We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Teetotum Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$398
US$340
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
US$864
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$178
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$559
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$410
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel MangleX(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$209
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Luna del Sur(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$380
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
323
48
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
48
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikeslaid backclose to townplunge poolperfect locationrooftop deckbike ridecontinental breakfast isrelaxed vibegreat musiclovely little hotelquintana roofresh squeezed ojrooms are spacioushome away from homecome hometacos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights on my own, all the staff made me feel very welcome.

The rooms are large, and very nicely laid out, with fans and air-con.

It's got a very laid back vibe, with locals passing by for a drink.

It's approximately a 10 min cycle to the beach.

Overall, a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

hola!
thank you for your considerate review of our hotel. it reads really nicely and we are super pleased you enjoyed yourself here in tulum. we're pleased you felt comfortable with the staff as its particularly important when a guest is traveling solo; it can make all the difference in one's trip.
so escape cold england, come back soon to safe and sunny tulum.
thank you again,
richard, dali and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This review is long overdue (sorry Richard!!!). My friend and I were in Tulum in early February and stayed at Teetotum. Our room was super comfortable and charming. Room was also very clean. The food was great and the staff were really nice. All around relaxed vibe. The hotel was located in between the beach and town (perfect!). We could ride the bikes provided by the hotel to the beach or walk to dinner in town.

Richard went above and beyond to be an amazing host (food recommendations, good conversation, etc.). He really made our trip to be honest.

Excited to come back again- Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenCampbellNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

hola jen!
hope you are well! dali, the staff and i all miss you lots. we all feel pretty confident that we will see you again as we felt you really appreciated tulum and all it's magic! so please escape the rat race and come decompress in the pool, use our bikes again for rides to the beach and hang out again with us at teetotum,.
thank you for your considerate review and again, we hope to enjoy your next visit to safe and sunny tulum SOON!
best always,
richard, dali and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights at Teetotum. Richard and his staff were great hosts, helpful with reliable information about local beaches and restaurants. The room and patio were comfortable to hang out in, a truly relaxing experience. They even brought a little bed for our daughter. Can't wait for a return visit!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank MMRPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

hey you guys!
thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. we really appreciate it. it was wonderful hosting your vacation to tulum and catching up on the doings in philadelphia. with teacher's such as yourselves, our future is in good hands! so come visit again and we promise, less geckos in the room!
we hope to see you again soon in safe and sunny tulum.
sincerely,
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are looking for a way to fall into (and in love with) the Tulum vibe quickly - Teetotum is where you need to be. We stayed there for about a week in late May - and what an awesome stay we had.

The hotel has only 4 rooms, and the competent and incredibly warm and friendly staff makes you feel welcome and cared for. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, beautifully designed (expect trendy minimalism, not opulence) and have everything you need for a great Tulum experience (including A/C which, if you are going during the summer, is a huge benefit).

There is a wonderful atmosphere around the restaurant and bar of Teetotum, and the guests are an eclectic mix of travellers and long-time Tulum'ers - all of whom have interesting stories to share. Yet the space is open enough that if all you want is just to relax with a quiet drink after an exhausting beach day, you will be perfectly fine doing so.

Richard, the owner, is super nice, and will make sure you have everything you need. He is also an inexhaustible source of knowledge about Tulum and the area.

We (and our dog) had an amazing time at Teetotum!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jes-KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

hola amigos!
hey, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. we are always pleased when our guests blend in with the locals who visit the restaurant and bar. it makes for a cool vibe when the entire operation is working on all levels. so it's cool to see when our hotel guests notice the locals and exchange ideas, plans, info etc.
so come back again and maybe our minimal style will have morphed into opulence and trump like attention to detail!
thank you again and when you are back from the middle east and considering another mexican jaunt, please consider us. we'd love to see you both and the pooch!
best,
richard, dali and teetotum staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

If you want to pay through the roof for one of the new high end boutiques on the beach - fine. But true Tulum sits in the Teetotum experience. While not a 5 star hotel it is a 5 star experience. The food is superb, the rooms are nice but most of all the ethos is supreme. You will feel relaxed and chilled out in minutes.

Sure they may not be on the beach, but you are a 5 min bike ride to the best beaches in all of Tulum. If you want a resort experience - fine. But then go to Cancun or Playa. Tulum is about finding hidden beaches, exploring ruins, diving in cenotes and more than anything hanging like you are in the middle of the movie "The Beach."

This was the second time at Teetotum for my now fiance and I :). and I will tell you, it keeps getting better.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

hey guys!
thank you for your 5 star review! we really had an easy time with you guys since you just became engaged and LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL. it is always a pleasure to host returning guests and we hope you both will make it yearly routine.
congrats on your upcoming nuptials. we love you!
richard, dali and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews