We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Like Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residencia La Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Ranked #65 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just Like Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

Felt like part of the hotels family.
Owners were always around and helpful and always had time to talk or answer questions. Always had great directions and reccomendations for the area.
Great water pressure and cold a/c and frig in rooms.
Location was quiet and close to everything in town and just a short 5 minute drive to the beaches and ruins.
Will deffinitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSkyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    48
    6
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
62
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

My best girlfriend & I went to Tulum for a girls getaway and stayed at La Mariposa for the last 3 nights of our stay. From the time of booking right until the day we left Tulum, Mariza & Guillermo were incredibly helpful and provide fantastic service. They provided us with lots of tips of great places to go, a beautiful terrace to enjoy the sunset, and an affordable, nice, clean room to rest our heads. La Mariposa is located on a quiet street but also close enough to walk to main street restaurants & shops. Hotel La Mariposa has everything you need for an amazing visit to an amazing place!! I would recommend La Mariposa to anyone wanting to visit Tulum and truly experience the warmth and hospitality of the Yucatan:)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtravelAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

An interesting, relatively small hotel, delightful owners, a variety of rooms, each very attractive. Situated in Tulum, which is an excellent centre for exploring the Yucatan, and the Mayan ruins, and has an abundance of good restaurants. We cannot wait to return to the Mariposa and its special delights.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeGabriola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

The Mariposa Inn made our stay in Tulum especially wonderful. It is conveniently located in the downtown area, but tucked away in a quiet neighborhood in the original Mayan part of the city. This delightful neighborhood is friendly, and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The innkeepers, Guillermo and Mariza are warm and friendly and eager to be helpful in recommending places to visit in the area. They are natives of Mexico and are a wealth of information on the Yucatan Peninsula, including local ecological issues and history. There is a nice, covered, open air dining room where they serve a continental breakfast each morning. The Mariposa is a small, 3 story hotel with a large open veranda on each floor that faces west. We stayed on the 3rd floor and delighted in watching the sunsets from our veranda. Our room was clean, no frills, exceptional maid service (clean towels folded to look like swans each morning were an added treat!) and hot water was always available. We were on a budget and appreciated the great value of their smaller rooms. Larger rooms with kitchenettes are available as well; also at a very reasonable price. Wireless internet throughout the hotel is complimentary, and there is cable TV in all rooms. The cleanliness, hospitality, and all around pleasant atmosphere made this a business we highly recommend and feel very good supporting. We’ll definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveToGetOutMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIPOSA1963, DUEÑO at Hotel Residencia La Mariposa, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
HOTEL MARIPOSA will continue doing his best efforts to make everybody´s stay a pleasant one, Thanks for choosing us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

Set off the main street in downtown Tulum, lies a charming, fresh ,super clean small hotel. The new owners, Mariza and Guillermo are extra accomodating and give you a great value for your pesos. They joyfully help you with any questions you might have about the area and all of Mexico for that matter. Their fluency in English helps alot. Very quiet and peaceful spot and close to beaches and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tntmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

We turned the corner off the main avenue through the very authentic Mayan center of Tulum to arrive at La Mariposa. Mariza and Guillermo literally greeted us with open arms and the offering of a cool drink. The hotel is very clean and our room was an open floor plan with 2 large beds, a kitchenette and large bathroom & shower. The location is a bit off the beaten path (maybe a 1/2 mile from downtown) which made for a nice escape from town...but does require a brief 10 minute walk or short drive or cab ride to town. Mariza & Guillermo had wonderful recommendations on activities (cenotes, beaches, cultural visits) and where to eat. I think we gained weight on our visit to Tulum! A visit to Tulum requires the visitor to decide whether to stay in town or on the beach. Both have their postive/negative points...but if you are choosing to stay near town for shopping, restaurants, etc., then La Mariposa is a good choice. And by the way, we did get plenty of beach time in via a cheap cab fare now & then. Morning coffee with the other guests is a highlight as well as we all shared stories of the previous day's adventures. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Time2WarmUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

for $100/night, the room was so basic (budget) that it was quite disappointing.. the hosts are nice, although they hesitated giving us breakfast when we were only 10 min late.. "breakfast" means cheap toast bread with jam and coffee.. you have to take cabs to the beach of course. it really makes sense to add some $$ and stay on the beach! we relocated to el paraiso ($140) and were happy.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#73 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#79 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#78 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#53 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa ZenaLiza
Villa ZenaLiza
#56 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencia La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencia La Mariposa

Property: Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Address: Calle Mercurio Poniente 21 | MZA. 6, LOTE 21, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Residencia La Mariposa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence La Mariposa is a delightful, intimate small Hotel located downtown Tulum, Mexico, minutes away from the world known Tulum Mayan Ruins and the most beautiful beaches. The Hotel Residence La Mariposa has earned praise for excellence in service and comfort from travellers around the globe. Friendly owners who make you feel like in home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Residencia La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing