We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jungle getaway”
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 87 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“jungle getaway”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

La Selva Mariposa was built from the ground up with care and thoughtfulness, and Moe and Lou offer so much local advice and knowledge of the surrounding areas. It's a very special place. Unlike some of the hotels right on the beach, a car is definitely recommended while staying here, but if you're looking to explore and do more day trips anyway, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphabrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank so much for writing such a glowing review for us. We enjoyed meeting you and are glad that you mentioned the need for a car. Without one, you will feel a bit stuck unless you are very patient waiting for Mx. public transportation to take you from a to b. It is possible to use the 2nd class bus, colectivos and taxis if you don't mind waiting and negotiating you fare. It will be an adventure, but in order to make the most of your vacation, a car is a welcome pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
89
355
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We only had two nights to sample Moe and Lou's incredible paradise in the jungle. We will definitely be back for a longer time soon. The grounds are amazing with beautiful plantings, ceramic hot tub, sweat lodge, cenote style pools. The rooms are perfectly appointed with reading lights, complimentary drinks, walk in showers and personal hammocks. the breakfasts were wonderful and Moe and lou are a wealth of information about what sights to see. You have to try this charming B&B!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clsg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Even though we lived in Vail for 25 years before coming to Tulum, we have not had many visitors from the old pueblo. Guess they all want the all inclusive's on the beach. Needless to say it was a pleasure sharing our little oasis in the jungle with such a fun couple from "back home." One thing I think is that you will come back, as two nights is not enough to sample all that is available in and close to LSM. Until then we say thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

After having spent five days at the beach we stayed for two nights at La Selva Mariposa and we were amazed by this beautiful hidden gem. The small resort is built from scratch by the friendly owners Moe and Lou. From the moment you walk in you feel the love and hard work they have put into this place. Everything is so beautiful, we were really impressed by their attention to detail. We have stayed in many hotels and resorts but La Selva Mariposa really is one of a kind!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamZonnetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks for this review all the way from Holland. In fact, this is one of my very favorite reviews yet. It was so complimentary, concise and heart felt. We hope you will return to our little oasis in the jungle. I remember how much fun it was to see you all after you left for Merida and returned to pick up some clothing left behind. Take care and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for a week at the end of September / beginning of October, 2013.

Moe and Lou were out of town for the time we were there, but left us in the hands of their very hospitable caretaker, Julio, and his wife. Julio doesn't speak much English at all (though he's very patient and will take time to figure out what you're saying!) so they also arranged for their friend to join us for breakfast our first morning and help us get acquainted with the area.

The location is great-- only about 15 minutes from the beach by car. We drove and parked in front of Playa Las Palmas, which is like a beach campground if you drive down past the public beach entrance before you get to the ruins.
It's also close to the Coba ruins (about 45 minutes) which have the tallest pyramid in Mexico (and you can climb it!) and only about 2 hours from Chichen Itza.
Lots and lots of cenotes around to swim in and explore, too-- We saw Grand Cenote (only 10 minutes away), Dos Ojos, and Sac Actun.

The property is beautiful! It's like you're staying in a living art piece. Lots of fountains and running water everywhere. We stayed in Suite 4, the largest, which has it's own private artificial cenote pool. The room itself was very spacious and well furnished. The AC kept us comfortable when we weren't out exploring. We were right next to the wifi, which was surprisingly fast for being out in the jungle!
Breakfast was complimentary each morning and delicious.
I only gave it 3/5 for sleep quality because I think the bed was too firm and the pillows a bit overstuffed, but that could be personal preference. Certainly the bed was large enough! We traded out who slept in the king bed and who slept on the couch in the livingroom area-- which is made up of two single beds with cushions, arranged in an L-shape. You could easily sleep a family of 4 in that room.
Next time I will definitely be bringing my girl instead of my buddy. It's a very romantic place to stay.

Can't wait to see what new features and additions they have added next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We felt confident that our staff and friends could make our guests feel comfortable in our absence. I guess pillows and mattresses are a personal preference, but wished you had mentioned something to Julio. We have lots of different pillows and try to buy the top of the line here in Mx. Keep this in mind for next time. Hotel staff does not mind trying to make your stay including sleep the best it can be. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanville, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is our fourth trip to La Selva Mariposa. Just left there, and still feel the magic of the place. We enjoyed a delicious dinner put on my Moe and Lou. We were entertained by a very talented guitarist. Thank you, the night was so relaxing!

We also soaked in their newly finished jacuzzi. Could not have had a more relaxing end to a day by this warm, ok, hot soak. Lou, hope the inflatable pillow survived the night!

We did notice many changes to La Selva Mariposa. The lighted pathways encouraged an evening stroll on their grounds. Their lovely expanded comedor is just perfect. You can sit comfortably in their cozy furniture and do what we do best, read, relax, check email and most of all, listen to all the jungle sounds.

Love this place; can't wait to return. Moe, Lou, thank you for your hospitality. When can we come back?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
It is so cool to get return guests and you guys are so much fun...starting to feel like family. No, really, thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us again at LSM. We are so excited about our expanded dining/lounge area and the Jacuzzi is the best addition yet. We look forward to your next visit and maybe the cenote will be finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Not bad about 30 minutes from Cancun and 15 from playa de carmem..Quaint. it is not in the middle of everything but is close to the ruins and the reefs..it is quite and very relaxing . It is perfect for a 3 day get away but I think much over that it gets a little closed in

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thanks for your review and wonder if the rainy season had taken over while you stayed with us? I agree that no matter where you stay in QR during the rains it can feel a bit closed in.There are advantages in the jungle, however, the towering trees provide a natural umbrella and you can stroll around the grounds with or without an umbrella. We hope you will come back to this part of the world between late Nov. and May so that you can enjoy walking our paths into the jungle, riding bikes around our little pueblo and swimming in the cenote-style pools scattered around the property...the new jacuzzi will be open within days. It can rain off and on in the tropics, but when it clears you will know you have arrived in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Since our first child was one year old we have visited Moe and Lou every year for a week or longer and have always been amazed at the beauty and innovative design of LSM. Each year there is something new to WOW about as Lou never stops coming up with another imaginative addition. This year we were the first guest to enjoy the new dining area and Internet lounge/ game room, only wish the Jacuzzi would have been done on the roof, something to look forward to next year. Keep up the great work, will be back again next June.

Room Tip: Suite #4 for a family with young children suites 2 and 3 for a family with older kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardrleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Each and every year there are so many changes in our little oasis in the jungle, you have watched us grow just as we have watched your beautiful family blossom. We hope you will return again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
15.9 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 97 in Tulum
859 reviews
11.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 97 in Tulum
930 reviews
16.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 97 in Tulum
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 97 in Tulum
274 reviews
13.5 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
16.0 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 97 in Tulum
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing