We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Posada del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posada del Sol
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our stay at La Posada del Sol was wonderful! My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The first night we stayed across the street from the main hotel in the room directly over the street. The street noise was not an issue for us, but I can see how it may discourage others. Watching the sun rise in the morning over the hotel with a fresh cup a coffee from the pastry shop directly next door was heavenly. The next night we stayed in the Coral room, directly in front on the beach. The room was spacious, light and airy. Windows lined the entire space and opened to allow a nice breeze to enter the space. The private beach access was wonderful, and allowed for the seclusion we were seeking at the time. The pricing of the hotel was comparable to the surrounding area, but did seem a little pricey. The complimentary breakfast consisted of coffee, fresh fruits, homemade papaya jam with sourdough toast, and scrambled eggs made to order by two kind Mexican women. It was the best free breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. At the end of our stay, we had not organized our transportation back to the Cancun airport. The hotel's receptionist was more than helpful in calling a transportation service for us. The hotel is also very centrally located. As I have already mentioned, there is a delicious bakery/coffee shop next door, as well as a bicycle/scooter rental place directly across the street. The Tulum ruins are only a few miles North of the hotel, and numerous restaurants and shops are within walking distance from the hotel as well. All in all, La Posada del Sol was the perfect hotel for us as an introduction to Tulum.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    55
    24
    23
    21
See reviews for
27
121
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

On my first ever trip to Tulum, with my now wife K, we stayed at Posada del Sol and fell in love with the beach, the hotel, and each other! We had a rough start at the hotel, arriving after dark and absolutely exhausted to our jungle side room, where the noise from the road and neighbors partying made sleep very difficult. However, the next day we moved to a beach front room (at a discounted rate because of the noise issues), and were introduced to absolute paradise! Hammock on the balcony, french doors open so we could sleep to the sound of crashing waves on the rocks outside, and waking up to the smell of fresh coffee and breakfast cooking below us (it is simple, but delicious, and is the only meal you'll get here)!!!

The location is in the center of everything (shops, restaurants, nightlife, bike rentals all steps away), the service is solid but not spectacular (they pretty much stay out of your way unless you need something, which is refreshing if you've ever been to Cancun or Playa), the rooms are clean and very nice (albeit rustic with very few power outlets and spotty hot water... but you're on the beach)! The only downside to the location is that the beach section for PdS is small with limited lounges, and if you try to sit at the neighboring hotel/restaurant, they will require you order some food/drink... not that I blame them for taking advantage of their larger, better section of the beach! If you want, just take your towel to the sand and lounge there, the beaches are public as long as you don't use those hotel lounges and side tables.

We have since stayed here twice more, and will be back again for sure! We booked on booking.com, but I suggest you book directly with them to ensure you get the room you want!

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side if you want to sleep to the sounds of the beach (or sleep at all some nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I really hate to write bad reviews as I usually find at least something good about every place I stay. Unfortunately, I've had to look very hard to find the silver lining of my stay at Posada del Sol.

To be fair, we had extremely high expectations, this was our first time to Tulum and so weren't familiar with the value for money you get there, particularly during peak season. We were expecting something a bit more magical, and unfortunately our first day at Posada del Sol was a reality check. However, I think that this is partially due to the misleading descriptions and photos on their website (this is not something unique to Posada, several of the places we looked into when booking turned out to be quite different when we saw them in person).

This posada is on one of the busiest stretches of Tulum beach road. They share a small stretch of beach (beautiful though it may be) with several other hotels, so it can get very crowded during the day. The property itself is very narrow - only about 10 meters wide and this is common of many places along this same stretch of beach. So if you are looking for wide open beaches, this is not the part of Tulum for you. Having said that, they have tried to make the best of what they have - there is a nice platform on the rocks at the end of the beach with lounge chairs - you can get an amazing view over the beach and ocean.

Another issue was our room. We were on the 'garden' side of the posada - which in reality turned out to be across the street from the main building, right on the road. Our room was very noisy throughout the day until late into the night. Earplugs were a complete necessity to sleep. Also, these rooms do not have ANY electrical outets, if you want to charge anything, you will need to use the plugs in the restaurant. This was a significant incovience, and not what I'd expect when paying $200/night. We were told at the time that this was true of all rooms, but when we later moved to one of the more expensive rooms, it had a plug. Fortunately, a few of the beach rooms opened up during our stay and we were able to negotiate a discounted rate to move, which was appreciated.

However, our main issue with Posada del Sol was the below par service - a stark contrast from our experiences at every other place we visited in Tulum. Some staff in particular were quite rude and in general we did not feel as though the staff were interested in making our stay comfortable. The general attitude seemed to be "we've got your money, now we can forget about you". In our new room, we did not have hot water for over a day (at some points, we didn't have any water), and it took several requests to resolve this situation. Again, not what I'd expect in a $275/night room (the rate for our new room).

On the plus side, the internet was reliable, and the breakfast was nice. It is also in a convenient location for eating out, as it's right near several restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: The 'garden' rooms are really on the road and can be quite noisy, especially rooms #1 and #3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n0madsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Friendly staff, relatively good value and on the beach. Clean comfortable rooms. Only stayed for a a night but would have happily stayed longer. They are on a nice little beach and some of the rooms have hammocks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escapelondoninwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This spot was built by an architect as her personal house. its an earthen building with so many amazing and unique touches that give it a cozy and natural feeling. It's a very well maintained spot and has access to a beautiful cove which feels very private. We have stayed at a few places on the beach in tulum but none match this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadi108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I found this gorgeous place a year ago when we got engaged and when he asked me where I wanted to go for our honeymoon I knew I wanted that Titanic room, so private overlooking the sea and no neighbors :-). Some people might say they want something more fancy or that offers more but I have traveled all over the world and this has to be one of the most beautiful romantic rooms around. Surrounded by windows and doors out to your own private balcony, tall ceilings and the interior designed by the owner who put her heart into it. The bathroom is completely open including shower with tree limbs to hold your towels. With one staircase leading to your property it is just so private perfect for a honeymoon. Breakfast is included each morning and they would bring it up to our balcony where we could dine in private and with the most amazing view. Of course the shop downstairs will not let you down either, with handcrafted items from all over Mexico- the best in Tulum! Kate was there most of the time we were and is an American who assists with running this intimate boutique hotel and she is great and will help you with anything you need. We rented bikes and a moped from the nice guy next door, the only way to see Tulum. During our week the owner said she planned on putting foot baths outside the rooms to clean your feet from sand which will be a great improvement. This little hotel is near several restaurants in Tulum beach and has the most beautiful private beach and you can walk to the beach around the rocks and there is another hotel where we ate often and they have pretty good food but is the best place to watch turtles if there June-July. We got to see the massive turtle lay its eggs. These two beaches are the most frequented by the turtles-be patient and you will see them! Our only other suggestion to Pasada del Sol would be to get an Expresso machine for better coffee and to offer beverages including coffee throughout the day, but you can always walk across the street and there is a great little coffee spot.

Room Tip: For ocean breeze and amazing views- the Titanic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70redbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem online and its was worth every cent. The hotel is the right amount of rustic while still a comfortable stay. We stayed in Tulum during the rainy season but that didn't dampen our spirits and the stay was so enjoyable. Kate is a gem also and she made us all feel at home while on vacation. While you have to accept the fact that there is no electrictiy and everything works on solar/wind power, that was part of the charm. This has been one of my favorite trips. I highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kar1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.0 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#41 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#26 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Sol

Property: La Posada del Sol
Address: Road to Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La posada del Sol is an entrancing, tropical Eco Hotel Boutique located in Tulum, Mexico. Our distinctive Boutique Hotel was built with the purpose to create a life time experiences and our climate consciousness processes minimizing the impact on the environment. Solar and wind power provide our guests with 24 hour electricity and our natural water supply comes straight from a local cenote, making us one-of-a-kind eco-friendly Hotel. Every detail here makes us different. We are proud of not being luxurious, but exclusive. Our 10 guest rooms have a unique and vibrant design, called by some as "Mexican charming style", that we believe reflects our culture and the natural ways of life. You'll be entranced by our 6 ocean front rooms, having direct access to the beach, or if the jungle feeling is your thing, one of our other 4 garden rooms will suit you perfectly. As we only have 10 rooms we can ensure you a personalized and high quality service. Here, you will forget the fuss of the unnecessary city demands and simply relax. We are the perfect vacation getaway! Unplug yourself from the routine, come and reconnect with mother nature, you don't really need much more. -Forget, meditate & disconnect. - During your stay be sure not to miss our unique boutique where you will find handmade crafts from different parts of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Sol Tulum
Posada Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing