We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas
Ranked #51 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

After staying one night at an overly expensive stuffy, hot, trying to be "hip and groovy" cabana place down the road, Zulum seemed like a paradise. We stayed on the the thrid floor of one of the building closest to the beach. The view was amazing, and the room was cute and cozy, with a thatched roof, hanging beds, hammocks, glass doors, cute little windows, and cool lighting fixtures made out of conch shells. The only downsides to this place were that the shower only had cold water, although this was probly just in our room, and the toilet was right under the showerhead, which was a little strange. Othe than that though, It was great. The beach front bar and loung was nice because you could grab a drink and relax on outdoor couches, hammocks, or under umbrellas on the beach. The staff at Zulum was very friendly and helpful. It's a great place to stay righ on the water, and I recommend it to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theClarksofCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    54
    43
    27
    29
See reviews for
42
99
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel Zulum a total of 8 nights this past November. We had the most wonderful time. The rooms were clean and had a rustic kind of charm. The staff (Jaunito, Mauro, and others) was amazingly helpful and friendly. We enjoyed many meals at the hotel restaurant which featured fresh fish and lobster for reasonable prices. The management (Chris) was also very friendly and accommodating. We are really mellow people who wanted a chill beach vacation and to meet some of the locals. Hotel Zulum was the perfect place for us!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfield, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were really lucky to stumble into this place! We spent our first night here on the third floor overlooking the ocean and then decided to spend our entire vacation here. The room itself was small but perfect for the two of us. We loved the rustic and elegant charm.

The service could not have been better. Every single staff member (yes all of them) were awesome. We were treated like guests and as friends.

The food was amazing, the best we had on the beach, by far. The shrimp ceviche was so delicious and there was so much of it, I couldn't finish. It could have easily fed us both. The continental breakfast in the morning was perfect--plates of fresh fruit, homemade bread, handmade fruit juice, and frothy hot coffee.

Even the shampoo and conditioner was fantastic.

I loved this place and if we make it back to Tulum, we will definitely stay here again. In fact, we might go back to Tulum just so we can stay here.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms. They have many different kinds of rooms available depending on your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent 7 nights at Hotel Zulum. It was not terrible, but definitely poor. The eco-chic they claim is just cheap. The hotel does need maintenance (beach chairs at the beach bar and on the beach are torn), bed linens and bathroom towels have stains everywhere, the continental breakfast is really nothing special, the restaurant is low quality (as a matter of fact it is always empty), the service is average. Our room was on the 1st floor and the stairs are steep and almost totally dark after 6 pm (very dangerous). The beach is great and the sea beautiful but this does not belong to the Zulum.
It is way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fr0mItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This place has a very poor maintenance level all over around the structure itself and the rooms too.
There is no attention to details, and the structure is definetly too expensive for what you can get.
The service is very inefficient

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letizia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

It’s true that the facilities are basic – no aircon, slightly dodgy electricity and not entirely consistent water supply to the shower. The restaurant is not wonderful either – sheltered from the sea breeze, so both hot and rather full of biting insects, and long waits for the food are less than relaxing. Breakfasts are just about OK.
However, everything else encourages you to embrace these simplicities and revel in Zulum’s character. We were perhaps lucky to get one of the best second floor seafront rooms at a good price, as a walk-in enquiry after a booking elsewhere had mysteriously evaporated. With the balcony doors kept wide open, the breeze maintains a nice temperature in the room, although the rainstorm also came inside one night.
It would also seem that attention has been paid to earlier feedback, as the freshwater pool was perfectly clean and, as far as I could tell, the shower was fresh water also – I find it hard to believe I didn’t notice in four days if it was salty.
The beach is truly outstanding, with comfortable loungers, shady hammocks and attentive service providing margeritas in assorted flavours. We were also impressed that the perfect white sand manages to stay cool however hot the day.
The manager and the proprietor are both on site much of the time and are keen to check how things are going for the guests, which may indicate a constructive sensitivity to past feedback. Overall, Zulum is exactly the kind of place that makes you want to stay in Tulum for ever. Long may it retain its character and resist the development spreading like a plague from Cancun and the coast further north.

Room Tip: Second or third floor seafront rooms seem the best for both view and the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

we stayed a zulum for one night whilst winging it and looking for comfy quick accomodation in tulum.

it wasn't the best stay - others have already mentioned this but things to note:
1. unable to regulate temperature - we had a portable fan that was pretty useless
2. no aircon
3. our potable water for showering was... salty??
4. the bed in hung from ropes attached to the ceiling, unfortunately this made my motion sick
5. not cheap! US$110 for one night, and continental breakfast was not very good
6. their generators kept stopping, so electricity kept stopping during the night
7. the windows don't stay open when it's windy, even when we wanted it to during the night
8. there is no door to the toilet/shower - total lack of privacy (the curtains are a bit useless too)

overall, would not stay here again, but i can see the appeal and altho it looks like the perfect boutique and a good idea when you get there, it was way more inconvenient and a lot less relaxing than we thought.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
1.0 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
1.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#40 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#75 of 95 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#24 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas

Property: Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas
Address: Carretera Tulum, Boca Paila Km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are almost sure that after being here only one day you will be thinking about changing your return ticket or even canceling it and staying for good (nothing can be farther from the truth, it happened to us and many other people). but don't worry we have 18 different Cabañas to choose from to make it your new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing