We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for 9-night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent base for 9-night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

Many places to stay have a few nice details that make them seem special. So much attention is paid to myriad details at La Selva Mariposa that it stands out. Mari and Lou are very helpful in giving suggestions for activities when asked. They know the area well and were able to provide us information about specific people to ask for whose expertise made our experiences outstanding.
This is a quiet place with ample opportunities for relaxation. A small, refreshing cenote was right outside our door. A waterfall in the garden outside the unit effectively masks highway sounds at night. Birds awakened us every morning.
One of the best things about the location near a small village (Marcario Gomez) is that by bus, rental car or taxis, it is easy to get to ruins, the beach, nearby cenotes, and other sites. There is much to see and do in the area. Even after spending 10 days there, we didn't begin to exhaust the possibilities. We could also walk for 3-4 minutes into the village and enjoy local food (excellent tacos!).
The decor--with fresh flowers, tasteful and original works of art, local Mayan artifacts, colorful fabrics--is lovely. Mattresses are very comfortable, and our bed had excellent lighting for reading at night. I loved the shower exposed to the sky in Unit 3, but if that's not your preference, other units have enclosed showers. The units are kept very clean.
Breakfasts were incredible; the term "goumet" doesn't do them justice: 5-7 kinds of fresh fruit each day, several flavors of local homemade yogurt, cereal, juices, and a wonderful hot dish--often with several fresh condiments--each day. Homemade breads often accompanied the main dish. Mari is a spectacular cook who uses local, fresh ingredients.
Landscaping around the units and on the grounds is beautiful. We enjoyed walking on paths in the "jungle" area of the grounds. Although it was too hot to contemplate the steam bath when we were there, I look forward to using it another time. I did enjoy a Mayan bath (wonderful flowers in the water) provided at treetop height. The overall feeling of staying here for me was of being in a small corner of paradise.

  • Liked — Gorgeous surroundings; friendly, helpful staff; distance from "tourist" centers; excellent breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Distance from gocery store required a little planning.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaskanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
348
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, N.Y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

La Selva Mariposa

My husband and I stayed at the Mariposa, West wing, room #1 for nine days in March. The whole experience was absolutely wonderful. I won’t go on and on about Moe and Lou, the proprietors, as all reviewers seem to have the same thought and feelings about them and it’s true. They are wonderful, creative people who on first meeting are like reconnecting with old friends. We were invited to come to Tulum for a destination wedding. Our entire party of 27 people stayed at the beach with guests scattered along the coast in various accommodations from all-inclusive to small cabanas. We were the only ones who chose to stay inland. Everyone thought us crazy.

As it turned out there were four straight days of high winds coming in off the gulf at the beach. Sand became a real problem. We on the other hand spent our days on the beautiful beach with our friends and went home every night to paradise where there was little wind, no sand, just sounds of waterfalls and birds chirping. I think we had the best of both.

Everyone has their own expectations of a vacation. For me, it’s being safe and experiencing something new and exciting. When visiting a poor country like Mexico, unless you stay at an all-inclusive resort for $300/night, your priorities must change somewhat. Most people on the beach have very limited electricity with no refrigerators having to store their food in coolers. Generators were on at night for only a few hours. Moe and Lou give an exceptional service for a value price paying attention to all the details. The breakfasts were creative, plentiful, delicious and different all eight mornings we were there.

We did rent a car and were able to explore in a different direction everyday and the speed bumps in town were a hoot. We thought the location was perfect for getting around. We are lucky to have people like the Pintkowski’s who work hard to create a wonderful environment for vacationing people like us to stay. (It’s also a plus to have English speaking people to answer questions for us non-Spanish speaking tourists.)

  • Liked — clean, friendly, beautiful flowers and birds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

La Selva Mariposa is a wonderful little B&B-like place. The rooms are meticulously decorated with love, the breakfast is delicious and filling, and the proprietors, Mo and Lou are always helpful and full of useful information and travel expertise. The rooms are scattered on a large piece of property that has beautiful paths through the forest/jungle. The hotel is located in a town that is about 20 kilometers from Tulum, and it is conveniently located for visiting Coba and numerous cenotes. We were glad we booked half our trip here and half at another hotel on the beach though - it allowed us to do the sites on either side of Tulum easily and with less driving. The one drawback of the location is that you need a car to do anything - there aren't restaurants, shops, or activities within waking distance. But the place is worth it, by far!

Our bed was comfortable, our room was very clean, there was plenty of bottled water available at all times (important for keeping your belly happy!), and Moe and Lou gave us TONS of ideas for things to do every day.

There are two reasons we didn't give this place the full five stars: the shower and the towel service. We mentioned that we were having trouble with water temperature and pressure, but we were basically told that a 5 minute shower should be more than sufficient for anyone. The temperature would fluctuate between BOILING hot and FREEZING cold (with very little in-between) even within the 5 minutes. Plus, on vacation I'd like to have a relaxing long shower if I want one, especially since the bathrooms and showers are so very beautiful! The pressure is only an issue if you have longer hair, which I do.

The towel situation was not a big deal, but worth mentioning; we had to ask for fresh ones, and in 4 nights they were only replaced once. I know it's better for the environment to re-use towels, and we do it all the time at home, but on vacation, I want the luxury of fresh, fluffy towels every day. especially since it was pretty humid, and the towels never really dried in-between showers.

One more thing to note: if you're going to have a spa treatment, make sure to clarify what will be done. We had mayan clay massages and were a little disappointed - the service was very different than described. Not bad, just different.

Overall, a wonderful stay and I highly recommend this hotel/B&B.

  • Liked — beautiful atmosphere, great breakfast
  • Disliked — water pressure & temperature, lack of fresh towels, distance to town
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greentea822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 28 March 2008
We replaced the hot water heater which took care of both the pressure and temperature problem. As far as towels, we do replace towels sooner if requested or on a 3-day basis if not. We do try and think of the ecology in all our decisions, but guest request come first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

Located 20 kms from Tulum on the road to Coba, La Selva Mariposa is a little jungle hideaway. Without directions you would never be able to find it. I think having a car is essential if you want to stay here.

The owners Moe and Lou have put a lot of time and effort into developing their property and it shows. We stayed for 6 nights in room #3 (the furthest out). The room is very nice, though with the palapa roof and large overhanging porch my better half found it to be a bit on the dark side. The grounds around the cabanas are quite lush and full. In the mornings the waterfalls and scenery were quite relaxing. These same waterfalls at night could be noisy if you are a light sleeper. I woke up on occasion and thought it was raining out. I suppose I could have asked if they could turn them off at night. The breakfasts were different and delicious everyday. Don't skip the homemade yoghurt! Bananas, pineapples and more are grown on site.

Moe and Lou are very attentive and gracious hosts. They were very helpful regarding the local area and always genuinely interested in hearing your experiences. They strike you more as family than B&B owners. The layout of their cabanas and dining area enable you to meet and talk with other guests over breakfast or while laying out in the hammocks. Overall a beautiful and relaxing place to unwind after a day out and about.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

We were delighted to find ourselves at La Selva Mariposa, especially after feeling overwhelmed by the resortiness of Playa del Carmen. Truly a relaxed paradise, we stayed in the new Suite 4, which was a wonderful Valentine's Day treat! Our bedroom, sitting room, patio and waterfall were all perfect. And the open air shower was absolutely lovely -- whether by morning sunshine or moonlight!

The owners, Moe and Lou, were a wealth of travel information and hints, and we were often delighted by their suggestions. From La Selva Mariposa, we took a number of day trips -- to Coba, Chichen Itza, Valladolid -- and spent some time at Tulum's beaches (which were the best of our whole trip!).

We would highly recommend La Selva Mariposa to those who are really looking to get away in a quiet, relaxing environment.

  • Liked — Beautiful accommodations, great travel tips from the owners, quiet location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank namatovu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

What a neat experince. We looked for something different this time and we got it. this b and b is about 15 to 20 minutes outside of Tulum. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were tastefully decorated and were very clean. I loved the waterfall next to the room. both moe and lou were eager to tell about what you could do in the area.

the drive to the beach is a little longer than we would have liked but being so close the the ruins made it ok. I would loved the one at tulum beach. A must to see!

tulum is a small town that is fun to explore. there are bars and resturants and some shopping. we loved the beach in tulum and hung out at a place called La Zebra. it was neat and they have chairs on the beach. we ate well, the breakfast at the b and b was outstanding. The French toast was my pick.

If you are a beach person and are not staying very long this my not be the place to go, but if you want a lovely place and don't mind the drive to the beach then it would be the one to pick.

Misti

  • Liked — it was pretty to look at, and the waterfalls by the rooms
  • Disliked — drive to beach or town
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank notanlinesontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

Wow ! This was the last place we did in Mexico and it was amazing ! I still can't believe they built this little paradise. It's the most beautiful place I've seen so far...The rooms are big, nice and clean. I love the way they decorated everything. The land is gorgeous and the pools are lovely. Loved the dogs too. It was a nice way to end our trip...Thanks again Lou and Mary. And again wow !

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
14.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
14.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
14.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. By car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our three beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing