We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the whole package”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The setting is lovely and relaxed. It's the perfect size; many amenities but intimate. the staff was really attentive. one of the owners Edmonda greeted our van as soon as we arrived.

They put on a great banquet for 40 people for a birthday party.

After I checked out, I left my phone in a cab and the staff went way out of their way to retrieve it for me. You don't find that level of service anywhere after you've left!

I'd definitely come back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We were especially happy that we could assist with getting your phone back to you! We hope to welcome you back to La Luna one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas La Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a pleasant, unique and memorable experience at cabanas la luna, we would recommend it, but you should scale back your expectations just a little bit to avoid disappointment, and be aware of a few things.

We were looking for private quiet bungalows, as far away from the big resorts of Cancun as possible. And we couldn't have found a better place than la luna. Every cabana has its own theme, and you really get a real rustic experience on a private island. Everything is made of wood, including shelves, and towel and hanger rails. We stayed in Captain Dale's quarter, which is a beachfront cabana. We chose it as it was the only beachfront cabana available, thinking that it was too big for the 2 of us (as it's for 6). It was just perfect, and we would strongly recommend this room. It's large enough, is the closest to the beach, and has its own large private deck. You step directly into the beach, and you can even hear the sea waves when you sleep. We also often felt that we were the only ones on the beach and in the sea. It was a truly unique experience incomparable to any other experiences that we have had before.

Now to the things that you need to be aware of. As la luna was ranked number 1 in all hotels in Tulum, and after reading all the reviews, we came expecting the highest level of comfort and service. We appreciate that we chose not to go to a big resort with all its services, and we knew that we had to sacrifice a bit on the comfort to get the rustic experience. But we think there could have been more comfort without compromising on the rustic experience. For example:
- we had a 20L jug of drinking water, but the water was warm. There was no fridge. We don't really need a mini bar, but I really need my daily dose of cold water especially at night, and 5 days without cold drinking water was starting to have its toll on me.
- there are no cupboards or drawers. You have about 3 wooden shelves, and seven hangers, barely enough for 2 people. And that's in Captain Dale's Quarter, one of the largest rooms. From what I read, the other rooms are much smaller.
- there is no footpath to the reception or to outside the hotel. You have no choice but to step on the sand, which can be inconvenient when you want to go out at night.
- there is no room service (you have to go to reception). There is no phone, tea maker, hair dryer or TV in the room.
- Lighting isn't great. Again, we appreciate that this is to create a rustic experience, but it often felt gloomy inside at night. Lighting outside isn't great either, and the place isn't much alive at night. We actually arrived to the hotel at night, so we were disappointed first. But we were pleased the next morning. It's definitely a place that looks great during the day with sunshine, not at night.
- Service was not amazing as what we read in the reviews. It wasn't bad, but it was just ok. The staff did their job well, but we didn't feel they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Service can sometimes be quite slow. The first day, it took around 30 mins for us to have our breakfast, even though we were the first ones at the restaurant. We then started ordering breakfast to our deck (the night before evertyime), and breakfast arrived 15 mins late one morning, and 25 mins late the other morning (even though they knew the night before what time we wanted the breakfast at).
- we were told that breakfast was included in our price. What really was included is basic breakfast: toast, jam, orange juice, a fruit bowl. You had to pay extra for eggs or pancakes. The quality of the food was actually very good, but there wasn't a large selection (there were no cereals), and we didn't appreciate the lack of transparency when we booked about what we had to pay for. We therefore had to pay about USD 15 per person for breakfast every morning.

Overall, none of these issues is inconvenient on its own. But when you add them all up, it started to feel a bit heavy towards the end of our 5 nights stay, and we started to really long for comfort. Again, we knew we were not expecting a resort like service (which we wanted to avoid in the first place), and we do appreciate the real rustic experience, but at the end of the day, we were paying USD 300 per night for 5 nights, and were hoping for slightly more comfort and service for that price. Having said that, the experience remains priceless and unique, the privacy and proximity to the beach are invaluable, and we would still recommend la luna, as long as you are aware of the issues that we raised. We would definitely have given it an excellent rating if there was more comfort and service.

Room Tip: We stayed in Captain Dale's quarter, which is a beachfront cabana. We chose it as it was the onl...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Dave1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. You have described Captain Dale's Quarters well. Sometimes couples are hesitant to book this cabana as they feel it might be more than they need, but as you realized, the loft above is out of the way, and if you don't need it, you won't even know it is there! It is also a very popular cabana for honeymooners. You can't get any closer to the beach than this cabana!

Thank you for sharing those notes and tips. I hope others will read your review and determine if La Luna is right for them. We hope to welcome you back to our beach soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

On our recent honeymoon to Tulum my husband and I stayed at La Luna. This really is a special place. The rustic and calm setting and kind attention of the host Edmonda are all part of the peaceful experience.
We just loved our stay so much that I can't wait to send my family and friends here.
Of course due to the rustic nature of this Eco Chic experience there is no air conditioning and you may feel nature's attention by way of an itchy bite or two but if you are aware of that it may not bother you as it didn't bother us.
It's super romantic but family friendly too and is at capacity with 45 people which keeps an intimate and friendly vibe.
I must say that we did experience other places along the main beach but this was by far our favorite place and even when we had to move hotels (due to the fact they were fully booked) we kept coming back to dine.

The restaurant La Estrellas that is attached to the hotel is fantastic. See our separate review on that.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marco Polo suite and loved it. Try get a room closest to the beach....the hotel is...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HipHopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your nice review of your stay with us for your honeymoon. We get a lot of honeymooners here at La Luna and we are honored to be a part of such an important time in your life. As you mentioned, most of our cabanas do not have air conditioning, however Garden Suite, Jungle Penthouse and the two ground floor rooms of Villa Zanzibar do. We wish we had more room to allow you to stay longer, but we are happy to hear you came back to dine with us during your time in Tulum. We hope to welcome you back for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A second stay at La Luna confirmed how much we love this place. Why?

- the property has a small number of cabanas, ensuring personal attention from the staff (as much or as little as you prefer) It's relaxed and and has a relaxing vibe.

-the staff. A few shout outs:

Edmonta attentively checked in with us; her rapport with guests is professional. She is adept at figuring out what kind of contact each guest prefers (are you someone who wants to chat about this and that? Prefer your privacy? She figures it out).

Ruben is a wealth of knowledge about where to go, what to do, and how to solve minor problems. Our friend's daughter needed assistance with several travel related matters and Ruben's deft handling left us all reassured. Ruben has visited many of the places that we were interested in going to and could provide firsthand information about them. He is quiet, smart, thoughtful, and we greatly enjoy and respect him!

Oscar has a good memory for your name, culinary likes/dislikes, and he patiently helped us learn Spanish. He was always ready with a smile and friendly heartfelt greeting.

Kwame has lots energy and enthusiasm- he is competent, helpful and fun to be around.

Jose and Cesar are low key and quiet, yet their service was attentive and thorough (Cesar makes a great Blue Hawaii too, BTW!)

Housekeeping did a great job keeping our room tidy and clean. Any small request was always met graciously.

Maintenance and security folk were friendly and discreet. We felt completely safe.

I probably missed mentioning several staff (sorry!). Most have been there for years. About how many places where you stay can you say this many honest and appreciative things about the staff?!

-Food. Our advice: try any daily specials, such as the seafood paella, maguro salad, lobster & seafood risotto. Other items we liked include nachos, seafood tagine, eggs/bacon, fruits and juices. The menu has decent variety, quality of the ingredients is excellent, supported by solid preparation by the kitchen.

-Beach loungers. Besides having a sufficient quantity for guests...for me, they need to:
1) be up off the sand so you don't get sandblasted when the wind blows
2) have a comfy mattress
3) be close to an umbrella
4) have an adjustable backrest
5) be sited next to a table
6) be moveable
La Luna's loungers are the best anywhere on the beach. Really.

-the condition of the cabanas and public areas. Generally well maintained, not an easy task when your property is in a jungle and it's humid year-round. Small item: while bedding was clean, clean, clean, a few sheets were a bit pilled, pillows soft but a little lumpy and the coverlets somewhat worn/scratchy to lay on. Easily remedied, however, and certainly not a deal breaker.

Advice for future travelers- the curtains in the rooms do a fine job blocking the sun. We brought some clothes pins to pin them up so you can still take advantage of the cooling breezes through the lower part of the windows yet block the unwanted morning sun.

Can't wait to return.
Cheryl and Fred

Room Tip: Marrakech has two sleeping areas that are visually separated by the bathroom (which has a door and a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SelectiveTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about La Luna and sharing your experiences with others. You spoke so kindly of our staff and we appreciate it. They work hard to make a memorable experience for all our guests and ensure it's tailored to your specific needs. Your tips are spot on, and we hope this review helps others with making a decision of where they should stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was my second time at La Luna and it was just as great as my first. My wife and I stayed for 10 days and everything was as perfect as could be imagined.

The food is great, the beach is great, the rooms are great, the staff is great. Every morning I'd be greeted by staff that had taken the time to learn the guest's names and a little bit about us, without being pushy or nosy in any way.

The beach has more room than anyone could ask for. Even when the hotel was full there were always spots available for us on the beach, and not some crappy cramped spot between everyone. I'm talking prime beach seats and bed/benches.

Even with no AC, the cabana that we stayed in was cool enough to sleep in at night, and the sea breeze mixed with a ceiling fan on low was enough to keep things from getting stuffy during the day.

The only down-side is that we're not still there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Another returning guests! We couldn't be more happy. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our food and our wonderful staff. Both those things have contributed a lot to our success as a hotel and it's great to see it respected and appreciated. We hope to welcome you back time and time again to magical La Luna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second stay at beautiful La Luna. We could not have asked for a more relaxing vacation! We were a bit concerned that it would have changed from our last visit over two years ago, but everything seemed just the same (with, of course, improvements and upkeep being a constant focus). The new manager, Edmonda, was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Because this is a small property, La Luna's patrons interact with the the same staff A LOT, and we were glad to see that the serving staff were the same from our last visit. All of the staff were very professional and welcoming. We especially enjoyed chatting with Oscar (thanks again!).

We stayed in their newer suite, Marco Polo, a spacious two bedroom, with a huge balcony that is partially covered. It was perfect for morning yoga. Even though this room is very close to the kitchen, the noise was mostly minimal, considering, and the restaurant closes at 11 pm. I am a very light sleeper, and was surprised that the noise didn't bother me. The noise of the ocean was lulling at night. Housekeeping did a thorough job keeping sand out of our room and tidying.

The beach, as others have mentioned, is a perfect dream. No fighting for a place to sit, just relaxing and private feeling compared to other vacation spots. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelightgetsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are thrilled that we had the chance to welcome you back. We find that many of our guests are becoming repeat customers, a part of our family so to speak, and we couldn't be happier.

Thank you for taking the time to mention the great qualities of Marco Polo's Journey. Because it is not directly on the beach like some of our other cabanas, it often gets overlooked. It is a great room and we do everything we can to keep the noise down so not to both guests who choose this cabana. We hope to welcome you back to La Luna for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Me and the hubby just returned from a 3 night stay at Cabanas La Luna. We split our holiday between Tulum and Playa and I really wish we'd stayed in tulum the whole time. I wasn't expecting to love it quite so much.

We stayed in the Robinson Crusoe cabana which is one of the smallest and most rustic but is also the closest to the beach.
The cabana is tiny but has a decent sized bed. Not much storage and no AC but we knew all this before booking so there were no surprises. The tap water is really salty but as someone else mentioned they provide a giant water jug which was perfect for the whole stay.

The staff were fantastic. The manager (Edmonda) greeted us whenever we were passing and paused to share stories. Oscar, the main waiter we saw was super sweet. Noting was too much trouble ..if you want food or drinks on the beach they'll bring it. If you want food on your cabana patio then you can have it.
We ate at our hotel restaurant a couple times (lunch and dinner) and it was pretty good. Especially the lunch tacos. The dinner had a slight Moroccan theme.
Tons of other amazing restaurants within walking distance though too so you won't feel like you are stranded on a resort. Our favourites were Hartwood, posada margarita and casa banana. Hartwood and Casa Banana are along the jungle road. It's just a short walk but after dark it does feel a little scary (no sidewalk) so take a flashlight and be careful of passing cars. We did this walk multiple times and no problems. It's certainly worth it.

The beach by the cabanas is amazing...one of the best beaches in this area for sure and it's long and public so you can walk all along it to eyeball other hotels or find lunch. Powder white sand and clear water (not good for snorkeling though)
My only negative of the whole cabana experience was obviously its not at all soundproof and this was fine most nights as its so peaceful there. One evening our neighbours were rowdy late so just realize you will hear every word. Also behind the Robinson cabana is a security "station" (like attached) and you can't help hearing them even if they are whispering. For the most part this doesn't matter as the are conscientious at keeping quiet but early in the morning we would hear their walkie talkies going off. Hopefully this is a situation that is easily altered..maybe move their station away from the cabana?
I would certainly stay here again though. In fact I can't wait to come back....
Just a side note to those traveling here you can catch the ADO bus from the airport or from Playa del Carmen to the downtown tulum bus station...from here it's just a $10 cab down the beach road (too far to walk)
This is so easy and much cheaper than a cab or organized taxi car.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Robinson Crusoe cabana and whilst tiny (really tiny) its so close to the beach
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Britgirl_dallas_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your kind and honest review! It's reviews like these that help us improve to be the best hotel time and time again. Many people have the same reaction as you while being at La Luna and in Tulum... they don't want to leave! You described Robinson Crusoe perfectly! It is our smallest beachfront cabana but the view of the ocean is incredible! As for what you mentioned about the Security Station, we have since moved this area far from the cabanas as we don't want our guests to be bothered. We apologize if this caused a negative reaction, and we hope that no other guests from here on out will have this problem. Great tip on the bus as well! We hope to welcome you back to La Luna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £144 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing