We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay”
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Ledyard, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrific stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just back from a fantastic trip to Tulum -- Teetotum was everything prior posters state and more. Hip modern decor, friendly and helpful staff, relaxing courtyard and roofdeck, clean rooms, hot water and AC when you need it and large screen windows and ceiling fan for when it's cool enough that you don't...

I hadn't realized before coming to Tulum that NONE of the beach hotels have power/electricity except what they can generate from wind and solar. Perhaps some folks would prefer that rusticity, but personally, at the end of a long day at the beach, I LOVED having light to read by, a cold drink, and reliable wifi. Did NOT miss TV at all.

Rooms have a small fridge and 2 small bottles H20 daily. Chedraui store, like a Mexican Wal-Mart, has toiletries/clothing/groceries/alcohol/bank machines, is just down the road. Abundant clean towels including beach towels to use.

We had a car which was a necessity for seeing Coba ruins and going to the beach each day (we did bike it on one cooler day but it's about 20-30min).

Food was great -- there's a TON of restaurants to try but the hotel does a great job with a menu which has a multicultural feel and fresh daily specials. Continental breakfast was included, although we missed it two mornings because we were up and out of there early. If I had to mention one quibble about Teetotum it would be that breakfast didn't really start at 8am as advertised...closer to 9-9:30 in actuality. Mostly was an issue due to craving coffee first thing.

I can't wait to go back to Tulum, and after whole week of scoping out the beach, I don't think I'd want to stay anywhere else.

Thank you, Richard, for all the helpful tips and great stories!!! Give Dali a pet for me!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are at the back of the courtyard, so there's only a bit of street noise from cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
hello!
thank you for your inspiring review and especially about our 8 am opening.
i shared your review with the morning staff and hope it puts some fire under their bottoms
we dig our staff, they are like family to us, a few of them have been with us for years and years, but like family sometimes you just wanna scream!!thank you again
nos vemos
richard, dali, and teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    47
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
200
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It's Very chilled-out at this funky four room Eco-Friendly Hotel. Located just off the busy main drag (10 min walk), and a 20 min bike ride to the beach. Having a car here was a real plus, as it was a 10 minute drive to the Tulum ruins and beach, and a 40 minute drive to the Ruins of Coba, in Quintana Roo. THe rooms are large, with comfortable bed, and large showwer. The reasturant is very good here, and probably the best in town. We did go out one evening, and the meal was just ok in comparision. We also liked sitting at the bar, (2 for 1 happy hour 5-7), and hanging with the local people, (Michelle and her sweet pup!) sipping good tequilla and drinks. It was endless entertainment for us watching Richards dog and the pup chewing on each other for hours on end. I would diffently return.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have better light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjriccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
hey hello!
thank you for your review.
it was lovely getting to know you and the staff was really happy to hear that you enjoyed their kitchen offerings.
i showed your review to michelle and she was pleased you enjoyed her pup.
sooo, come back and visit- by the way low season, costs less and is lots of fun!!
nest,
richard, dali and the teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The best place for visiting both town and beach. Always friendly service, great food and drinks, and complimentary wifi. Richard, Dali and staff will make sure you have a wonderful time. We know exactly where we'll stay when we return: Teetotum!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
hey guys, thanks so much for your brief and 5 star review.
just like new yorkers- hit it on its head, get in, get out.
we miss you
come visit again soon please!best,
richard, dali and teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We <3 Teetotum :). Richard and the crew were fantastic, and the food was delicious (our favorite meals in Tulum). Teetotum is not on the beach, and not in town - it's just between - so if you are looking to easily experience everything that is Tulum, you'd be in the right spot with Teetotum. We prefer boutique hotels - more intimate, simple and sexy. Teetotum delivers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
hey you guys!
thank you for the stellar review!
we really dug having you stay with us and sharing philadelphia stories with us.
your kindness is a boon to our egos and we really appreciate you taking the time to point out those aspects of your experience you so enjoyed.
hope to see you saga in in safe and sunny tulum.
best,
richard, dali and the teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great place - pretty basic but good sized bed and room (we had 3 of us in a double with one extra bed - and there was plenty of space).

I agree with other reviews here that this isn't really a "boutique" hotel but it's quite funky - and has everything you really need. It's quite far from the beach, which wasn't a problem for us as we had rented a car. I would not plan to stay here without a car -- it would take you at least 45 mins to walk to the beach and 20 mins to cycle - and there is nothing on the way so it's not a great walk or an interesting cycle. But - it's so much less touristy and crowded than the beachy places in Tulum and that's why I liked it. The food was also excellent and I loved everyone who worked here and the place really grew on me.

The only bad thing I would flag is that this hotel is right on a main road and so it's quite noisy - even in our room which was set back from the road on the other side of the courtyard - I could still hear trucks going by. It wasn't so bad that I could not sleep but light sleepers would need earplugs.

Tulum is actually a lot more built up than you think - but the beach IS very nice. Ask the guys at the hotel how to find the *public entrance*.

We stayed here for a week and worked online using the WiFi most days - which was pretty good.

Make sure you have the Huevos Rancheros! And ask Richard about getting a massage in your room. One of the best I've had :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
hola amiga!
thank you for your kind review
we enjoyed having you here for a week, tho you were work so hard, we felt like lazybones!
having international visitors is always a bonus for us as we learn the various customs and expectations so we can better satisfy your needs.
hope to see you again best,
richard, dali and teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Accommodations were stellar- comfy pristinely clean, modern. Friendly conversation when u want quiet time in a hammock or on rooftop beds chill music and great location perfect for beach or town. My son and I loved this place, has an amazing vibe, if you want to go to downtown get a bike that is given for free at the hotel, would take you 5 minutes or 5 to the beach to. Love this place, service is great, room service is awesome and delicious. Great choice if you want to experience the best of Tulum.

Room Tip: any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analuisaarciniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
ana,
guests like you and your son make our jobs a total pleasure. you guys seem to appreciate everything we do, which makes doing it so easy. we love hosting your various trips to tulum and our entire staff misses you both and we discuss you both often.
so please come back soon and see the changes we have made.
thank you for your kind words and of course we welcome your return pronto!
best,
richard and the entire teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Teetotum is a fun bed and breakfast/hotel/restaurant/bar situated on the road from Tulum to the beach.

The rooms are large, comfortable and clean and the hotel itself is spread out and has a very relaxed vibe. The attached bar and restaurant are also excellent quality and value.

The real gem is the owner Richard who is welcoming, fun and makes every visitor to the hotel or bar feel welcome. Would definitely return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
hola amigos,
thank you for your visit from far away australia!
we are really appreciative of all our guests who come from all over and take the time to write us up so nicely.
so please next visit to tulum, let us know and we'll do even better!
thank you again
richard and teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
843 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 95 in Tulum
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#47 of 95 in Tulum
347 reviews
4.8 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Property: Teetotum Hotel
Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing