We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere, great food and friendly people”
Review of Teetotum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Teetotum Hotel
Ranked #28 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Immediately upon arrival at Teetotum you will be struck by the friendly and welcoming nature of the hotel. Richard, his staff and friends (many hang out in the hotel's relaxed bar) are knowledgable, honest and enthusiastic guides to Tulum. Moreover, one of the great pleasure of Teetotum was simply speaking to whoever happened to be in the bar area, as the hotel guests and people just stopping by for a drink were all keen to chat and get to know one another. In this sense, we felt at home within minutes.

The hotel's breakfast offering was excellent, be it the provided fruits and bread or the larger cooked items. In addition to this, the kitchen's lunch and dinner offerings were equally good and featured interesting daily specials. All of this was matched by the cocktails and smoothies on offer.

Finally, the location of Teetotum is ideal, since it is exactly between the town and the beach. Free bikes provided easy access to the beach, whilst still being within walking distance of the restaurants in town (all of the staff can provide numerous suggestions for where to eat).

After spending two weeks travelling around much of the Yucatan peninsula, Teetotum was easily the place we were saddest to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hola friends,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It's wonderful to see family units in today's crazy upside down world, working as beautifully as yours!
It has been a sheer joy sharing time with you all and obviously we hope to see you again in our humble hotel in safe and sunny tulumRichard, Dali and teetotum staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I just adore this place, can´t believe that I just love this place so much that I want to come back as soon as I have time to scape out of the city, the people, the beach, the service is great, has such a nice environment and so beautiful the place with very spacious rooms and the fridge is very handy to fill it with tons of coronas :), rooms are very nice and clean and the terrace and pool it is so lovely.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank analuisaarciniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

hey you both!
thank you for your kind review. you both have become our favorite clients and it has become so easy for us to perform our work because you both are so appreciative and generous of your spirit.
we talk of you both fondly often so please come back soon.
we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
we promise to have netflix for the iPad for some afternoon movies after your daily visit to the sunny beach
thank you again for your generous review
best
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We really could not have had a better trip to Tulum! A HUGE part of our great trip was our stay at Hotel Teetotum. It was so relaxing, comfortable, clean, accommodating, and conveniently located.

The hotel has four rooms, and the staff is so friendly and personable it was like having a family in Mexico for a week. We really can't say enough about the staff. Luza, Sandro, Ruben, Cesar, and Janet were beyond friendly and accommodating --and served delicious food and drink too! The continental breakfast in the am always got the day started on the right note.

And the owner, Richard, went above and beyond for us. On our first evening in Tulum, my boyfriend proposed! Prior to our trip, my fiance arranged with Richard to have one of the staff, Janet, wait for us on the beach with a big, beautiful, handmade sign to surprise me with the proposal! I mean, how do you beat that!?

On top of all that, we also loved the cruiser bikes that were available at the hotel that took us everywhere. The hotel is really centrally located, so we rode the bikes down to the beach, to the Tulum ruins, to the Grand Cenote, and around town. The town is very bike friendly. So fun!

For food outside of the hotel, we also LOVED taqueria honoraria, just a few blocks away. Best tacos of my life!

Thank you so much to Richard and everyone at Teetotum for making our trip unforgettable! Hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: They are all similar, and all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

hey guys!
hope all goes well and you are enjoying your engagement!!
we really enjoyed keeping the surprise hidden and working along with you both to make your engagement so special. it was super fun for all of us to be involved and to see the happiness you both shared!!
so come back soon, maybe a 1st anniversary?
thank you again for your kind review
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is exellent the owner Richard and the staff are really friendly and make you feel as though you are at home. As well as its practical advantages such as being walking distance from the centre and only a short bike ride to the beaches it is also a great place to relax and enjoy the laid back atmosphere and some excellent food and cocktails.

Me and my daughter really enjoyed our stay and will be staying here next time we visit Tulum. I highly reccomend this place to anyone visiting Tulum!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

hello!
thank you for your kind review!!
we hope to see you and your daughter back in tulum as you promised!!
we really enjoyed your stay and our chats were super inspiring.
best always
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

2nd time staying here and can't wait to go back. As so many others have said, the location is really perfect for exploring both the beach and pueblo easily, it's clean, friendly, and Richard gives great advice. We found the food and atmosphere of restaurants in the pueblo to be more interesting and also less expensive than what you will find on the beach, so we naturally fell into a daily routine of biking to the beach, and then heading back to teetotum for a siesta, happy hour with Richard and company, then dinner in town. An easy routine to get used to! The food at teetotum is also excellent; had the best carbonara one night, and breakfast there each day was super. I know you don't typically travel to Mexico to eat amazing pasta, but after a few days you may find you are burned out on tacos... maybe.

Curious to explore life en la playa, we booked a few nights at two different places -- one of them a bungalow right on the beach and the other a swanky hotel room also steps from the beach. We missed teetotum the whole time!! The beach is amazing, and both places we stayed were excellent, but definitely lacked the chill charm of teetotum hotel. It really feels like home! Truly hands down, favorite hotel ever. Thanks Richard, and everyone at teetotum. Bien hecho!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

hey guys!
thank you for your kind review.
we really dig it when we our guests seem to "get it" as well as you both have and then revisited us this winter.
thanks!!
and happy birthday, i think jess, and stay warm.
see you soon in safe and sunny tulum
3rd time is a charm!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stopped by Teetotum Hotel for breakfast this week. We read about it online and saw that it had good reviews so we had to try it out.

We arrived around 8:30am, we were the first and only people eating there. The inside is super cute, clean and colorful, and Dali the hotel dog is adorable and friendly. Great food, great service!

I ordered the breakfast burrito and it was deelish! We liked this restaurant so much that we came back for lunch, hehee... I had a cheeseburger and a beet salad and they were awesome. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank crandigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

hey you guys!
hola!
thank you for your kind review. we really enjoyed chatting with you in our restaurant. its always a pleasure to meet people with great energy and a positive attitude such as you both.
we hope to see you again soon in safe and sunny tulum.
sincerely,
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in the summer and at the summer rates the price was more than reasonable for the quality of the room - the bed was amazing, the shower was amazing, it was a really great place to stay.

The main question you'd want to ask yourself is about location. It is a long walk (or a very short bike/taxi) to the great places to eat in the pueblo, and a long-ish bike ride (or a moderate taxi ride) to the playa. From one person's perspective, it's the best of both worlds; from another person's perspective, it might be neither here nor there. I am definitely in the first camp, but you should be aware of that consideration.

Also, Richard and his staff are great - he is a fountain of wisdom about where to eat in town and how to get around and so on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

hey you!
thank you for your review.sorry to be late in responding, been super busy with high season.
we have offered a summer discount of 10% this summer, so come back and let us earn that 5th star!!.
thank you again for your kind and honest review and we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 99 in Tulum
615 reviews
1 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 99 in Tulum
940 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#37 of 99 in Tulum
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azura Boutique Hotel
Azura Boutique Hotel
#55 of 99 in Tulum
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coco Hacienda Tulum
Coco Hacienda Tulum
#18 of 99 in Tulum
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £84 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teetotum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Teetotum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing