We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”
Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Beautiful, perfect vacation! I can't say enough great things about this place. The service was excellent, the food exquisite, the staff were incredible, friendly and the accommodations were beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at La Luna and that our staff met your expectations. Customer service is something we work hard for because we want nothing more than for you to have the best experience possible. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant as well. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our beaches again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Oct. at Cabanas La Luna and I can't say enough good things about our stay there! The staff was attentive and helpful, the prices were reasonable and the grounds were gorgeous. We stayed in Robinson Crusoe, yes its small but it has everything you need and you really shouldn't be spending that much time in there anyways. We spent most of our time on our porch and hammock or on the beach.
The restaurant is excellent and the all you can eat BBQ was one of my favorite meals of the trip. They also had an amazing flamenco dancer for live entertainment, which I usually cringe at those kinds of cheesy things but this woman (and her accompanying guitar player) was incredible! And having breakfast waiting for us on our porch each morning was perfect!
Must do tips for Tulum:
-Stay at Cabanas La Luna
-Eat at Cabanas La Luna, Hartwood, and cocktails at Casa Jaguar
-Take a yoga class, any yoga class
-Visit a cenote
-Get a mojito(s!) in town at the cute restaurant with the Bug in front (you can't miss it)
-Also get a massage at Cabanas La Luna, our couples massage under the palapa was perfect.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nicole a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and make recommendations to other potential guests. It's review like these that help other travels plan the best holidays for themselves. We thank you again and hope to welcome you back to La Luna soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our 7th trip to Mexico with all of the previous stays at all-inclusive resorts. When booking our trip this year I suggested to my husband that we try a few nights at a cabana...he was not very keen, but agreed because it was a "bucket list" item of mine. I chose Cabanas La Luna based on its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We spent 2 nights in the Robinson Crusoe cabana. It is very small, but also very cozy. Our 3rd night we stayed in Captain Dale's Quarters. It has far more space than we needed, but it is so wonderful. The view from the deck is amazing. Everything was fabulous....the staff, the accommodations, the atmosphere, the beach, the food, the surrounding area! I definitely recommend the Wednesday night BBQ. On day 3, my husband turned to me and said, "I never want to stay in an all-inclusive resort again". I couldn't agree more! We LOVED our stay at Cabanas La Luna.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Tr0picaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. How wonderful! Many people who tend to visit all-inclusive resorts can be leery when it comes to choosing a smaller boutique hotel. Understandable as the experiences are completely different and not for everyone. I am so thrilled to hear that this is not the case for you and your husband! We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've been back in Canada a week and can't stop thinking about my stay at Cabanas La Luna. It really was blissful! Four girlfriends and I stayed at the Zanzibar over the Easter long weekend. The house had more than everything we needed and the pool was a real treat to have for colling off after a long walk on the beach. The beds were comfortable, the bedrooms clean and cool and having breakfast brought poolside was a real treat! The service was incredible, honest and genuine. The food at the restaurant was delicious, however if you order the fish tacos be prepared for the fish to be in a sauce, rather than just the grilled fish. I would recommend this place again and hope to return in the next year or two with my family.
Thank you Cabanas La Luna for the best holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We miss you too as well! Thanks for sharing a bit about your stay. We are often looked at as a couples hotel, but we do welcome a variety of all types of groups, including families with young children and friend getaways! Thank you for sharing your tips as well. We hope to welcome you and your friends back again soon. Perhaps an annual ritual!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

4 of my best friends and I stayed at Zanzibar for 5 nights and the experience was truly blissful. We loved having the pool to jump in to whenever we wanted ... to cool down after a day on the beach, or first thing in the morning. It was also very convenient being able to order (delicious) dinner or breakfast and have it brought to us. The open-air living space was very comfortable and it was great having the friendly staff come by once or twice a day to clean. The bedrooms were very decent - the downstairs ones had air conditioning, but where I was staying upstairs the room was a little warm, despite two fans and the open window. I would recommend bringing ear plugs as the upstairs bedrooms are a little close to the road and you can hear light traffic early in the morning. I did yoga every day at Maya Tulum (close by) and rented bikes to explore the ruins & cenotes ... but most of the trip was spent on the day beds on the beach that are reserved for guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that your group had such a wonderful time and enjoyed all the amenities that Villa Zanzibar has to offer. This villa is located close to the beach road so at times the noise can be louder than others, but it is generally not too frequent. It sounds like that didn't bother you though! Thanks again for sharing your activities tips. We hope to welcome you back to our beaches soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I just returned from a second trip to Cabanas la Luna. The first was with my husband, and this time we returned with our 3 children (12, 10 and 9). We stayed in Captain Dale's Quarters, which was perfect for our family. While it may not be ideal for younger children, as the steps to the loft (with 2 double beds) are steep, our kids enjoyed their own space with beautiful views of the water and palm trees. Downstairs is a comfy queen size bed with mosquito netting, shelves for storing clothing, and a large bathroom with two sinks and plenty of shelf space.

The accommodations here are gorgeous, but this is not a luxury hotel. Rooms are purposely rustic, and if you are expecting fancy bathrooms, you will be disappointed. The shower was sometimes only lukewarm, which did not bother us. Water in the shower is a little salty, but plentiful drinking water is provided in the room. Waste paper goes into a bin rather than flushed, which takes a little getting used to, but is common in the area. This room did not have AC (though others do), and we found that the fans at night kept it cool enough for sleeping. Lighting is somewhat dim at night, so consider bringing flash lights or a nightlight for the kids.

We did not see any mosquitos while we were there, and were not bothered by bugs at all.

Captain Dale could not be closer to the beach. It is ON the sand. There is a large porch with seating and two hammocks. There are plenty of beach beds, umbrellas and chairs just steps away.

The beach in front of La Luna is the best I have ever seen -- soft sand, gentle waves (but still big enough to be fun for the kids), and the stars at night were amazing. You can walk down the beach to different restaurants and bars. We especially like the food at Zulum, next door, where there is a roof deck. La Luna has no pool, but Zulum does, and our kids played in the pool while we enjoyed drinks with a view.

La Luna's restaurant, Las Estrellas, has excellent food. Breakfast each morning includes fresh fruit, toast and jam, and you can add on egg dishes and other things if you wish.

I am not a morning person, but I found myself up early each day to see the sunrise, and to my very pleasant surprise, there was self-serve hot coffee to greet me. One reason I was up for sunrise is that there was not a lot going on at night -- we were all in bed by 9 after being at the beach during the day!

This is a place to come relax and get back to nature. All you need is a bathing suit, some flip flops and a sarong. You could spend days in Tulum without ever putting on shoes. We will return to Tulum and La Luna as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The small cabanas are perfect for a couple, and Captain Dale had plenty of space for our family with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coladakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, and coming back for a return visit with the kids! You have described exactly what we work to achieve: peace and serenity, suitable for all ages. Captain Dale's Quarters is a great family cabana and I am happy that you had the chance to make that your cabana for your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

You have to read the name of this hotel and of its restaurant to understand what a charming place it is ! What a good energy there !
"Cabanas La Luna y Las Estrellas"...
Another significant thing to say is about the kindness of all the staff.
To sum up, the place to be the place to go.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank luomweupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had such a joyous time! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#10 of 99 in Tulum
824 reviews
1 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 99 in Tulum
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £170 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing