We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in town or stay on the beach?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, California
1 review
“Stay in town or stay on the beach?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stay in town or stay on the beach? I say: both but definitely stay at Teetotum! A girlfriend and I recently stayed a week in Tulum and divided our time about 50/50 with a cabana on the beach and a room at the Teetotum. I have to say that the beach has it's charm (hammock on the sand), but for my money, next time I go back, I'm gonna definitely stay at Teetotum. First of all, the beach is a 15-20 minute bike ride from the Teetotum (free bikes to borrow), so check. But Richard and his staff, the hip vibe, interesting conversations, delicious food, nice cocktails, adorable cats and dog, and air conditioning, make this place feel like a home away from home. Richard (NY transplant) is so fun to talk to- he has a really honest demeanor and account of what is Tulum and many interesting stories to share. His dog Dali is the cutest. One of my best meals in Tulum was the Grouper and 4 stacked veggie salad at Teetotum. Not to mention delicious, authentic, cheap taquerias are but a short bike ride away in town. Also, there's a huge supermarket across the street from Teetotum, for those of us who like to save a peso and buy food supplies for lunch, etc. Plus, staying at Teetotum, it was a bit easier to motivate to venture out to nearby ruins, cenotes, and villages for day trips, as opposed to getting sucked into the lazy beach vortex (although, I agree, there is a time for that, too).
i <3 teetotum!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
hola sarah,
nice to hear from you and thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review AND for bringing up such a topical point. in tulum, clearly, there are compelling reasons to stay on the beach and there are those for staying in town.
we dig your thought, either stay here at teetotum or at least half the visit here and half on the beach as these 2 fat cats and hungry dog are getting expensive to feed! haha.
seriously, come enjoy tulum as it has lots to offer and at times it does easier to motivate oneself in town as opposed to the lovely lethargy that may set in on the beach.
in any event, sarah, thank you again and we certainly hope to see you again in the not too distant future in safe and sunny tulum
best,
richard, dali an dour staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    45
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
192
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here in September 2012 for our honeymoon and it was just amazing. I've been meaning to write this review for quite some time so here it goes.
Richard is crazy nice and very helpful, really went the extra mile for us. We had some good chats and Dali, the dog, is a real cutie. The staff is cool and have loads if tips of places to explore. It's like a big family without being intruding.
Food is excellent, one of the best in whole of Tulum actually. This makes it easy to stay in for some nights without feeling that you're missing out.
On top of this it's a great location, close to both the beach and town. The free bikes makes it easy to get around.

A definite recommendation if you're planning a trip here. Miss it so much


/Emil & Kristin

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
hola guys!,
thank you so kindly for your kind appraisal of our humble hotel. we really enjoy hosting honeymooners as they are on cloud 9 and everything is always perfect for them (even when its not!. only half kidding!) we are super pleased to hear that you both enjoyed our hotel and we all, even dali hope to see you again in safe and sunny tulum. maybe for your anniversary? the chefs were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant's fare.
thank you again.
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for a very long time. My wife and I went to Tulum in the spring of 2011 for our honeymoon. We loved staying at Teetotum. The staff was so friendly and gave us plenty of advice on things to do and see in the area. We enjoyed the fact that we were close to the town but could also get to the beach easily. Our room was clean, comfortable and the water for the shower was never cold! There are only four rooms here so it was quiet and very peaceful, we had the whole place to ourselves for most of our stay. We found ourselves hanging out at the hotel more then we planned just because we enjoyed the atmosphere, food and company at Teetotum so much. Thank you Richard and staff!! We will definitely be back, can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
sean and steph hello!
thank you for your kind review of our hotel. it was a pleasure to have met you and especially cool to have been in the bar when you casually discovered your old grade school chum drinking beside you in the bar. since we have become Facebook friends it gives us great pleasure to see all the cool stuff you do with harleys and your killer chevy wagon.
so have your baby, get back into the swing of things and pay us another visit
we have just purchased an ewer, more fancy espresso machine, so you wife has a job teaching us all her tricks when you guys return!
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast, US
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Teetotum was an inviting, relaxed place that had a lot of heart! (Something that we didn't get in other locations.) We loved the staff who where so helpful, kind and gracious w our lack of spanish. The food was amazing. Really the best food we had while in Mexico. We lived on Banana french toast and delicious greek salads and homemade bread! The rooms where just as nice as they looked online and Richard was nice enough to bring a small bed even for my son. They offered us lots of friendly advice when we needed it too. We played chess and made some art in the lovely cafe and courtyard and even had a chance to catch up online. I really appreciated the overall vibe of Teetotum. It was an oasis!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortheloveofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
hola friend,
thank you so much for your kind review. we don't often have the opportunity to have young people stay with us and your son was a stone groove. we really appreciated that he enjoyed dali, our pooch and the fat cats, too.
so when you have time, please return to magical tulum and visit with us again as we love returning guests- it's like having a friend come visit.
stay well and we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Staff was very nice! Ana was a doll, and Dali was so sweet! Nice spacious rooms, rooftop lounge, great food and drinks at the hotel (American prices), and a hammock and other comfy seats throughout the hotel. It's all open, you can always feel a breeze from outside! Loved that. They have bikes too, so you can totally ride to town. We actually rode a few miles to a cenote :)

The only negative thing was that on our 2nd night (we stayed 3 nights), the electricity went out due to strong winds (it was August). Without electricity it is HOT, even at 12 am. There was not any staff on grounds to contact and let them know this had happened... not one person! We didn't get electricity back til about 10 or 11 the next morning. The owner did not try to compensate us, or didn't really seem to be apologetic. But he is a super sweet man, and I know I am a very sensitive person! Overall I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaA324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
hola amigos,
thank you for your positive review of our humble hotel. we really appreciate it when our guests take the time to review us, especially when its so kind.
may we take the time to apologize about the loss of power for one of the nights you were staying with us. one of the benefits, usually, of being so near town is that we are on the "grid" and our electricity is provided (expensively, but provided, nevertheless) by the municipality. however, that being said, at times, particularly in the deepest part of the summer, brown outs can occur and all we can do is wait it out and hope that the service returns quickly. please forgive for not explaining that to you in a more satisfying manner.
hopefully you will return to magical tulum and stay with us again. we hope so!
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Such a great place, so beautiful and peaceful, big clean rooms with a good internet connection, wanted to stay longer... the food was delicious and a perfect location. Staff super helpful, Richard, you are the best, thank you for all!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank analuisaarciniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
hola amiga!
gracias for your positive review of our hotel. it is a great pleasure for us when we meet people from all over the globe who come to discover magical tulum, pay us a visit and then leave as newly made friends. we are very appreciative of your stating how much you enjoyed what we try to do for our guests- the beauty of our place is the people like you who come to share some time with us!
come back soon.
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Richard was very helpful and responsive with emails. After our arrival, he accommodated our requests very well: moved the beds to a second-floor room, and lowered the bike seats for us. He provided free bottled water to guests in the fridge. I like the room decor, and his friendly dog Dalia (right?). Location was not in walking distance to beach, but in biking distance. Also, it is close to Tulum downtown, and you may bike to the Tulum ruins if you like. I just wish the shower water could be stronger. Sometimes I still hear animals later at night, but this is not a big problem for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
hola friend,
thank you for choosing to bring your family, stay with us and take the time to write a nice review. it is our pleasure to accommodate the needs of our guests and you guys were a particular treat for us. and thanks for sharing your visits to the various activities and ruins with us prior to your return to the states
we hope to see you and even more of your family again. don't let the cold in ithaca get you down- just get on a plane and visit us again.
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel
4.7 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.4 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#16 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Property: Teetotum Hotel
Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing