We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Beautiful & Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cabanas Luna Maya
Ranked #96 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful & Relaxing”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I stayed in Luna Maya in March 2012. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, especially Marielena R, who is at the reception desk, always greeting you with a smile. The small beach is beautiful...we really enjoyed eating our breakfast while watching the beautiful ocean waves roll in. The rooms are simple and have everything you need. If you like access to live music and different entertainment, you will love this location. If you are looking for something more quite perhaps outside of the Tulum hotel district / zone will be a better fit. Make sure to rent bicylces...you'll see everything! Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_B671559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    17
    15
    11
See reviews for
20
54
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Clean, nice room. Did not need to use the fan at all since the windows were open and they all had a screen that will not let in any mosquitoes, so you can go to sleep hearing the ocean. Rosario at the front desk was very helpful and nice since we walked in without a reservation.
We stayed one night only and really like the location, our room a few steps from the ocean and the hotel itself well located if you are driving or ridding a bicycle. The only thing we did not like was that the room was very close to the stairs on the way to other rooms and we heard everyting and everybody passing by.
In general we enjoyed our stay and we will come back soon. The place is got a great vibe.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelTos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Luna Maya for 7 nights and had a wonderful relaxing stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms accomadating and clean, and the private beach area shared with the hotel next door was beautiful. The few times we needed something (an extra blanket for the bed) we had it immediately. The staff was extremely helpful in setting up tours and transportation. Our room was on the streetside of the hotel, with windows that looked also toward the beach. My only issue with the room was the music from the bands that played across the street on several nights, although they were typically done fairly early (10-11:00). A few nights we were so tired from trekking the bioreserve that we went to bed early, but closing the windows helped keep the noise level down and the staff provided a floor fan that was all we needed. Overall Luna Maya was a terrific value for our vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the beachside as opposed to the streetside for a quieter evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soutnern Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Not what it used to be. Nice people working there but maintenance is not kept up well. There are two new (for us, 4 years) music venues across the street which were loud well into the night, probably 10:30 or so. The Luna Maya is in "downtown" Tulum Beach, off the electric grid but not peaceful as is most of Tulum Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed in Luna Maya at the end of February 2012, in one of the cabana. As I said it was a bit noisy because the cabanas as well as the regular rooms are close to the street. Unfortunately, they also were changing the roof of the dining area when I was there. BUT, the beach was just what I needed: small, quiet and awsome. And the staff at the bar, kitchen or reception desk is very friendly and helpful in many ways. I felt like staying there much longer... Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madamelamarquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We got into Tulum late and just needed a place for one night. Luna Maya was where we had reserved online. We were told the room we had reserved had a shared bath outside the room which we didn't want. We were given a wonderful room with bath up two flights of stairs with wonderful triangular windows under the eaves. It was very windy and the swooshing of the palm trees and gentle blowing of the mosquito netting were quite wonderful! We could see the ocean from our room.

Later in the evening we listened to the live music on the grounds near the bar--very relaxing with a talented woman singer. The people were lovely. We also enjoyed the large deck up above the ocean where you can look at the surf and stars.

The people were nice. We didn't try the restaurant.

Room Tip: The top room we had was large and lovely. We didn't see the other rooms, but it would be wise to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Luna Maya may have been a nice place at some point but it did not live up to anything posted on it's website. It's hard to believe it is the same place. So many places in Tulum, skip this one. We decided to risk it stay in the cheaper cabana's after reading the many mixed reviews but we regretted it. Try Zamas 2 doors down.. the food there is amazing and I heard from guests there that the accommodation is great too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzruiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#12 of 97 in Tulum
811 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#77 of 97 in Tulum
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 97 in Tulum
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#71 of 97 in Tulum
52 reviews
5.0 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 97 in Tulum
354 reviews
4.2 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabanas Luna Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabanas Luna Maya

Property: Hotel Cabanas Luna Maya
Address: Crta. Tulum Boca Paila Km-5 Tulum Playa, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Maya is situated on choice beach on the Mayan Riviera. Swing in a hammock between the trees and watch the sunset. Enjoy a drink at the bar and then dine at Luna Maya Restaurant—one of the top destination restaurants in Tulum. Now you’re relaxed. Stay in our accommodating rooms and wake up revitalized. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing