We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Selva Mariposa
Nearby Hotels
Azulik(Tulum)
US$922
US$899
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$190
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$500
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$655
US$579
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Piedra Escondida(Tulum)
US$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Yum Kin(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$719
US$701
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$221
US$184
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$187
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
491
33
4
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
33
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmacario gomezjungle paradiseb bcoba ruinsopen air showercenote poolcenote stylethought of everythingevery morningother guestslocal honeyfriendly dogsprivate pooltour of the groundsgreat hostshot tubloved the outdoor shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2009

La Selva Mariposa is almost a destination on it's own. Moe and Lou were wonderful hosts. They have created a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. The rooms were individually designed and furnished with great care. We had a hammock on the front porch and a nice cooling off pool with a waterfall just to the side. At night we fell asleep to the sounds of the waterfall. The breakfasts we were served were the nicest meals we had during our vacation. Having such a relaxing place to return to each day made this vacation relaxing and rejuvinating.

For anyone concerned about safety, I can honestly say that I felt safer on my vacation to Tulum than I do in my own town in the U.S. We walked the beach at night, bicycled through the villages and walked through town at night. Don't let the news scare you. Tulum is far from the drug wars and street crime. My experience is that Tulum is very safe.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mentone63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We spent 6 great days at La Selva Mariposa in Macario Gomez, Quintana Roo, Mexico. LSM's location between the beaches of Tulum and the fascinating ruins of Coba offers a unique opportunity to stay in the jungle of the Yucatan in the care of two wonderful hosts, Moe and Lou. We have stayed in nice B & B's before, but we can say without hesitation that LSM is so stunning in its design and decor that it stands in a class all alone. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones) and the accompanying cenote-style pools employ natural features from the jungle environment and Mayan themes. Moe and Lou cook up a delicious breakfast with fresh baked pastries, egg dishes and the best of fresh fruit. They are also warm and interesting people (relocated from Colorado) who offer a wealth of knowledge about everything from the ruins and Mayan culture to the vagaries of property ownership in this part of Mexico.
To anyone concerned about traveling to Mexico during the "drug war": this part of Mexico is quiet and safe. We were comfortable and relaxed everywhere we went. Tulum is still a slow-moving place. But get there soon, because more and more people are finding out about this area and larger development is going to come. LSM would be a refuge in any case. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKENKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

This certainly has to be the most beautiful, romantic escape from the crowds along the Riviera Maya in all of Mexico! Moe and Lou have created an absolute tropical paradise here. From the charming hosts, to the delectable gourmet breakfasts and the helpful advice about where to go and what to do - this place is absolutely PERFECT! If you thrive on crowds and nightlife - skip this quiet and amazingly beautiful spot. If you abhor crowds, noise, people pushing you to buy, buy, buy - and seek quiet, romantic solitude with extremely friendly and charming hosts and guests like you - you cannot go wrong with La Selva Mariposa. Close enough to everything, yet worlds away from the annoyances of the crowded tourist traps, La Selva Mariposa is truly a GARDEN OF EDEN!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skichumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

My fiancee and I returned a few weeks ago from La Selva Mariposa. What an amazing place Moe and Lou have carved out here in the jungle near the village of Macario Gomez. Getting here is super easy, it's a straight shot to Tulum, take a right at the Coba road and 12 miles later turn into the jungle! We loved the fact that we were away from the more touristy beach scene so that we felt like we were actually in a foreign country. However, we were still only a fifteen minute drive to the Caribbean. La Selva Mariposa is also really close to the Coba ruins and more cenotes than you can count! Oh, and if you don't eat at least a couple of meals from the local "taco guy" you are missing out!!

the attention to detail and love that they put into this place is resplendent throughout the property - from the gardens to the waterfall pools to the well stocked fridge in the eating area. Moe and Lou were incredibly accomodating hosts - Lou even went so far as to drive some other guests the 2 hours back to the Tulum airport when their ride never showed. Truly great place.

On another note, I'd like to say that the Yucatan is a perfectly safe place to travel. All of the drug violence that plagues Mexico at the moment is about 1500 miles away near the US/Mexico border. Basically, not coming here for safety reasons right now is like telling someone not to go to Orlando because of the violence in Detroit!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainObvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

La Selva Mariposa is every bit as delightful and charming as described in other reviews--the rooms, decor, jungle landscaping,cenote-style pools, breakfasts are all terrific. Lou and Mari remind me of the the b&b owners whom we've encountered more in Europe than the U.S, who commit themselves to trying to make your whole time in the area enjoyable, not just the time you spend on their property. We didn't have to seek them out for advice on activities and restaurants, they took the initiative to make sure we knew what choices were out there, and that we k new how to get there! We never would have thought of going to Valladolid--they even had a little slide show of it at breakfast. And we really appreciated the help with our (amateur) birdwatching on their property (parrots!). Other guests went to Ek Balam and said it was very worthwhile, so it's on our list for next time.

Since we're from a non-beach part of the world, I don't think we'd ever want to go to the Riveriera Maya and not stay on the beach most of the time, but it was a great change of scene to stay in the jungle too, and we want to do it again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0l0traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews