We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days of Heaven; 2 Days of Hell.”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We chose La Luna based on its beachfront location, perfect tripadvisor reviews, price, continental breakfast & whimsical decor. La Luna is located on the busiest stretch of Tulum beach with a vacant lot on one side & Zulum on the other. Great spot if you don't have a car as it is within walking distance to a number of (overpriced) restaurants. Be sure to bring a flashlight for nightime as lighting along the beach & road are minimal.

Upon arrival, no one was at the reception desk. A few employees walked by but didn't offer to help so we waited a while to be checked in. No one offered to assist us with our luggage either; pack light because it is heavy to carry while walking in sand. I had to remind myself that this is an ecolodge; not a 5 star resort.

The complimentary breakfast at La Estrellas consists of fresh squeezed OJ, fresh fruit, coffee, & homemade toast with jam. We ordered a hot breakfast from the menu twice & enjoyed it. We also ordered drinks & snacks on the beach daily. Service is very slow & periodic but the food & drinks were always very good.

The beach is public & great for swimming. There is a beach volleyball net & comfortable day beds with umbrellas, muskoka chairs & tables. Unfortunately, La Luna does not stop non guests from using their facilities. If you don't reserve a lounge chair early, you may not get one! On two particular days, guests from the hotel/restaurant next door carried many of our loungers to their beach leaving La Luna's guests without. Nothing was done, leaving many guests frustrated.

We stayed in Christopher Columbus our first 5 nights & Marco Polo our last 2 nights due to availablility. Be sure to book early if you have a room preference or don't want to switch rooms. C.C. is located directly ocean front; just enough privacy provided by a hedge but a great ocean view nonetheless. There is a hammock, small table, & muskoka chair on the porch. The room is VERY small! Barely enough room for 2 people but romantic. Be prepared to unpack strategically & store your things using the many shelves & hooks around the room. Although uncomfortable, the bed is pretty with the mosquito netting & colorful headboard. The bathroom consists of a small walk-in shower, water closet, & single hand-painted sink. It is quite dark since they painted it red; it looked roomier & brighter when it was yellow as pictured on their website. The windows have screens & rustic shutters but no glass. This led to noise issues & the room was really cold at night. The roof is a palapa which is pretty but again led to noise issues. Expect to hear EVERYTHING that is being said by your neighbors staying in Casa Blanca & Marrakech. If they smoke; you will be breathing it in too.

Zulum owns the property across the road & has nightly live music. It was really loud & annoying for the first 4 nights but at least they shut it down at midnight. On our 5th day, we noticed that people were setting up D.J. equipment & speakers on the beach at Zulum. At noon, they started playing REALLY loud techno music & a crowd of young people began to form. The music played non-stop during the ENTIRE day. The base was so loud in our room that our walls were shaking as if we were inside of a sub woofer! We tried ear plugs & ear buds hooked up to IPODs but nothing could soften the base. We complained to the staff member at the desk. He said that they were told that the party would shut down at midnight & didn't even offer an apology. Luckily we had a car so we drove into town for dinner to escape the noise. Upon our return, we discovered that the partygoers took all of La Luna's parking spaces; we were told to park on the road by La Luna's "security" guard. We were dissapointed that he didn't stop non-guests from parking there. Disgruntled, we went to Zulum at 10:30 pm to speak to the manager. A female identified herself as the manager. We asked that the base be turned down; we both had headaches. The music had been booming for 10.5 hours non-stop. She told us that the party would stop at 11:30 pm. She said she would turn the music down in the meantime. We went back to our room & tried to rest in our room that was still shaking. By 12:30 am, the music had not stopped as promised nor had it been turned down. Exhausted & angry, we went back to Zulum. We saw the "manager" we spoke to earlier sitting in the office. We asked to speak to her but she refused to come out. Another female "manager" spoke to us. We explained the situation. By this time, I was crying because I was exhausted, my head was booming, & my vacation was being ruined. She told us that the party would go for 48 hours NON-STOP! We asked her to come to our room so that she could hear how her event was impacting us; she refused. She refused to turn the music down & told us that we were ignorant Canadians who would just have to deal with it because we were in Mexico. Enraged, we waded through the hundreds of drunk, disorderly, & drugged underage party goers to talk to the D.J. himself. We begged him to turn the base down. He laughed & told us he didn't know how. We ended up spending the night in our car because it was further from the party than our room. La Luna has no staff at night except for "security" who speaks no english. I spent the night searching for alternate places to stay. The next morning, most of La Luna's guests had gathered at the reception office to meet with the manager; no one wanted to stay any longer. The manager was very nice & found us an alternate hotel to stay at away from the noise. After breakfast we drove to the new hotel & slept for hours on their beach. The party was FINALLY shut down by the police around noon; 24 HOURS after it started. La Luna's manager found us & asked that we return to La Luna. Zulum's liquor license was pulled but they continued to serve; telling their guests to conceal it. Each guest was given a one hour massage as compensation. Although it was a nice gesture & they didn't have to do anything for us; we felt that we deserved a refund for our ruined day & night.

We moved to the Marco Polo room on the fifth day. Again we carried our own bags. It is located on the second floor above reception & the kitchen in front of the Jungle Penthouse. The ocean view is almost completely obstructed by the restaurant palapa. There are 2 bedrooms; a master with a king-sized bed with mosquito net overlooking a wall of pretty sliding glass doors that leads to a large balcony with a hammock, a bench, & a chair. The other bedroom is very small with a single bed. The bathroom is spacious with a walk-in shower; however there is no door so make sure you are very comfortable with whoever you're travelling with! The ceiling is vaulted with pretty sand dollar chandeliers. There is a walk-in closet with tonnes of shelving & room to hang clothes. We preferred this room to C.C.; loved the space & privacy. It was much quieter too; minimal noise from the restaurant & kitchen. However, it is VERY close to Zulum next door; the potential for noise is huge!

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend staying here based on our experience. There are no noise bylaws in Tulum so Zulum can do what they like. Whether or not you have a peaceful & relaxing vacation is totally dependent on the hotel next door & the other guests staying around you. During the rave next door I was disappointed at how little the reception staff seemed to care about their guests, how poorly the manager communicated with the guests, left for the night while the party was still going; unaware of the nightmare we experienced, & poor security of La Luna's ammenities such as parking spots & lounge chairs. I'd recommend staying somewhere far from the Tulum beach "main strip"; either close to the Tulum ruins or the Sian Ka'an Biosphere. Rent a car so that you can eat in the town of Tulum where prices are more reasonable.

As an aside, I had the best massage EVER at La Luna; it was almost spiritual & extremely relaxing. The resident cat; Luna is beautiful & provided great pet therapy!

Room Tip: Marco Polo is the newest room. Very spacious & private!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about experience with us. We always look forward to providing the best possible experience to all of our guests and it is reviews like this that help us improve. Immediately, from your title, thank you for the description of heaven. We work very hard to provide a blissful experience for all of our guests.
We are saddened to hear that you did not feel that you received the impeccable experience that we have come to be known for. Assisting guests with a friendly welcoming staff has been a trademark of ours for years.
I know that you, the other guests as well as myself and my staff were having a hard time with the choices made by the neighboring hotel. That specific day I mentioned to you that this whole rave party was a big surprise to me, the hotel, its staff and even other surrounding hotels. We did everything in our power to make sure that the rest of your stay was even more taken care off than we normally already do. I booked you a hotel as far away from the music as possible so you could be sure of a well deserved rest. When everything was solved I passed by to tell you that you could choose to stay or to come back. Gladly you choose to come back to enjoy your best massage ever!

Tulum is a place to relax. Obviously live music is nice but during dinner and on set times. You have to believe me and I hope you noticed that during your stay that we take situations like this very very seriously. We totally understand and share your frustration and have been working with the appropriate parties to solve the situation. It has not happened after this one particular day and we have been assured by the authorities that a rave party like this will not happen again. Tulum has certain laws in place to protect the tourist industry as well as the fauna in this specific beach area. A maximum level of decibels and certain hours to allow live music are part of these laws. And we regret that they were not followed. We now have taken the precautions necessary to ensure that this does not happen again. We continue to work with the appropriate parties and things have greatly improved since these efforts.
We do hope you, like many of our guests, return so that we can show you why we have earned our ranking and show you the amazing hospitality of Tulum and Cabañas La Luna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas La Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited Cabanas La Luna in January 2014 as a possible destination wedding site for about 40 people where we would rent the entire resort for several days and hold the wedding and reception there. It is an absolutely beautiful place. We checked with the front desk on availability for the event and told them when we wanted to get married. We asked for the onsite coordinator to contact us, we emailed them several times, to get information on wedding costs and our ability to customize our menu, drinks, etc for the reception but we received no response for over two full months!!!!!

The menu they provided was extremely overpriced for what they were offering. Open bar for 5 hours was 86 dollars per person. This with food we would have had to pay over $200 per person. They raised their rates for 2015 weddings well above market prices and did not increase quality. This is in addition to all the other costs. We never received all of the costs it would take.

They require a resort deposit within 72 hours but do not respond on wedding costs for 60 days.

While trying to reserve our dates they blocked them out on three occasions moving our date out further and further for people who were thinking of renting the resort, no even people willing to put down deposits.

There are other great venues in Tulum that are much cheaper.

We ended up renting private haciendas closer to Playa Del Carmen, where we have a secluded venue, room for all of our guests. prices that are less than half of what La Luna was charging, and more luxurious accommodations that are cheaper for our guests. We essentially are including food and room for our guests for the trip at less cost than La Luna would charge just for their rooms which are not too overly priced.

Do not deal with their staff just because it is a beautiful location, it is not worth it, you will be stressed out, overpaying, and likely to not have the wedding you want for a reasonable cost.

I would stay just for a vacation, but not ever consider planning a wedding there. There are lots of resorts and businesses taking advantage of the destination weddings due to high demand, La Luna is one of them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Russ_Whi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello!

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review, however some of what you have mentioned is untrue, and that concerns me.

You mentioned that you did not receive a response from us in 2 months. I pulled all the emails from you and your fiance LC and here's what I found (please note, if you or anyone is interested in seeing a copy of these emails, please message me directly and we will pass them along):

Jan 15, 2014 first email to La Luna about a wedding
Jan 19, 2014 Replied to Bride LC with a confirmation
Jan 21, 2014 Replied to Bride LC with our wedding package
Jan 21, 2014 Bride LC response stating she will be in Tulum in February and would like to see the property
Jan 22, 2014 Replied to LC
Jan 25, 2014 Followed up with LC due to no response of Jan 22 email
Jan 26, 2014 Bride LC responses
Jan 28, 2014 Bride checks February availability
Jan 28 2014 Replied to LC with no availability so asked Bride LC if she wanted a meeting
Jan 29, 2014 Bride LC repsonded
Jan 29, 2014 Appointment was made with our planner
Feb 27, 2014 Bride LC emalied to let us know they fired their travel agent and had reviewed our wedding package with pricing, no complaints at that time. They asked for availability
Mar 1, 2014 Replied to Bride LC to let her know that the dates she requested were not available
Mar 3, 2014 Bride LC responded with alternate dates
Mar 4, 2014 Replied to Bride LC with date options
Mar 4, 2014 Bride LC chose dates
Mar 4, 2014 Replied to Bride LC with a booking confirmation
Mar 4, 2014 Groom RW replies with questions about booking policy
Mar 4, 2014 Replied to Groom RW with an alternate booking option to make him more comfortable
Mar 4, 2014 Groom RW replies stated he is happy with this agreement.

As you can see there was plenty of communication. Upon seeing our package with pricing and menu options, you never once mentioned that you had a problem with the pricing. You mentioned the quality of the food not worth the price, however you never dined with us, or tried our wedding menu so I am unclear as to how you came to that conclusion.

As for reserving the dates, you asked for dates not available. We had another group booked for the dates you wanted, and I offered to put you on a wait list, as always, there is a chance that the bookings get cancelled and the deposits refunded. You picked alternate dates and were also placed on the wait list. We never changed your dates at any time. We book first come first serve to be fair to all groups and individuals who are interested in staying at La Luna.

We are sorry that things did not go the way you had wanted to and made you upset enough to write such a negative and untrue response. We have many weddings here (1-2 a month) with great success and so this surely came to a surprise for us.

We would have loved to welcome you here, and give you the fairy tale wedding that you have always dreamed up. We know that planning a destination wedding is tough and stressful on that note alone. We hope that you found your perfect wedding location in Tulum. We wish you both a happy and fruitful life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

WE stayed in Villa Zanzibar, adults and children and had our usual wonderful relaxed days to laze and spend good times. The Villa is one of the best places for a family holiday, the lodge is just a few paces away and the beach a few paces beyond that. We love and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paddy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review! I am so glad Zanzibar worked so well for your family. Though not directly on the beach, it is just a short walk away, and has so much to offer on its own.

We hope to become a tradition in your family, welcoming you here for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Luna. It is centrally located and we enjoyed endless walks along the beach. The service was great - ask Cesar to make you a margarita (Martini style with Liquor 43)! He is so friendly and happy to accommodate - even with my broken Spanish. The staff are all very friendly and professional and Maggi and friends kept our rooms in tip top shape during our visit. Don't miss the Wednesday BBQ!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and Cesar's margaritas. They are quite delicious! We hope to welcome you back to la Luna again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Doubt I will add much here that others haven't already stated. I loved my little cabana but it wasn't very private. The bed was surrounded by mosiqito netting making it a bit magical and after traveling in Mexico for 3 weeks I had already come to realize that all hotels have hard beds (this one at least had good pillows). The bathroom products were lovely. Big plus was I had WIFI in my cabana. The beach itself is amazing and the lounges available very comfortable, just remember sunscreen as it only takes 20 minutes to burn. I didn't like the breakfast, some of the fruit tasted weird and the oj was sour. That said dinner was one of the best I've had and the French Fries eaten on the beach super crispy. The staff and owner were friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend this place but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elm01au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at La Luna here! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I have mentioned your comments about the restaurant to our staff there to make sure that is not the case again. We hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to La Luna the next time you are in Tulum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a wonderful experience my wife and I had for my military R&R. I don't think we could have been any closer to the ocean, our little front porch area with a Mayan Hammock, table and rustic chairs was the only thing between us and the gentle waves that washed our worries away. We spent countless hours enjoying the time beachside reading our books and going swimming in the crystal clear waters. La Luna delivered great little breakfasts with local fruits and breads. Coffee was a little weak which was expected. You can order larger breakfast plates if you wish for an additional fee like huevos rancheros. The beach with it's soft white sands and warm clear waters was very well maintained and not busy at all. Some nudity was seen and a lot of topless sunbathing when kids weren't around was acceptable. Our little cabana (Robinson Caruso) was nestled in the front of the handful of cabanas between mangrove bushes with a little path directly to the beach 15ft. Beware the showers and sink water although filtered are still salt water. La Luna provides filtered drinking water but we stocked up on bottled water at the grocery store prior. They have an outdoor open air shower that was enjoyable with the breeze flowing through cracks in the shoulder high wooden stick door. The food La Luna cooked up was fabulous but you need to walk around to the different restaurants as well. They sometimes even had live local music. A couple cautions to people thinking they are getting five star white glove treatments, you won't find that here. This tiny resort/Eco hotel is for open minded people that wouldn't freak out at the site of a sand crab on a beach. They produce their own power and purchase all foods locally. It's a great place to completely relax and enjoy the slower pace of life that only a place like Tulum can offer. If I ever have the chance to go back, guarantee we will. My wife and I truly enjoyed our week there. The managers were very helpful and kind and made sure we were very comfortable for our entire stay, and we were in the cheapest room they offered, I was surprised to say the least.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

What a lovely, detailed review. Thank you for sharing your images as well. You have described us so well, I am not sure what else to say! We are glad that we could provide you with the needed R&R that you were looking for. We hope that we can be your little escape for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We just spent a week celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary at Cabanas La Luna. The first night wasn't great as there was a power failure and we were in an air conditioned room. After that, though, it was wonderful. The beach is beautiful, not crowded, and the sand is soft and cool. The restaurant was excellent (reviewed separately), which meant that we had little incentive to leave the property. We did undertake day excursions to the ruins (on bikes) and to the biologic reserve south of Tulum. Otherwise we stayed put, something we've never done before. We've already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: You need to choose you're cabana carefully. The first decision is whether you want a cabana that...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingston_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review! We love hearing from our guests. I apologize for the power failure you experienced during your stay. We generate our power from our wind turbine and solar panels (to stay within our eco-friendly guidelines), and when they run out of energy, we have the backup generator. Looks like we had an issue with that during your first night, however we are working to resolve that so it doesn't happen again. Despite that, we are happy to hear you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beaches soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £144 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing