We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Dreamy”
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 84 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Dreamy”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at LSM for 12 days and loved every minute of it. My favorite parts of our stay were morning walks through the paths on the property with a coffee and all the butterflies, the best breakfasts EVER cooked up and served by Lou and Moe, and the mini cenotes (swimming holes) outside of the rooms. The attention to detail in the design of this bed and breakfast is amazing, everywhere you look there is an interesting fixture or piece of art (even in the bathroom!). Among the most important of details is the wonderful company of Lou and Moe, they answer all questions with pleasure as if they heard the question for the first time, they really make you feel welcome and at home. We did NOT want to leave, what an amazing dream come true Moe and Lou are living, Moe even wrote a few books on there adventure of changing their life course and building a bed and breakfast in Mexico. AMAZING! Can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peeps17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello from Mexico, Thanks so much for the thoughtful review. We are glad that there were mariposas to guide you on your morning walks just as they guided us to this beautiful spot in the Mayan jungle. We love sharing our little oasis with such fun and thoughtful travelers as you and hope you will return and bring even more friends and family. Thanks for the referrals. We enjoyed meeting your friends as well.
Mari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
355
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

La Selva Mariposa is an absolutely wonderful place to stay in the Tulum area. My husband and I were lucky enough to spend ten great days here and every detail of our stay was carefully considered and executed by our warm hosts - Moe & Lou. The rooms (we stayed in #3 and #4) were elegantly decorated, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were spectacular (fresh fruit & a main dish that was different each day) and the grounds of the property are incredible to explore with one of the three family dogs. We could not have had the great trip that we did without Moe & Lou's detailed advice - we simply opened up one of the helpful trip books they place in each room and followed their directions every day! It was great to drive back from the beach each day to a hot (outdoor!) shower, fresh towels, some aloe for our sunburns and the best margaritas we've ever had! We will recommend La Selva Mariposa to all of our friends and family and hope to stay again ourselves!

-Katie & Adam from Montreal

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, but #4 was an oasis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGBuist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for the glowing review. It is so fantastic to have guests with us for such a long stay. You were like family to us and of course to our 3 dogs. Maybe next time you will find that Mx. puppy to take back to Canada with you. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lou picked my husband and me up at the airport in Cancun, gave us two chilled bottles of water, and immediately made us feel comfortable with his light heart and obvious love for the area. As we drove, he pointed out sights, and made suggestions of things we might like to do. He listened to our interests, and took them into consideration in his suggestions. When we arrived at La Selva Mariposa, we were struck not only by the beauty of the grounds, but by many thoughtful touches that made the place feel special. From the beautifully lit grounds to the carefully placed security cameras, to the soothing sounds of the multiple cenote-like water features, we knew we had found a gem. Moe showed up with fresh muffins, and showed us our room, again decorated with so many special touches, from the individual reading lights to the remote-controlled air conditioner, lights and fans. Every breakfast was different, and equally delicious, with a huge fruit plate filled with local fruits, and a choice of unique fruit drinks, and delicious coffee that Lou swore was from Costco, with a touch of local coffee blended in. Moe and Lou are delightful hosts, and answered every question cheerfully, even though sometimes we asked the same questions multiple times. We were so impressed with the way they have trained their excellent staff. They use the same care toward everything they contact - the staff, the guests, the grounds, and even the dogs -- got impeccable attention. After 10 wonderful days of exploring the area from Mayan ruins to the beach to a number of excellent local restaurants-- all made easier and more fun by Lou and Moe's helpful tips, we hated to say goodbye. Big hugs from both Moe and Lou made it easier. La Selva Mariposa is an extraordinary place, carved out of the jungle by two extraordinary people. Do yourself a favor and go there, and ask for an open air shower. Nothing like the sun filtering through a bamboo canopy as you shower, unless maybe it's Lou's cream-cheese and jam infused cranberry bread.

Room Tip: Don't miss the open air shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
WOW, Sounds like you had a great time and we appreciate it when guest notice the time and effort it has taken to build and maintain LSM. We hope to be seeing you and your friends in the near future. There is still much more to see and do in the area and of course Mucho Descanso, more rest. as well. Come back soon... Your friends at La Selva Mariposa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful oasis off the beaten track outside Tulum. Star gazing in the hot tub with a maragarita at night, and the most delicious, lovingly prepared breakfasts to wake up to. Mari and Lou are such friendly and helpful hosts, this is truly a gem not to be missed; highly recommended!!!
Sandra and Keith

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks so much for the prompt review. IT was lovely and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with future travelers to the Riviera Maya. Do come back and warm your bones and relax in our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We found La Selva Mariposa on Trip Advisor and stayed for 12 nights - long but "not the longest" time booked there to date according to Lou, one of the owners. We stayed in the smallest Casita, which is attached to Lou and Mari's amazing palapa home, and found La Selva Mariposa both a great location - not on the beach but in the jungle - and with the option to rent a car - we were able to tool around Tulum both days and evenings and explore the sites and find places to dine. Breakfast is served daily, and it's both generous and a great way to start the day - trading stories with other guest (there are 4 Casitas - little houses on the property). Both Lou and Mari are great hosts (very different styles but equally charming), and have wonderful recommendations on beach clubs, restaurants, cenotes and other sites to visit. We highly recommend this place and take note when you visit of the extraordinary effort that went into the planning and ongoing upkeep of this jungle paradise.

Room Tip: Each casita is unique and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobaltmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks so much for your review. You were in suite #1 with a very large bathroom and a good size room with a private third floor lounge. This is one of our personal favorites, so glad you enjoyed it as well. It was fun to have you here for such a long visit..never long enough, but Boston is not THAT far away. We welcome your return. Glad you mentioned the difference in the personalities of my husband and I. Since we take turns cooking breakfast with the other hosting in the dining room, you have plenty of time to get to know each of us personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Trip to Tulum Mexico 3-11-2014 to 3-18-2014

Tuesday 8-11-2014 Flew down to Cancun, had a taxi drive us down from Cancun. Got settled in to Le Selva Mariposa, met our host Mari and Louis or Mo and Lou. They loaned us a car and we got our own rental car. Steve got lost and we got separated. I went to the grocery store and it was late when I returned and Steve was quite worried about me waiting by the road. Rental Car was cheap on Expedia, but the insurance was 200 for only mandatory for collision and liability it was 400. The rental car was 78. We got a car to drive us for 115 both ways and then rented a car in Tulum for 200 including insurance.
Day 1 Wed Ziggy’s Beach, drinks at Zalum, Tulum Ruins. Ran the beach and got some great pictures at the ruins. Loved the palm trees and the bar with swings at Ziggys. The Stairway to heaven had 2 for one drinks all day and that was next door to Ziggys. They also had a band.
Fun time.
Day 2 Thur Coba Ruins Went to 1 Cenote Tamach-ha, the ones we did not see were Multun-han and Choo-ha, rode the zip line, went to Punta Laguna and saw the spider monkeys did not go into the Cenote there nor did we do the zip line. Had Lobster and Shrimp Skews with the best Civeche (seafood) in the world.
Day 3 Friday Rode Bikes to the Cenote Isla 1st on left approx 6 miles from mariposa. Came back and drove around Tulum, went to grocery store. Went to Mezzanine on the beach toward Tulum Ruins, Went to dinner at Ericas Los Pirates in Macario Gomez. We ate pizza at Los Pirates.
Day 4 Saturday Went to Valladolid Went to the Perfume factory, Tequilla factory, Chocolate factory, Went to Market, Saw San Berrnardino Convent Cathedral Church, Zaci Cenote, had a drink at Tabanar Frias near Convent. Ate dinner at LaCosana had the best Yucatan platter ever. Went to church at the convent.
Day 5 Sunday Had our mineral bath treatment and massage it was fabulous. Lily did our treatment it was $300 US for both of us. Then we went to Sac Ac Tun cenote it was $350 pesos each with a guide it was so beautiful the best cenote yet. Then we went to Erica’s Los Pirates for Lobster and Coconut shrimp. We met Sandy and John from 24 hours north of Toronto.
Day 6 Monday- Checking out of Le Selva Mariposa had a great trip planning to go to North Akumal and Puerto Aventoura. We spent the day did a lot of walking. It was very rough waters so we did not see the turtles. We met a lady from Illinois and she told us about a place called Playa pan? 30 minutes north of Tulum. We got into a huge rain storm and spent the afternoon shopping and taking the rental car back. Our driver came to meet us at 6:00 pm and we drove to Cancun and stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott near the airport.
Day 7 Tuesday- 8-18-2014 We got up at 3:00 AM to get ready for our 6:00 AM flight. Got back at 1:30 in the afternoon. We had a very fabulous time on the trip. It was so relaxing and we saw so many things. Great time.

Thank you Mari and Lou we had such a nice trip and your attention to detail is so impressive. I would highly recommend you lovely little oasis. It truly is a gem. Hope to get back for a visit very soon. We did a lot in a week, but woud love to return for longer. You are the best host and hostess we could have hoped for and loved the conversations with the other guest. Best of luck with this lovely jungle gem. Best to you both. Steve and Denise

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPagura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
You were so frustrated when you arrived due to the car rental situation, and you are not the first guests who have had problems. BUT, with that behind you, we are glad that we were able to help you find a rental car in Tulum. Also glad, you enjoyed your stay with us at La Selva Mariposa. Your energy and enthusiasm were delightful. I am pleased that you mentioned going to the Mayan Clay Mineral Bath House next door. We are so excited to have such a great attraction right next door. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My partner and I has a spectacular time. Moe and Lou have thought of EVERYTHING. We had a magical stay. The rooms, pool, hot tubs, breakfast area, everything was immaculately clean and cared for. Breakfast was fantastic, I only wish that we had been able to enjoy it every morning but we had to leave early for the airport and the ruins. I would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi, You were such adventurers and set out early one day for Chichen Itza and chose not to have breakfast with us, and the day you left for the airport it was way early. We missed your friendly faces at the breakfast table both times. We do provide coffee in the rooms or at 7, which is earlier than the first breakfast time at 8 am, in the dining room. If you request, we can offer home made muffins or fruit to take with. We loved having you stay with us and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
11.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 96 in Tulum
923 reviews
15.9 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
16.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
14.7 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
16.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 96 in Tulum
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing