We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a beautiful Place...A Pleasure to Be There!”
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #2 of 93 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We cannot say enough about what must be one of the most wonderful and unique accomodations in Tulum. What a pleasure to stay here. Beautiful and lush jungle flora surrounded us with deep turquoise blue cenote like pools for our morning plunge or late afternoon dip. We loved coming home to Selva after a day of snorkeling or the beach or the nearby ruins. We sank into the jacuzzi almost every evening while sipping our margueritas and enjoying the stars as they winked at us between the palms.

What can I say that already hasn't been said already about La Selva Mariposa? We struggled between staying at a beach hotel 24/7 or choosing this jungle retreat as our home base during our time in Tulum. We made the choice to stay at La Selva Mariposa and we couldn't have been happier with our decision. It was so nice to know we had the option to play and dine at the beach as long as we wanted but to be able to retreat from the sand and dark to our beautiful home in the jungle when we were ready. The rooms are lovely and clean and tastefully decorated reflecting Mayan art and style. Towels are plush and soft. The bed is very comfortable. Showers are hot with lots of water. Lou and Mari serve the nicest breakfast every morning. You won't go away from the table hungry. It's a beautiful presentation of tropical fruits, juices, muffins, and always an exciting entree.

Lastly, our hosts, Lou and Mari, were the icing on the cake. They are wonderful! Lou makes the best blue margueritas and Mari has an extensive library of writings she has done on the area. They share all this with you and, in so doing, we received invaluable insider tips as to the best beaches, ruins, cenotes ,shops, restaurants etc to visit....and the best time to do so. Information like that is invaluable when you only have so many hours in a day or so few days to explore and enjoy all that you came to see and experience. They added immeasurably to the pleasure and ease of our vacation. Lou even helped us get a hold of our US bank when an ATM ate our credit card. He helped take the stress out of this momentary crisis.

There is no doubt we will be back and have already started to recommend La Selva Mariposa to our friends. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: outdoor shower in #3 is something wonderful! And no bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTbellamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

What can I say to you to thank you for your glowing review. Thank you does not seem like enough. I am so pleased that we were able to provide you with the help, support and service you needed. So glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi, the blue margaritas and our breakfasts that we enjoyed preparing and serving as much as you enjoyed eating them.
We were happy to share our little oasis in the jungle with you and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We came to this b&b after speculating that it would be a nice place to retire to after spending days on the beach. We stayed for 6 nights and were so impressed we were lucky enough to return for another 3 days at the end of our trip. We stayed in 3 of the 4 rooms. All of them were so beautiful it is hard to describe them adequately. Each room had privacy. The design of each is beautiful with lovely woods, textiles, tile, integrating outside with inside, lighting, hammocks, decking, comfortable beds, shared or individual cenotes style pools, twinkling blue lights in the evening lighting paths, birds singing, plants and dead silence. You do not bump into anyone or hear any voices other than your own which is hopefully hushed in continual awe. You can use the beautiful outdoor protected communal kitchen to heat up dinner if you don't want to eat out. There is so much more to say. Breakfast is fantastic. The hosts wonderful. Every need is met quietly, casually, and in a friendly manner that makes you feel right at home in your private paradise. So hard to leave.

Room Tip: I was simply ecstatic about all the 3 rooms we stayed in. I guess the very best was room # 4 with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks for the lovely review. I especially liked how you used the words, "voices hushed in continual awe." The privacy issue was a good one to mention as well. We don't think of our dining /comedor area as a communal kitchen, but everything is there if you need it. We encourage guests to get take-out or go to one of the local restaurants in Macario Gomez, afterall you are on vacation, and why should you cook. It was a pleasure to have you stay both times during your visit to the Yucatan Peninsula. We will await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at La Selva Mariposa, our second stay after inaugurating unit #4 in 2007. Moe and Lou have created an absolutely amazing and unique place, taking advantage of a lush and quiet location to craft a jungle paradise. It's so lush that regardless of your reasons for coming to this part of Mexico, you may be tempted to spend a day or two just chilling out in this beautiful escape from everything. Unit 4, in particular, with its cenote-style swimming pool, lush jungle plants (a combination of species natural to the area and beautifully added trees and flowers), gorgeous sculptures and paintings, huge rooms, hammocks, and outdoor shower, seems like something that you would expect at a high-priced resort, not a relatively economical "bed and breakfast" (this may be technically a b and b, but it feels more like an exotic resort). Speaking of breakfast, at La Selva Mariposa, it's more of a high-class hotel's brunch in size and quality except served in a jungle setting. You won't need lunch! Moe and Lou know everything about Quintana Roo and places further afield; you can consult the literature that Moe has produced about everything from local ruins to plant life to restaurants, or talk to this very engaging couple, who speak proudly and knowledgeably about everything in their chosen home. If you'd like to escape the noise and expense of places on the Tulum beach, while still having easy access to the beach, and being far closer to Koba, and if you'd like an experience that is at once homey and classy, while quite economical, don't pass up this unique experience.

Room Tip: The rooms here are all great and economically priced. But #4 as mentioned above is world-class at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for the glowing review. We love how you used the words high-class rather than referring to us as an economical B&B. Sometimes it is hard for the jungle to feel elegant, instead it feels wild, but then so does the beach or any other location where Mother Nature is in control. We feel that we offer so many extras and our brunchy breakfast is something you will not find in small hotels.Yes it is more like what you might find in a big hotel breakfast, except each item is prepared especially for you using the most natural and fresh ingredients available to us on the Riviera Maya. It is special that you were our first guests to stay in suite #4 years ago and then return to see how many things have been added and upgraded. Do come back, as there is always something new at LSM. Thank you also for mentioning the articles I write with passion about the many things to see and do close to La Selva Mariposa. Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A remarkable garden oasis in Tulum. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, the outdoor shower was amazing - to shower under the trees & stars! So relaxing and the breakfasts were a feast. There is a large hot tub-Jacuzzi under the stars on a rooftop and a sauna with a glass top. Hammocks are available to relax, pool close to rooms and yoga mats on quiet rooftop. The owners are friendly and accommodating and can advise you on places to see along with local items you may want to purchase. Close to the beach, Mayan ruins and caves. One of the rooms would be ideal for a honeymoon with its own pool and living space. All rooms were incredible with plenty of privacy and comforts. We would not hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms were incredible and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM10784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi and thanks for your glowing review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and hope you will return some time soon. If we could move that world famous beach a little closer, I bet you would have rated this a 5 as well. One of the beauties about being located 20 min. by car inland is that you are away from the crowds that flock to the coast each day. The other reason to stay with us is that we are located about half way to Coba and a little farther to Valladolid, Ek Balam, Chichen Itza ect. as well as the beaches of Tulum, so all things considered, the location is ideal for those who want to explore the Yucatan Peninsula by car.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed a week in February at La Selva Mariposa and we were not disappointed in anyway. Our first stay was in Oct of 2012 and we fell in love. You don't have to be on the beach to be in Paradise!
It will be hard to write a review here without repeating everything that everyone has already put forth.
Lou and Moe are THE most charming couple/owners of this gorgeous little hideaway and they go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable. We stayed in suite #3 and it has everything you need. They have thought of everything to make your stay one you will remember. Being a foodie of sorts, I can't tell you enough here about the wonderful breakfasts they prepare for you every morning. Fresh fruit juice blends you won't find anywhere else, fresh muffins, coffee, wonderful fruit platters and creative homemade entrees every day that they prepare themselves. You don't leave in the morning hungry, that's for sure.
Both Mari and Lou are very knowledgable about the area and can help you plan your day if you wish.
Most folks know that there is a great variety of places to eat/dine at in the Tulum area- from very pricey to very cheap. The first night we arrived we ate at a little local restaurant within walking distance of La Selva. We had 6 tacos and 4 beers for $9.00 US, go figure! But we splurged on Randy's B/D and dined at Hechizo. That was a five star experience. Food/Service was outstanding. The setting around the rooms is so inviting and Randy and I marvel at the artistic touches everywhere. So creative!! There is a new hot tub up on the roof and we enjoyed wine and gazing at the stars up there on more than one occasion. We have stayed right on the beach previously (2012) but we actually prefer La Selva over the hustle and bustle of the beachfront. I am rambling here, but just remembered that they added safes to the rooms, but the location really doesn't require them. Their employees have been there a long time and are trusted without question. We left money out on the table at times and it never was touched. Do remember to tip them! We met a couple of girls who had the room next to ours who did not know that tipping the maids was customary at B & B's. $3-5 dollars a day is about right. We left candy (M&M's) with our tip everyday and it did bring smiles and thank yous. I recommend room 3 for couples because there is a plunging pool with waterfall right outside your door. They have a new service now and we were so glad to take advantage of it! They will pick you up in Cancun and return you to the airport and rent you one of the cars to use for your stay. How convenient is that? No hustle at the airport! There is so much to see and do in this area-- you can't see or do it all in a week. Pick two or three important things and leave some time to just kick back and relax at Selva. There are so many little private areas that you can "escape" to and chill out. If you just have to connect, they do have WIFI now, but seriously folks, why did you come here??? Children are welcome here, unlike some other B & B's, and there were several there during our stay- but all were well behaved. We had a wonderful week with fantastic weather and hardly any bugs. Again, we just want to say how friendly, outgoing, knowledgable and hospitable you will find Mari and Lou. Lou has a great sense of humor and can keep you laughing. They were kind enough to invite us over to the mainhouse for a drink on our last night there and we had some interesting conversation. We have several ex-pat friends in Cozumel and we always enjoy hearing their "takes" on our current political situation here at home. So, Mari and Lou, thank you so much for making Randy's birthday trip so much fun! We'll be back next year! You two really deserved the 2013 Traveler's Award from Trip Advisor. I also want to add that the room charges are really quite reasonable (150US) and a bargain in my mind. Check it out on their website. We are making plans for Father's Day and I haven't found anything comparable in a 300 mile radius of where we live (Virginia Beach) for under $300 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itzbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hola Amigos, So great to get your kind review! You said it all. I wanted to say thanks from our staff for mentioning the fact that tipping is much appreciated. Staff is paid better than in many places in Tulum and on the beach, but the tips from guests are so important for letting them know how much the little things they do, like the gorgeous flower arrangements and towel sculptures, are noticed by someone other than Lou and I. Julio will actually go out into the pueblo/jungle and find traditional flowers and greenery when ours are not interesting enough.
Thanks also for sampling the local Macario food and commenting on it. This is important for all of the establishments, big and small in a competitive tourist area. We look forward to your visit next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our 7th trip to Tulum and our first time off the beach area of Tulum. We decided to book LSM because we were looking for something different and of the reviews posted here on tripadvisor.com. Everything you read about the property and the rooms are true. It's beautiful, spacious, accommodating and relaxing. If you are looking for someone to entertain you, look elsewhere. Mo and Lou are friendly and will do everything they can to accommodate you but as we all would do, they want the property and rules to be respected. When you book LSM, you need to "KNOW WHERE YOU ARE" and go for a purpose and that is to relax and enjoy the surroundings. As for me, I totally enjoyed our 3 night stay there and that was enough. We tend to bounce around during our 10 day trips and see different areas. I can see a lot of family and friends enjoying LSM and will recommend to those looking for what they have to offer. I have a photo album full of pictures and a 6 minute video tour of the property if interested on my facebook page (Jeremy Gearries). I welcome you to send me a friend request if you are interested. I have a great group of friends that I have met during my travels and on this site which is beneficial when sharing travel ideas. Jeremy and Sara from Indianapolis Indiana.

Room Tip: Casa Banana - Mateos - Rent a car - Tulum town - Coba and Tulum Ruins - Destinations Direct Travel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djsdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience at our little oasis in the Mayan jungle. Yes, we are not on the beach or in the large town of Tulum and we are very clear about this when you visit our web site or read the other trip advisor reviews. Our little pueblito of Macario Gomez is growing and we now have two wonderful restaurants for guests to walk to: a Mexican and a seafood/pizza establishment. There is a new Mineral Bath House next door and our recently added roof top jacuzzi give you some interesting options for how to spend your nights with us. These things help to make our location better. What most people want when they choose La Selva Mariposa is to get away from the crowds closer to the coast, and this you will find at LSM. Lou and I give the extensive tour and write out details of things to see and do during your stay with us, so we can step back and give you your privacy while at the same time are on the fringes to help with anything you may desire.
Thanks for acknowledging this. Please ask for anything you need, we are here to serve you!
Like we say in our video, you will walk away with a new impression of the Riviera Maya,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Highly recommending this sweet special unique spot in between Tulum & Coba. Its a lush heavenly setting in nature with pools , hammocks , and a couple taking care of the place ( they also built the place) and they will take care of you too! Sweet breakfast included and good info provided. A garden and jacuzzi on your rooftop kind of place:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ahndiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Life is busy and we totally appreciate you taking time out of yours to write a review and share your experience of staying at LSM. We feel very fortunate to have the life we have created in this little community, and want to share it with travelers from all over the world. We are truly a place where people come to rest, rejuvenate and share their story. We are glad to be a part of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
15.9 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
894 reviews
11.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 99 in Tulum
940 reviews
11.4 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 99 in Tulum
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
14.6 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 93 in Tulum
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £105 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing