We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sweet spot of Tulum!”
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #28 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Sitting sweetly on the road to the beach, behind murals of pop-art and retro-chic design, is the quintessential Tulum experience. Teetotum is owned by a worldly, salt of the Earth kind of guy named Richard, who keeps the place humming with the help of a few extremely lovely locals, two cats and one dog, that all compliment your stay nicely. I visit Tulum at least once a year and make a point to stay at Teetotum for one or two days before I go to the beach. The generous hospitality, great food and coffee and proximity to town make for the most honest experience you can have of Tulum, it's culture and the people. Many locals favor the casual, hip feel of Teetotum's common/dining room. Asking about the local flavor from the people that know it best is your
key to enjoying this beautiful part of the Riviera Maya. Should your visit to Teetotum include an overnight stay, the rooms are clean, chilled and fortified with an iPod charger. Long story longer, Teetotum is rad! It's in the know, delicious and so kind. If you want a nice room in Tulum for one night or ten without paying beach front prices, stay here! You will have found the best part of this delightful town without having to spend your paycheck on a beachfront room with less personality and much less heart. At Teetotum, they say 'on the road to the beach, we love you'. Well, Teetotum, on the road to the
beach, I love you back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank congrejito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

you are sweet to mention us so positively. we have enjoyed your visits in the past and hope to see you soon during your next visit to safe and sunny tulum.
get outta colorado y visit our little town again!
thank you
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Teetotum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

My hubby and I stayed in one of the four rooms of the courtyard. It was very clean, nicely decorated and the staff was sweet and very helpful. The food at the hotel restaurant is fantastic and less expensive than the restaurants on the beach. It was my favorite place for brunch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

hey guys!,
thank you for you positive review, we really appreciate it. taking time from your new york schedules is a hassle, so thanks! please come visit again- you guys are exactly who we had in mind when we conceived of our humble hotel. hurry back! our brunch awaits!
thank you again and we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
sincerely,
richard and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We normally stay in town when we visit Tulum. This time we divided our time between the beach and the town of Tulum. This hotel was a great fit for us. The vibe was laid back, and the staff was friendly. The owner Richard was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place in town that has wi-fi and air conditioning - which was very important to us. Oh the bikes are free to use, which was great.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, which worked out great because we had a balcony. Great for morning coffee.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

hola friends,
thank you for your stellar review, we really appreciate it! it was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope you return to our humble hotel often. we know you really like tulum, and it's not a long flight from fla. so come often and stay with us! we will make sure you get a 2nd floor room!
hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
best,
richard, dali + staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My girlfriend I spent a few days here this past labor day and couldn't have been happier with our experience. Richard and the staff were super friendly and went above and beyond (even helping out after a cabby decided to back into our rental car) to make sure we had a great trip. Everyone, from Richard to the kids, are just seem to be dedicated to providing the best service to guests, locals or whoever else just wanders in. Richard gave us great suggestions about what to do and when do them. He really helped make our trip a memorable experience.

The hotel itself has a cool vibe that lends itself to just hanging out, relaxing and having some drinks. The rooms were always clean, the beds were comfortable and the food was pretty good.

I can't say enough good this about this little hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

hey guys,
thank you so much for your kind review. hopefully, all worked out with the car rental and the ensuing issues. also hoped that you both accomplished everything you set out to do.
and hopefully your possible hangover is gone- mine just barely! haha
thank you for your visit- you guys are the reason we are here, so come back!!
best,
richard and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here two years ago and we still talk about going back. We loved the hotel - the owner is friendly, accommodating, helpful, and keen to offer insights about the local area and places to visit. Although we had rented a car, we enjoyed using the bikes provided by the hotel to ride 10 minutes to the beach and environs. Breakfast was simple but fresh and just right. The restaurant, like the rest of the hotel, was small, quaint and charming. I particularly enjoyed the fact that many locals or expats seemed to show up for their morning coffee and a friendly chat during the breakfast hours. This is definitely the place to go if you're heading to the Mayan Riviera and you want a more quaint, intimate, personalised experience than what the mega tourist ghettos (all-inclusive resorts) can offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asandau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

hey there!,
thank you for finding the time to write such an enthusiastic review. it definite helps drive our business. we are pleased that the many locals who stop by our restaurant in the morning brought you pleasure- we think its a cool way to learn the "lay of the land", sharing coffee, food and time with one another. its definitely NOT a all inclusive resort here at teetotum, unless you consider the all- inclusiveness to be friendly people, chilled out guest sharing life experiences in the riviera mays.
vancouver is definitely on my bucket list for this year, so watch out!.
thank you again and we hope to see your return soon
sincerely,
richard, dali and teetotum staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Teetotum Hotel is wonderful, and in my opinion it's of the best lodging choices in Tulum. As others have noted in their reviews, Richard (the owner) is warm, attentive and has great recommendations for places to visit and eat. We didn't have any problems with our room but I've no doubt that if we had, he would have taken care of them right away. The staff are friendly, the restaurant, rooftop bar and plunge pool area provide plenty of places to relax and chill out with a drink or a snack, and as a bonus, there are excellent tunes playing at any given moment. The rooms are actually pretty large, with nice chilly A/C for nighttime (if you need it, which you might not on certain nights). They have everything you need: plenty of towels, toiletries, bottled water to brush your teeth, an iPod dock, a small safe, and WiFi. The bed is comfortable, although the pillows are a little on the squishy side for my tastes. Rooms are set back from the rest of the property so everything's quiet and private.

The location is what clinches the deal for Teetotum - it's on the road to the beach, but not quite in the center of town - the best of both worlds. The hotels on the beach don't have A/C or 24-hour electricity, plus everything feels so crowded out there. The hotels in town are cheaper but sketchier. If you need to get around, you can ride one of the hotel's bikes to the beach (we also borrowed snorkeling gear - for free! - a nice bonus), or just drive places if you rent a car like we did (recommended).

We were there in way low season (end of August) so Teetotum often felt like our own little place, but I imagine in high season you'll get the chance to meet other guests and people hanging out at the bar/restaurant, which would be fun. We did eat at the restaurant a few times and the food was great, plus had a drink there many evenings before dinner. They were nice enough to charge everything to our room so that we just had to settle up at the end. We also got a massage from a local massage therapist that Richard knows, and she set up her table in our room - convenient! (And, for the record, an excellent massage.)

Overall, Teetotum is just a relaxed, chill hotel, with excellent amenities and service. We loved it and will definitely return next time we're in Tulum.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dredgereport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

hey guys,
thank you for your kind words. we think of portland as one of the cooler spots in the usa (love stump town coffee!) so when our guests from there dig our place, its super rewarding for us. we're glad you took advantage of the FREE bikes and snorkels! so come back, hang out, enjoy the restaurant and bring some stump town!!
thank you again and we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
sincerely,
richard, dali + teetotum staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

On the drive south from Cancun, you'll pass a lot of huge resorts. You know the type... big and luxurious and just right to be able to cancel out the fact that you're in Mexico. Not for us.

Teetotum Hotel is just on the outskirts of Tulum and very close to the beach and the ruins. The rooms are ample and the AC is your friend. Richard and his staff are attentive and friendly. The hotel is a really cool place to just chill out and unwind, which is precisely what we were looking for. We always saw vacationers and also expats and locals hanging out, enjoying drinks, food and the complimentary wi-fi. It's one of the best places to eat in town; I just ate breakfast a little while ago but thinking about their stuffed french toast just made my stomach rumble a little.

We stayed for four nights just a few days ago and we already miss the place. Seriously... when's the last time you hugged the proprietor when you checked out of their hotel?

Highly recommended. We plan on coming back to Tulum and we will stay at Teetotum again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

hey you guys,
thank you for the shout out! really glad you choose to spend a few days with us at our humble hotelito. its always cool for us to meet people who share our sensibilities regarding hospitality, service and design. hope to visit vancouver this next year and hope to share some french toast north side with you.
come back and visit please!
best,
richard, dali and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#36 of 98 in Tulum
192 reviews
4.8 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 98 in Tulum
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing