like the design of the rooms which shall emphasize the color of the blue Caribbean sea and the white sandy beaches which are only a few footsteps away from the rooms and which make up the room panorama.
We also wanted to take this opportunity to clarify that Cabañas Tulum is not a Hotel which caters specifically for families with children. We are of course a child friendly property, as of policies children under 5 years do not pay all around the year, in comparison to many other Hotels along Tulum's Beach line which are Adults only.

Thank you and we hope we could clarify this misunderstanding.

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Cabanas Tulum for 3 nights, had an excellent stay. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were neat and tidy comfy beds. Loved the rainfall shower head in the bathroom. The beach was excellent. Would return again :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice comment about our staff and Hotel and are very happy that you and your nice enjoyed your stay at Cabañas Tulum so much.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in then near future.

Thank you

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 96 in Tulum
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#24 of 96 in Tulum
865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Property: Cabanas Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing