We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of El Vegetariano

El Vegetariano
Ranked #55 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a great little restaurant in Tulum. I was thrilled to find a vegetarian restaurant in Tulum. There was a wide variety of flavors and textures. It was anything but boring! One of the best meals I had in Tulum.

They also have a variety of drinks such as ginger and apple which are very refreshing in the heat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    57
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad but nothing special”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The staff and service was wonderful. I was expecting light healthy food but a lot of it was baguettes, pasta and creamy soups. I had the mango ceviche which was mainly cubes of raw beetroot. My husband had an entree, main, dessert and flavoured water (the water is delicious) as a deal for $110, a huge amount of food.
Good value but we preferred more locally influenced food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ameelee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent but not dying to go back”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This place is cute- and after a long day of traveling to Tulum, it more than sufficed. But the food was just ok. No heat! Slow service, and while it was cute and vegetarian and all, I can say as a seasoned vegetarian traveler in the Yucatan, you can skip this place. Vegetarians DO NOT need to seek out specifically vegetarian restaurants in the Yucatan and especially in Tulum. Nearly every place can accommodate a vegetarian. 3 stars means average- no major complaints but I won't be returning because it just didn't satisfy me. There are too many to die for places in Tulum for this one to be worth your while.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hannahmontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great veggie food”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just back from first visit to this restaurant and we were really pleased with our food, the service from such a lovely lady and the price, very cheap for what we got. Also great background jazz music. I would highly recommend, place was packed by the time we got our main meal so a good sign I think and will be going back. Had the guacamole to start which was preceded by a free tomato and tortilla chip taster dish which was absolutely delicious, Main meal I had the lettuce and peanut dressing salad and my husband had the stuffed pepper and rice dish. Hearty fare and all for less than £20 including large glasses of juice each. Bargain!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almshousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our favourite places in Tulum”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Been there 3 times with my partner and 1.5 year old daughter in 4 days and we definitely plan on going back . It's a very small and welcoming place to eat, the food is some of the best we've had in Tulum and the price is unbeatable. The staff is very friendly and personable. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Vegetariano also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Vegetariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing