We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 84 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
pa
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 25 December 2009

La Selva Mariposa was absolutely gorgeous. Nothing was overlooked in achieving such perfection. My husband and I were there at the beginning of December and can't say enough about how wonderful are accommodations and the owners are. Also, the breakfasts were delicious. We loved the dogs! My only regret was that we had to leave!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy01Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
355
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

After reading “Embarking on the Mariposa Trail” by one of the owners, Mari Pintkowski (aka Moe), we decided that we’d spend a few nights at La Selva Mariposa (LSM) in Macario Gomez during our next trip to the Mayan Riviera. We are glad we did and will be back!

We picked up a car rental in Playa del Carmen so we’d have a car. The directions from Moe and Lou (her other half) were detailed and very easy to follow. Highway was great, too. We stopped in Akumal on the way (and ran into friends!). After pulling into the gate at LSM we were greeted by the resident dogs (Molly, Zoey, and Rose) and staff (Julio) – Moe and Lou had ran to town but were back before we unpacked.

We stayed in Suite 3 (of 4) and happened to be the only guests during our stay – making us feel quite spoiled. Our room had plenty of room, an outdoor shower (what a view!), a comfy bed, a coffee maker, a small library (we loved reading “Yank in the Yucatan”), a CD player (with an eclectic mix of music) and a mini fridge stocked with cold beverages. There was a pool just steps from the door. We woke each morning to the sounds of tropical birds and the waterfall outside our room.

Our hosts were gracious – giving us a tour of the beautiful grounds and asking about our preference for breakfast the next morning (and was even happy to accommodate our EARLY request for a pot of coffee). Lou is quite the handyman. He designed and built much of this property – including the furnishings. The surrounding jungle is laced with sacbe trails and numerous waterfalls and streams that lead from the suites to the comidor (dining area), the steamroom, and the massage area. There’s even a rooftop garden where they are growing fresh vegetables and fruit to serve their guests.

Breakfasts were delicious! First, Lou brought out warm banana chocolate chip muffins. Fresh fruit, cereal, and coffee were served in El Comedor next. Then, Moe brought out what she calls “stacks”: crispy tortilla topped with eggs, cheese, bacon, avocado, fruit and ???. Another morning we had Lou’s French toast with the usual fruit, cereal, etc.

At Moe’s suggestion (and with her maps/directions and a “to go” breakfast), we drove to Valladolid for the Market on Sunday morning, and then stopped at the ruins at Coba on the way back. We are so glad we made the trip. What an experience! The market has everything from butchers to bakers, clothing, shoes, produce, flowers, and prepared food vendors. We were a little early, so missed the musicians. Coba was awesome, too. It’s an easy walk (wear sturdy shoes, not flip flops) and there are bikes you can rent. It’s not as well known as Tulum and Chichén Itzá, but it’s worth the visit. Since we don’t do heights, we chose not to climb Nohoch Mul – the highest pyramid in the Yucatan at 138 feet! But, lots of folks did. Once back home we dropped a sock in the driveway, but one of the resident dogs retrieved it for us and took it to Moe & Lou – what good doggies!

We drove to the Tulum beaches a couple of days. Ocho Tulum and El Paraiso were favorite spots. The Tulum beaches are quieter and less busy than the ones around Cancun and Playa del Carmen. You’re also just a few kilometers from the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve, UNESCO World Heritage site that is highly protected.

The last night Phyllis had a massage by candlelight, with the sounds of nearby waterfalls. What a lovely experience!

We had a wonderful time! Lou & Moe are great people. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We travelled from Denmark to Mexico in November. We had a three week trip which comprised 10 days in the Yucatan, six days in Mexico City and three days in Puerto Vallarta on the Pacific coast.
We stayed for two nights in Cancun to get over any jetlag and then we headed south by bus to Tulum. Buses are a great way to travel - Air conditioned and cheap (only 82 pesos per person for a journey of over around 130km). We then had some lunch and then afterwards our host arranged for a taxi to take us the 20km to Macario Gomez (150pesos) and of course La Selva Mariposa.
We had seen the reviews on Trip Advisor and because of this we had a good feeling for this place We were NOT let down. Everything we had read was true.
Of course this place is not for the "all inclusive, can't think for yourself crowd" but for the rest of us this is a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sage9x
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The room and the location were perfect. The room was spotless and was cleaned every day while we were in town. They even picked up and neatly stacked our scatered items! The breakfasts were excellent and well prepared. Moe and Lou are very nice and unobtrusive. We only saw them when they were either serving breakfast or we went looking for them. They were certainly available, but in a quiet and wonderful way! They were full of helpful information about the town and places to go and stay on our way to and from. They even provided us an emergency phone to get in touch with them.

I would reccomend renting a car to drive there, especially a jeep. We rented a jeep in cancun and drive up to Tulum. This hotel is not precisely in Tulum. It's about 20 kilometers outside of tulum. It would be a fairly expensive taxi ride back and forth every day if you want to go sightseeing in and around Tulum.

All in all, it was the perfect jungle paradise. The small town of Macario Gomez it's in has several tasty taquerias and a very friendly man in the cervefrio. You do need to speak spanish to navigate macario gomez, not so much in tulum. There are a lot of english speakers in Tulum and everything was just wonderful. I can't express how much I reccomend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sage9x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside,Tx
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2009

A wonderful place to visit and relax. Moe and Lou were great hosts, they were knowledgeable and helpful. They gave great tips and directions, and also made the best breakfasts ever. The rooms were beautiful and Mayan inspired. The rooms were comfy and clean. We were lulled to sleep every night by the sounds of waterfalls. The grounds were inspiring and the paths through them were filled with delightful bits of whimsy and art. We were there for seven days and wished we had longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I heard Tulum was a great vacation destination so I started looking for Bed and Breakfasts for our honeymoon and La Selva Mariposa was the highest rated of them all, and we soon found out for good reason. They were super helpful throughout the planning process. They advised us on currency, available food, entertainment, gas, driving, finding their place, etc. The place itself is incredible beautiful, peaceful, and private. Since it was our honeymoon we didn't want to be crowded with people. It was a perfect location just outside the main town but close enough that it wasn't hard to get to things at all. I would recommend renting a car if you are staying here. It made things a lot easier to get around. Directions to anything major are very simple so anyone can do it. I would highly recommend this place. The service was excellent, the area is beautiful, and the value for what you get is the best.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhackman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I discovered La Selva Mariposa on tripadvisor when I was planning our trip to Playa and Tulum in October. SO GLAD I DID! We stayed here 3 nights and wish it could have been 3 months. If you can- GO! My review will not do this unique and fantastic place justice. It is a fabulous escape that is exotic and very comfortable at the same time! It ranks up there with any place I have ever stayed. I think this place joins my all time favorites with the likes of the Silky Oaks Lodge in Australia and Matava in Fiji. Lou runs such a welcoming place. The attention to detail and comfort will make you feel at home, even in the middle of the mayan jungle. The casitas/cabanas are wonderful and the cenote pool is out of this world! We stayed in #4 which is by far the best, but any of them are wonderful. Furnished and detailed nicely. I spent hours upon hours in our own private pool. It was magic to fall asleep to the waterfall as well. The grounds are well maintained. The breakfast each morning is plenty of fresh fruit, eggs if you wish, coffee, and juice. Fresh drinking water is in your room and refilled every day. The shower has an open roof which is really cool at night. Lou will help or leave you alone as much as you wish. Full of knowledge on all the local attractions and information. Take advantage of a home cooked meal up in the treehouse at sunset. Drink a bottle of wine on your patio. Sleep. Explore cenotes and ruins. Hit the beach. La Selva Mariposa is the perfect place to enjoy all of these things. Very romantic!!

TIP: This place is not on the beach or even in the town of Tulum. It is located 20km west of Tulum on the road toward Coba, but very easy to find. I would highly suggest renting a car for many reasons (explore ruins, cenotes, beach, Sain Ka'an, etc.). There are a couple little taco/torta stands and a mini-super at the end of the street-otherwise you need to travel if you want to eat out. Part of the beauty of this place is that it is not on the beach with everyone else. It is different way to explore Tulum and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubuff1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
11.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 96 in Tulum
925 reviews
15.9 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
852 reviews
16.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
14.7 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
16.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing