We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking and stay here!!!”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stop looking and stay here!!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We checked out a few places in person before deciding where to stay, and hands down Cabanas la Luna are far superior over their neighbors.
We only found ONE place that had aircon and it was turned on at 11pm. Aircon is NOT standard in tulum so don't expect it. La Luna have adequate fans in the room, more than you will get anywhere else for the money.
Their attention to detail is awesome and the cleaners do a great job every day. Their cute and bright mex-moroccan furniture adds great character to these hammock clad cabanas!
Location is great, far enough away from the beach centro, approx a kilometer, but not way down the other direction to no mans land. It is 70 pesos to get into town, one way. You can easily bike ride to the ruins.
I didn't like the dinner menu at la Luna but the lunch menu and awesome included brekkie of fresh fruit, coffee and home made bread was YUM. Wifi worked at the restaurant/ reception but not in our cabana.
The first two nights we stayed in Casablanca which is underneath another cabana. We changed after 2 nights as we could hear thudding footsteps and scraping furniture both nights and mornings which meant we didn't sleep until upstairs slept. The staff were SO great and we ended up staying at la luna's cabana The Shanty a little further down the beach for 4 more nights, we loved it so much.
Luke, iris and ALL of the staff were unbelievably kind and friendly. I would definitely recommend this to all travelers out there who are after great value, great service and a great time. Oh and GREAT beach!

Room Tip: Just not Casablanca. That's it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarty1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We do our best to give our guests the best experience possible, an experience that they've only dreamed up. We will always do our best to accommodate requests to make your stay with us even better. We are glad that we could find a happy resolution to the problem you encountered from the noise of the guests above you. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    92
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
196
324
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Robinson Crusoe cabana. It was everything I expected, since I had already read many, many of the previous reviews. The cabana was small, rustic and private, which was what we were wanting. The windows and the fans provided a beautiful breeze while we slept. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful. The beach was amazing!! Always clean, and never crowded. The atmosphere was intimate and romantic, much more personal than a resort. We loved it, and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
We love hearing that your honeymoon with us was as perfect as you had hoped! We hope to welcome you back in the future, perhaps for an anniversary trip! All the best in your new life as a married couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The beach and the location are wonderful, the hotel a bit disappointing. Nothing to be said about the location, it's wonderful as is the beach. A real paradise early in the morning or in the evening at sunset. The cabanas however are (predictably with hindsight) damp, oppressively hot (no aircon and the ceiling fans are so ineffective that they've added standalone fans as well which take up the very limited space). Rooms are small and very, very dark/gloomy despite the garish colours used to decorate. The room was kept clean (difficult with all that sand).

The restaurant was overpriced and nothing special.

Having to pay in full a couple of weeks before, with no cancellation policy possible leads me to believe that many people in the past checked straight out, as we would have done if we could afford it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheRobertss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
We are very sorry that your experience at our hotel was not according your expectations.

We would like to draw attention to some points that perhaps you did not review prior to booking your stay with us. As many hotels on the Boca Paila strip in Tulum, we are a self sufficient eco-friendly hotel, and therefore have limited electricity. Because of this, many hotels only offer electricity for a limited period of time per day. However, do offer 24/7 electricity to our guests. In order to stay self sufficient and eco-friendly, we do not offer air conditioning in our cabanas (with the exception of Garden Suite and the two ground floor rooms of Villa Zanzibar).

If you weren’t aware, August and September are the most damp/humid months of the year and there is nothing that can be done, except simple ventilation within the cabana. All of our rooms are equipped with foldable windows including mosquito nettings. Our ceiling fans above the bed are often praised because they are built-in to the ceiling above the bed so the mosquito nettings around the bed do not block the breeze coming from the fan. These fans do have various levels of speed. The standalone fans indeed take some extra space, however, we did this in order to offer our guests an extra way of increasing the breeze throughout the cabana. If you had a problem with the amount of space the ventilator was occupying with the cabana, you could have notified our staff and we would have removed it from your cabana. You mentioned that our rooms are small and very dark, however I noticed you only stayed in one cabana during your stay. Each room is drastically different from the next and our cabanas are often praised because of their intimate size, layout and colourful decor. We feel sad that this was not the case for you. Had you mentioned this to us during your stay, we would have gladly moved you to another cabana. For instance, during your stay we also had Garden Suite available, which would have satisfied your need for a bright an airy room with air conditioning, however your disappointment was not brought to our attention.

Although your experience was less than perfect, we hope you might want to come back during different period of the year and try another cabana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

In May me and my girlfriend went to Tulum, after a research on the internet we desided to stay a couple of days at Cabanas La Luna. It was definitly the best choise we have made. Friendly staff, beautiful and very clean cabanas and a lovely ambiance.
I want to give a special compliment to the restaurant, Las Estrellas, this was by far the best restaurant of Tulum (good price/quality). Try the Salad with fish and the chicken. They are delicious.
We will definitly come back to this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I rarely write reviews, but this place was incredible. Best beach, best people, best atmosphere by far. Luke and Iris were incredible hosts and the establishment runs the most honest operation I've ever encountered in Mexico (they found me to return money that they, not I, realized had been overcharged). I visited most of the swankier places in Tulum for dining, and at each thought to myself how pleased I was to be staying at La Luna. It had the best feeling overall.

Stayed in Marco Polo's Journey and Villa Shanti in August. The place is spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlinsFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We chose these cabanas just looking at comments on trip advisor e Now We can Say that was the right choice!
Luke and all the staff were always ready to every our request.
We were a group of 8 people from italy and We booked jungle penthouse and anaother cabana that was just few metres from the sea...fantastic!
The food was very good too and Also the restaurant was so special at night.
This is the place that we'd choose if cane back in tulum without any doubt!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigiotto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked Villa Zanzibar for 7 nights and it was PERFECT. There were six adults and two children. This Villa has 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, an outdoor living/dining area and it's own private pool. A pool was key since the kids LIVE in the water and the ocean is not always feasible. This is my third trip to Tulum in four years. La Luna is perfect due to its size (small), large staff and whimsical feel. Having a kitchen at our disposal was key since Tulum is the most expensive tourist destination in Mexico. The food and drink at all of the great funky out door restaurants and bars are pricey. Having a place to make dinner and snacks for the ever hungry kids was important. August is a great time to go because it's cheaper and the giant turtles come to shore to lay their eggs. We saw them every night! The staff was great! Very helpful and friendly. We will definitley stay at La Luna again - we are even thinking of going back in a few months... :-) Seattle

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kareni765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
410 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,284 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Property: Cabanas La Luna
Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing