We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place; slight problem with noise from next door”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely place; slight problem with noise from next door”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

La Luna is one of the most beautiful places to stay on the amazing Tulum coast, set in lush gardens with a perfect patch of beach. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming, and service is excellent.

We stayed in the Marco Polo suite, which is upstairs in the main building, and we were a bit annoyed by the live music from the beach bar next door. This went on every day from 2pm until around 10:30-11:30pm and was sometimes very loud, with booming bass shaking the building. We spoke to the manager of La Luna and she was working hard to resolve this with the neighbours, so hopefully this is a temporary issue. The cabaña rooms at La Luna are probably not affected as they are at the other end of the property, so it's best just to avoid the Marco Polo and Jungle Penthouse suites if you are sensitive to noise.

One thing we found a bit strange is that the bathroom in Marco Polo is completely open with no visual separation from the bedrooms. This means that, if one person wants some privacy to use the toilet, everybody else has to leave. It would be easy to install some sort of screen or at least a curtain. No idea if the other rooms have the same issue.

Room Tip: Avoid Marco Polo and Jungle Penthouse if you don't want the noise from next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. As you mentioned, there was an issue with the noise and our hotel manager has been working to resolve this. Things have gotten better and we hope that this will not be an issue for any other guests visiting La Luna. We know our guests come for a peaceful and relaxing time. We do all we can do to make this happen. Though we can't control our neighbors, we have been working to fix the problem and things are definitely looking up! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    92
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
196
324
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akersberga, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Are staying at Robinson Crusoe cabanas for 5 nights! Sitting outside the cabana writing this! Its the most amazing places I have ever visited and I have been traveling in africa, asia and europe! Its rustic personal and amazing! The staff is wonderful and the food is outstanding!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay that you couldn't wait to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was lucky enough to enjoy a blissful stay in the Christopher Columbus cabana this January. Everything about La Luna is simpily amazing! Ruben, Oscar and Quami were very helpful and the manager, Edmonda was as pleasant as can be. The breakfast that was included was very good but it was nice to be able to order a side of bacon to go with it.

Our days were spent laying on the beach, listening to the live music from the restaurant next door and enjoying the most delicious food straight from the ocean! The only thing that could have made this trip better was to have had more days and nights to enjoy this wonderful, fairy tale of a place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Christopher Columbus cabana and thought for a couple it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at La Luna! We love hearing from our guests and seeing pictures of their stay with us. Looks like you had a wonderful time! We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to La Luna in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Can't wait to come back. We stayed in the Columbus cabana for 3 nights after a week in Playa. Should have reversed that or skipped Playa all together! Staff were amazing, food was amazing, cabana was amazing! Bed was cozy and comfy. The property is amazing with attention to every detail. I was thoroughly enchanted the first night when staff came around to light candles (!) inside hurricane lanterns along the pathways. The place felt like a dream, with amazing beauty and something to please all the senses at every turn. I had the sensation of being Dorothy right after she landed in Oz. (Warning: upon returning home, I had the sensation of being Dorothy at home in Kansas! Gray, gray, gray! Be prepared for a painful re-entry to reality!) We very much enjoyed our stay and would come back at our first opportunity for a longer stay with family/friends. Thank you to all the folks at La Luna for making our time so perfect and memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Christopher Columbus. The sunrise coming through windows every morning was magical. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virgin_Rose_917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review! You have described our little slice of heaven well. Most guests have similar experiences when they visit Tulum and Playa del Carmen. Both are great places to see when in the Mayan Riveria, but they both have such wonderful things to offer. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The Mexican airport checks your luggage before letting you enter Mexico, for fruit and such, mostly.
There are people selling beer and soft drinks, outside the airport, to get your vacation started.
We arranged for their van to drive us. You can't drink in the van, as there are many police check points, leaving the airport. It's about an hour and a half drive from the airport. The greeter and driver were so cheerful and nice. Asked, if we needed to stop for anything, nice.
Right when you pull in, to your immediate right, is Villa Zanzibar. It has two big doors for an entrance into the Villa. It has a huge covered outdoor socializing area, with couches, chairs, bar stools, a bar and a cute private swimming pool.
If you leave your bags by the van, someone can get them, just ask. Or you can carry them to the reception desk, straight ahead, to the right. If you try to roll them, you'll get stuck and make marks in the sand.
As you walk toward reception there is a central area with a stone table and stone benches. Ten feet further, there is a central hammock area( all cabanas have private hammocks).
To the left is Christopher Columbus, red. A covered hidden massage area is directly behind Christopher Columbus.
You can get a massage on the beach, also.
Then is Robinson Crusoe, yellow and Casa Blanca, blue. Above Casa Blanca is Marrakech. And just in front, slightly to the left is Cpt. Dale's Quarter's (big deck). Then the beach.
All the cabanas are made to look rustic and are cute in different unique ways. There is a cabana to fit any need. Some have an upper level( Cpt. Dale's).
I loved Casa Blanca and Marrakech. Marrakech is spacious (2 beds) with a huge balcony over- looking the water.
Casa Blanca has cute shower-tiles and a cute hidden mirror. There are hangers provided, with an area to hang clothes. Also a bench for your suitcase or clothes. I needed another bench so I used my porch, tree-stump chair, for my suitcase. There is no bathroom door or shower door, in Casa Blanca, but it's pretty private anyway.
Some cabanas have bathroom doors. I just used, the shared (men/women) main restrooms, 30 second walk. The stalls have big doors and are quite private. There was rarely anyone there. That way we each had privacy when needed.
This is one of the eco-friendly places in Mexico. That means no flushing of toilet paper, you trash it, instead. You get used to it.
They are self sufficient as far as water and electricity go. It just means lights are alittle dimmer. I found the lighting to be, more than sufficient.
Also, I found no lack of water. Only don't try to shower while Marrakech is showering and vice versa because they are above and below eachother.
I did not find their shower water to be salty. I always felt clean afterward.
The water pressure was good too.
A large 6 gallon fresh water dispenser, for drinking, is in every cabana, with fresh pint glasses, daily.
There are wooden privacy vents by all windows, with curtains.
The windows have screens to keepmosquitoes out.
Housekeeping opens your curtains when they clean your cabana, daily. They make your bed and lift the netting, surrounding your bed.
Everything is kept clean. Daily, they sweep up the sand in your cabana. They sweep off your porch and even sweep the sand, out of your foot rinse, bowl. These are such a good idea, very convenient.
In the evening, turn down service. Housekeeping lowers the netting for later, when you're ready for bed. They also will tidy up, if needed.
The food was all delicious. The restaurant is so close, it's like your own kitchen.
The continental breakfast of fresh fruit and fresh jam for toast is a perfect start to the day. It includes fresh juice and coffee. Delivered to your porch if you like, perfect!
The beach area is very private. La Luna has the best beach beds and chairs, compared to other places. The white sand beach is beautiful and clean. The beach is not rocky.
The paths of sand and greenery, which lead to the beach, thirty feet away, are perfectly maintained.
Friends introduced us to La Luna, they've been here many times and helped make it number one. I would love to keep this place a secret but the secret is already out.
If you want to basicly live on the beach, (sand is five steps out your front door), La Luna is for you.
It is rusticly decorated and perfect for lounging on the beach from sun up 6:30 til shade 5:00. Then shower and go eat dinner. Get up early and do it again. They have plenty of towels, blue for the beach and white for a shower.
It did rain for an hour, 8am-9am, the first few days but that quickly passes. The last two days; there was no rain and it was sunny and hot by 8am.
Las Estrellas is one of the best restaurants in Tulum. Guests of La Luna, as well as people staying elsewhere, have dinner here. Therefore, I do not think it's a place to hang out and get inebriated and loud, just because you're staying at La Luna. You can do that elsewhere, if you choose.
Las Estrellas keeps a classy feel. The restaurant is uniquely decorated. All the food is delicious and presented nicely. Try it all, I did.Ceasar makes a great drink. They have different daily drinks. And Oscar shines. Thank you for a great time.
Compared to similar places on the beach, La Luna is not expensive, especially for living right on the beach. And it is definately clean, with super comfortable, firm beds. There is a small ceiling fan above the bed and an extra oscillating fan (just in case) as there is no a/c in Casa Blanca. There are a few cabanas with a/c, but the breeze from the beach, keeps it cool enough.
The price is definately worth the experience. La Luna is less expensive and cleaner than most places on the beach.
The grounds felt very safe, with Security strolling the paths, throughout the night.
The beach is dark at night so a flashlight helps, if walking up the beach at night.
There are many options for food within walking distance, as well as an ATM.
Take an Ipod for the beach.
And don't forget a little mosquito spray.
Everything at La Luna is so cute, down to the room, key-chain.
Everything was thought of, sometimes it's the little things that matter.
The staff are all exceptional. Great level of service. All were very friendly.
Great Job.
Thank You.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lincolnparkchicagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at La Luna, in addition to your whole experience from airport to door. Reviews like this really help other travelers get a good sense of what it is like in this region. I don't even know what else to say, you have summed it up so beautifully!

You have described our cabanas quite well. I hope this helps others decide which cabana is best for them, and help them to plan the best possible vacation.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beaches soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was my second time at Cabanas La Luna and I absolutely love this place. So much so, that we've booked another trip back later this year!

The people who work here are the best. So friendly and helpful. Ruben is great. He even grew up in my hometown of San Francisco! Quami was also great. The Dutch woman who also works here (sorry we can't remember your name!) was the best. She hooked us up with the pineapple, sweet potato preserves I mention later.

The breakfast is such a great way to start your day. I love the fruit spreads they give you. There was this pineapple, sweet potato one they made that I absolutely loved. I asked them if they could make me some so I could bring some home to San Francisco. They were more than happy to do it and made me a huge jar full! I now am able to enjoy some of Cabanas La Luna's fine cooking here at home!

The beach is great. So relaxing. The food is amazing. Everyday, we had ceviche and fish tacos for lunch. Why mix things up when you've found such a great tasting combo? Our days consisted of reading, swimming, napping, eating, napping, swimming, reading. So quiet and relaxing!

The first time here, I stayed in Robinson Crusoe. It's the smallest cabana that they have and is literally right on the beach. It's perfect for a couple. But it gets snatched up fast, so book it well in advance. This last time I was here, I stayed in two different rooms. First night was in Marrakech. It was huge! And the bathroom has a door! The deck is amazing and the view is unbeatable. Enjoying breakfast up there, reading a book in the hammock was perfect. The second room we stayed in was Marco Polo's Journey. The room is above the restaurant, but doesn't get noisy at night at all. It's more than enough space for a couple. And we woke up to some amazing sunrises. Check out some of my pictures if you don't believe me.

Tulum is one of my favorite places and Cabanas La Luna is a huge part of that. There's a reason why it's rated #1. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Robinson Crusoe is a great little cabana literally right on the beach. It's also the cheapest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you are able to share your experience with others, considering the fact that you have stayed in in 3 of our 8 cabanas! All have great things to offer as you mentioned. I hope that will help others with the decision on which cabana is best for them.

We are quite lucky to have such a wonderful staff and I am glad they helped make your stay here so memorable. I will be sure to pass along the message to our manager, Edmonda. We are quite fond of her ourselves! We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked with Cabañas La Luna knowing we wanted to get away someplace warm and away from any big hotels. We were referred to Tulum by some friends...and boy are we glad we listened to their referral! The setting that the cabañas and restaurant are situated in are beyond magical or romantic....it literally is straight out of a fairytale. The staff was so wonderful, so kind and so helpful. We met everyone who was staying there, and by the end, they felt like family. My husband and I were very sad to leave but are already planning our next trip to La Luna!

A little background on us: my husband and I prefer to travel to remote, quiet, outdoorsy and cabin like experiences. We do not care for the all-inclusive type resorts. The rooms had the necessities, and the staff was wonderful...but the resort does not have air conditioning (in our opinion, it doesn't need it), and with it being off grid and Eco friendly, the lights are dim and the water pressure isn't great...but all that being said, we didn't care! It was absolutely perfect for us.

As far as the restaurant goes....it was fabulous. The food was great, the cocktails were wonderful, their fresh fruits and vegetables (and fresh juices!) were all amazing. We ventured out to other restaurants but we LOVED Las Estrellas. Continental breakfast included amazing fresh fruit, freshly baked bread, freshly made fruit spread, fresh squeezed juice and the blackest coffee I've ever had. It was perfect.

I could go on and on about how much we loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the ocean which is nice so you get a breeze and can hear the ocean at night. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you took your friends advice (the best kind) and decided to stay with us. Sounds like we were a great fit for you, and that makes us thrilled to hear! We look forward to welcoming you back to Tulum for some more piece and relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
410 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,284 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Property: Cabanas La Luna
Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing