We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth !”
Review of Uno Astro Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uno Astro Lodge
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on earth !”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Uno Astro Lodge is paradise on earth.
OK, if you are looking for swimming pools, loud music, fashion clothing and cocktails, you should look somewhere else.
Uno is a small oasis that seems protected with a beautiful bubble of light and energy.
The accomodations are cute little cabanas near the beach, all clean and comfortable. You can shower privately but still be under the stars.
The breakfast is the most exquisite I have ever had. Home made bread, jam, fresh salad with nuts, everything done with soul and love, and served with grace and a smile.
Uno’s kitchen now also serves fresh and healthy vegetarian food every day until 4 PM.
You’ll probably hear harp meditations, kirtans, dances. That’s because a lot of artists and inspired people live there or drop by. Mayan astrology teachings, open meditations as well as circus lessons for kids … magic will happen while you are there! Uno’s is out of this world!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    23
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
32
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

All inclusive travel packages, resorts that were planned out too carefully, any basically anything that feels canned and predictable is not for me. Enter UNO.

The cabanas each have their own personality, and if you are on the even lower budget, their are gomes. Every corner of this place is beaming with life, as if it has a destiny of its own and knows it (it does). The staff is equally as beaming. I really just cant say enough.

We walked up and down both the beach and the main road, I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: There is no "fitness center", there is a veletropa and a beach. This is pretty much DIY r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okpdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have been to Uno three times and stayed in four of the five Cabbanas Elektra, Maia, Gaia and Supernova. Each of them has their own unique charm. Elektra is nice if you are travelling with friends/family as it is the biggest, with a lovely living space and an small upper level with additional bed. The view from both levels is just spectacular, the ocean. Maia is also right on the ocean while smaller, comes with its own deck and hammock, as does the more enclosed gaia. I enjoyed these two rooms the most, gaia would have to be my favourite. Supernova, again smaller, has a raised level with additional bed like elektra - its quite nice to sleep up here too as you get a lovely breeze. The rooms are all fantastic.

There is an amazing aura about tulum and particularly Uno. I truely feel at ease, I fall into the best state of calm. It is truely one of the most beautiful places to escape to - I remember thinking on my first trip 'I cant believe places like this actually exist'. Be sure to step out at night, more often than not the sky is clear and you will never see more stars in the sky. Words cannot explain.

Very friendly and welcoming staff and wonderful food, particularly the breakfast.

There is a restaurant with deck out on the beach - the food and atmosphere are amazing. This place is a 100% must for dinner and a lovely walk along the beach from Uno.

It might make sense to share that since this is an eco resort almost and you arent going to the hilton. This 'hotel' offers a way to get away from everything commercial and to enjoy all things natural. That doesnt mean to say the rooms are not equipped with everything you need, but for example, candles are used for lighting and the toilet is an eco toilet with no flush - but all very sanitary (this was the one thing however, my girlfriend - and others, have not particularly loved). One more thing, maybe take some soft sheets - as much as i love the beds, the sheets are a little rough. My girlfriend took sheets the second time I took her and it made a much better nights sleep.

Room Tip: 2 hours drive from Cancun, one straight road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

we stayed at uno over the new year and had the time of our lives. the community welcomed us immediately, the outdoor showers were wonderful, and the yummy veggie meals perfectly complimented the paradise of our surroundings. uno is magical. utterly peaceful, amazingly friendly people, wonderful beach, and even wi-fi ready. i loved it.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the tower has an incredible view, especially at sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Uno Astrolodge is one of those hidden secrets that you can search your whole life for. If it were up to me, I'd keep it hidden :)

Everything about Uno is intentional - around every corner there's something special imagined. Each palapa has its own unique charm - I could never choose my favorite. And it's totally ecologically conscious - a rarity. The place is imbued with a spiritual energy gathered from cultures around the world. Where else can you wake up to a harp meditation? Or attend a class in Mayan astrology?

Uno may not be for everyone - if you need a full service resort with full internet access 24/7 and electricity all day and night, I'd go elsewhere. If you want to party Pina Colada in hand, this is not your place.

But if you're looking for something real and true and beautiful and transcendent, Uno is your home.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessawithoutborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I didn't actually stay here, I stayed at My Tulum which is just down the beach from Uno. But I ended up at Uno everyday for something... either sunrise meditation, or Kirtans, or just hanging out-- it is just the most amazing place! The grounds, the people, the classes... FANTASTIC. There's always something fun going on here. People having a full moon celebration, hippies singing happy songs, Argentinian girls performing aerial dance in the palapa, ridiculously fit men walking on tight ropes, someone offering you freshly baked vegan cookies. Seriously, I would laugh at this stuff in New York, but somehow at Uno they pull it off. It's all so genuine. Really not to be missed. Stay here, or participate in the vast array of classes, or eat yummy vegetarian food at the restaurant... just make sure you experience SOMETHING here while you're in Tulum. It's really special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastenYerSeatbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at Uno. The weather was amazing, the cabana we stayed in (sitar) was beautiful and perfect for the two of us. The lack of electricity (which we knew about in advance, so weren't surprised by like other reviewers) meant that we went to sleep not long after sunset and woke up at sunrise every day, which I loved, although it meant that we were starving by the time they started serving breakfast at 8am. The composting toilet didn't smell at all until the end of the week, and the shower, while it usually didn't have any hot water, was very refreshing. I loved the clothing-optional beach, and got used to the naked men doing yoga after a day or two. The drumming got a little tiresome, and sometimes went later into the night than I would have liked, but that's the only complaint I can think of. Overall it was amazing, and perfect for the romantic lazy vacation I wanted.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerkyrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#60 of 95 in Tulum
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.9 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#37 of 95 in Tulum
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Las Estrellas
Villa Las Estrellas
#52 of 95 in Tulum
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uno Astro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uno Astro Lodge

Property: Uno Astro Lodge
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila | Lote 8 km 8 Tulum, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#22 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uno astrolodge is located on the very centre of the largest beach in Tulum, the Punta Piedra-Arco section, and the Huts are layed right over the dune a few meters away from the water. The Pescatarian-Vegetarian Restaurant serves delicious breakfasts with home made bread made in a clay oven, with organic coffee and freshly squeezed juices. Lunch offers daily menus for 28 days. The healing station Green Tara offers a wide variety of local massage treatments as well as Astrological, and Psychic-Intuitive Healings. The Yoga Hall is full scheduled with a wide range of activities that covers from Sitting Meditation, Kirtans, Yoga, Acro-Yoga, Mayan Astrology, Aerial Dance, Art for Children, etc.The great majority of activities are free, or donation.An Art-Healing Communiity(Galactic Peace garden) also shares the Uno space making the stay in this place more like an experience for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uno Astro Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing