We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada del Sol
Ranked #64 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

If you are looking for 5 star amenities and 5 star prices, do not stop here. But if you want 5 star charm and romance and beach and views, you will love this hotel. With no reservation, we were given the Titanic room. Perched on the beach-end of the second floor, we enjoyed an unbelievable view from our very large balcony which included a hammock. Our room was very charming with a king size bed surrounded by netting. This hotel is off the grid. It runs on solar, wind and batteries which was new to us. So we had to get used to the dim lighting and shortage of outlets. But we managed just fine and chose to stay an additional night. All of the staff were great. I wish I could steal Tania to come work at my company. Great restaurants are just steps away. I strongly recommend this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Titanic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    54
    24
    23
    21
See reviews for
27
119
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This place is really nice! It is a little pricey for a budget traveller but worth the money if you want to relax and enjoy a great view.
Posada has 2 buildings - one at the back accross the main road (a lot cheaper rooms) and one in front, on the sea side (moderately expensive). We stayed at a room overlooking the sea and it was great! (the one in the back did not have great reviews and I was not brave enough to check myself in the reviews are true)
Very basic breakfast was included in the price and the food was basic and just OK. They have a parking area in front of the posada on the main road.
I find this posada very intimate and a place where you can trully relax and enjoy an amazing view.
Posada does not have a restaurant area but has many little places to eat near by.
All in all, it is a place worth stopping if you have an extra dollar in your pocket.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I walked in to ask about rooms and was offered a very reasonable cabana for 500 pesos (about £25) including a cooked breakfast - very cheap for Tulum beach. You share the bathroom with staff but this is no problem as it is clean and large. The staff go out of their way to help you and the beach here is lovely - a wider cove than some other hotels. I would recommend anyonne on a budget to ask about this option - although they do havemore expensive and luxurious options. Clean and beach towels provided.

Room Tip: Askfor the cabana with the shared bathroom for 500 pesos
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themiddlemoffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I spent 4 nights in that hotel and I loved it.
I do not like resorts and when traveling, I am looking in knowing more the country culture, the people I am meeting, feeling like I am not in a tourist trap.
That place was awesome : people were so nice to us, helping us organizing every single detail of our trips with good advices. Every morning a simple delicious mexican breakfast with papaya juice was brought to us with the most beautiful smiles... We enjoyed a great view on the ocean and a place so quiet that you can rest peacefully after an intense day : only the waves to rock us to sleep.
For sure, this place is not a good fit for people looking for nothing but "having everything free right away and don't bother doing anything but seating at a bar and eat all they can". This place is for simple people that prefer to talk to their host and live in a peaceful, adventurous environment !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My new husband and I stayed in the Titanic room at La Posada del Sol for about 5 days on our honeymoon. It was an amazing room and an amazing experience. The staff was lovely and helpful, the beach was quiet and pristine and the included breakfasts were just right. We had our own private balcony with a hammock that overlooked the beach and it was great to chill out after a long day of biking around and laying on the beach. The room does get a bit hot at night but there was a fan provided which made sleeping very comfortable. It was great to listen to the waves outside our room all night.

Tulum in general is an amazing place. It was an incredibly relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: The Titanic room overlooks the beach and has a great breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

After driving from Cancun to Tulum early in the morning we wanted to just find a place where we could Lounge and enjoy the beach for the day. After walking around we came across Posada Del Sol. After looking around I told the lady at the counter that my wife and I just wanted a Room-Bungalow for the day and wanted access to a shower. She said she had room available and we opted for a small bungalow (Beach Side) on the second floor of the restroom. They also gave me a parking spot for the rental. We paid 834.00MX = $63.36 USD..
The restroom we were given access to was for the employees only and it was very clean and had a shower. Their staff seemed ok, didn’t have much contact with them. Their beach access is great and we truly enjoyed the day at the beach..
There’s a Hotel –Restaurant next door that has beach waiters that offer you drinks (I am guessing the properties have an understanding about this) Overall the place seemed fine and I would consider staying here one day, although I will require a bigger room and a private restroom..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsrmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed there one night...it was okay except the people weren't very nice. It was busy in Tulum so the next day they didn't have the same room. The owner or manager not sure which showed us another room. We agreed to take it for three days. They said "leave your bags here.go have fun and when the room is ready, we'll move your stuff in ,just get the key when you return.

When we returned.they had given our room away and offered us a room across the street instead, needless to say we weren't happy and would never go there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#16 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Sol

Property: La Posada del Sol
Address: Road to Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La posada del Sol is an entrancing, tropical Eco Hotel Boutique located in Tulum, Mexico. Our distinctive Boutique Hotel was built with the purpose to create a life time experiences and our climate consciousness processes minimizing the impact on the environment. Solar and wind power provide our guests with 24 hour electricity and our natural water supply comes straight from a local cenote, making us one-of-a-kind eco-friendly Hotel. Every detail here makes us different. We are proud of not being luxurious, but exclusive. Our 10 guest rooms have a unique and vibrant design, called by some as "Mexican charming style", that we believe reflects our culture and the natural ways of life. You'll be entranced by our 6 ocean front rooms, having direct access to the beach, or if the jungle feeling is your thing, one of our other 4 garden rooms will suit you perfectly. As we only have 10 rooms we can ensure you a personalized and high quality service. Here, you will forget the fuss of the unnecessary city demands and simply relax. We are the perfect vacation getaway! Unplug yourself from the routine, come and reconnect with mother nature, you don't really need much more. -Forget, meditate & disconnect. - During your stay be sure not to miss our unique boutique where you will find handmade crafts from different parts of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Sol Tulum
Posada Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing