We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple perfect !”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simple perfect !”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

You have to read the name of this hotel and of its restaurant to understand what a charming place it is ! What a good energy there !
"Cabanas La Luna y Las Estrellas"...
Another significant thing to say is about the kindness of all the staff.
To sum up, the place to be the place to go.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank luomweupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had such a joyous time! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    92
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
196
324
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in Marco Polo. We found the room comfortable and not especially noisy considering it is above the bar/restaurant.It has an outdoor area to sit in a hammock. Could have used somewhere inside to put my suitcase on.

The stretch of beach and the sea the hotel is on is excellent. I just wish we had stayed there when the turtles were hatching.

My wife did the cooking class at the restaurant and really enjoyed it - the chefs were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MacauJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Marco Polo's Journey! This cabana is located in our building behind the restaurant, but you made some wonderful points about the cabana that need to be shared considering its location. Thank you for your tip on the suitcase. We will look into it and see if this is something we can add to the cabana. Thanks again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about Cabanas La Luna. This was my third year back and I enjoyed every minute. Many of the staff members who were there during my first trip to Tulum in 2012 are still there; it's nice to see familiar faces in such a lovely place. I still daydream of the fish tacos that's served at their on-site restaurant Las Estrellas, and now I can't stop thinking about their excellent Micheladas and piña coladas on the pristine coral beach. This year, my fiance Chris and I stayed at La Luna with THIRTEEN friends and had the best time. The hotel is a great base for groups, but you should book far in advance because the property fills up quick. Plus, the area offers enough activities nearby that people can split up and do different things, including tour Sian Kaan (which is a place you must experience!), snorkeling or just soaking up the sun on the beach. Coming from New York where it seemed to snow every week this winter, 5 days at La Luna was a much-needed break. Thanks so much to everyone there for keeping the hotel an unforgettable and special place. Chris and I will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms do not have air conditioners, so that's something to keep in mind if you requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, General Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your lovely review and your lovely gift! We really enjoyed having you, Chris and all of your friends around. You are right we do have very nice places for friends gathering. Especially Villa Zanzibar and Villa Shanti as you know are the best for a larger group. You have your own space where your guests can enjoy seeing each other whilst our other guests will not feel at all like you are taken over the hotel.
We feel privileged and honoured that Chris proposed to you here with us and we are really looking forward to seeing you again next year!

All the best,
The La Luna and Las Estrellas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Attended a wedding in Tulum.
We took over the entire Cabanas La Luna for 5 days and it was great to have the whole place to ourselves. Excellent food, amazing beach and clear blue waters...total paradise. Be sure to check out the ruins and the cenotes nearby.

Room Tip: Villa Zanzibar is great for a large group, there are 4 rooms within the villa including your very ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank julieskim2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us in Villa Zanzibar for a wedding. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us! Thanks for sharing your tips of the area with others. We hope to see you on our beaches soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My good friends had their wedding at Cabanas La Luna. We took over the whole place. The mosquitos were eating us alive even with bug spray but the closer you were to the beach the better they got. They also have something to burn in the rooms and mosquito nets that help a ton! The grounds are charming and calming. It is in a great little area with other hotels on a strip with bars that you can venture to and it is really cute. Everything in Mexico is slow as far as service so if you are high strung this may not be your idea of a good time. We stayed in the Villa Zanzibar which has its own pool and 4 bedrooms. The two downstairs have air conditioning and their own bathrooms. Upstairs you share a bathroom with the other bedroom but I found it to be cool enough to sleep. There is a bathroom by the pool too. The living room and kitchen is outdoors but covered. Noise travels so if you are sensitive you just need to bring some ear plugs. The food at the resort was great and where they set up the reception dinner was beautiful. I am sure most of the decor was my friend's doing but it was very romantic! We had a blast and I would love to come back and visit very soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear your friend's wedding was such a memorable event and that you had a wonderful time while with us. Thank you for your tip about the mosquitos. If there is no wind, they tend to hang out on the beach, but as long as you are close to the water you are fine. Thank you for your tips about VIlla Zanzibar as well. We hope to welcome you back for another trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent 5 nights in Captains Dale's Quarters, right on the beach. It was a Robinson Crusoe experience and our boys (aged 10 and 14) loved it!. The hotel is so peaceful, comfortable and the staff were all very friendly. Food was amazing and we thoroughly recommend the weekly BBQ. Great location, close to good restaurants, ruins, activities (if you can tear yourself away). The hotel is on an amazing stretch of beach with very comfortable sun loungers! A perfect get away. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Captain Dale's Quarters is the closest to the beach and very spacious with large terrace....perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank davemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you and the kids enjoyed Captain Dale's Quarters. It's one of my favorites! We hope to see you and your kids back on the beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent a week in Villa Shanti, a private 3-bedroom house (really its own little compound) that's a short walk up the beach from La Luna. (The property is managed by La Luna and receives all of the same service/amenities, daily cleaning/maintenance/security etc.) The house is great for a group of friends or a family with older kids. If you have younger kids, note that the setup is such that if you're sleeping in the 2nd bedroom in the house you need to go outside to use one of the two bathrooms, either the one that's en suite with the master (up a flight of external stairs) or the other, which is its own little house next to the third bedroom, which is also its own separate building. Really well stocked kitchen, comfortable living/dining room and lots of great outdoor spaces. We were very well taken care of both at the house and at Restaurant Las Estrellas on the main La Luna property, where we had delicious breakfast (included) every day (homemade bread and jam, fresh squeezed juice, lovely fruit...) and a couple of great dinners. Loved it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful, detailed review of our Villa Shanti. It describes perfectly what Villa Shanti encompasses. It is great for group with older kids or adults, as you mentioned. Thanks for taking note of the service you received. Though Shanti is not directly at La Luna, you still get treated like any other guest at the hotel.

we hope to welcome you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
410 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,284 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Property: Cabanas La Luna
Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing