We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun, Sand, and Serene beauty...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabanas La Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas La Luna
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
taos
1 review
“Sun, Sand, and Serene beauty...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

This place rawks!! Wind and Solar energy are harnessed here and are the sole source of electricity. The stretch of beach here might be the nicest for a good quarter mile in each direction. No restaurant on site, but good food is not hard to find here. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewrclinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    88
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
189
316
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Cabanas La Luna is a must go for anyone who wants a beach vacation at a rustic yet beautiful Mexican resort. Made up of 5 cabanas of varying sizes and styles, La Luna is a small resort with a perfect beach. The 2 kitchens add greatly to the value as making your own your drinks and meals is inexpensive and a fun part of the La Luna experience. The staff is friendly and helpful but also out of the way.

We were a group of 25 and stretched the limits of bed capacity. But having this many people helped create an atmosphere of celebration and gathering. La Luna is not the Hilton in the sense that you will not be over-served or get to watch satellite TV. In fact, electricity is generated mostly from the on-site wind turbine.

Having traveled all over Latin America, I give La Luna my highest recommendation for those who want to take it easy on a little stretch of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclinton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdhughjr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

Absolutely Amazing! First and Foremost, La Luna's staff...Free, Jacob, Edna, (sorry, missing a few) were the upmost kindest people. They made our stay extremely comfortable. We went to La Luna for my brother's wedding. It was incrediable. We rented all of the Cabannas. They were extremely clean! Edna, the housekeeper, was adorable, if you needed anything, all you had to do is ask...ie, extra towels. Everyday, the cabannas were cleaned from top to bottom...even the windows. (She also babysits...she is very trustworthy, kind, and loving! My 4 year old had a great time with Edna and her son, the language barrier was not an issue....she is a true Saint!) Free, was amazing! He helped planned the wedding (which was perfect!), assisted everyone with activities...ie: deep sea fishing, spa services, shopping, etc. He is the go-to man. Honestly, he is better than most concierge's. He is very generous, and will steer you in the right direction, he is very familiar with the area. Jacob is an incrediable chef! The meal he prepared...awh.........We are definately returning not only for the atmosphere, but also for his cuisine! Some might complain that there is not a restaurant on site.....Having your own personal chief....it was honestly a slice of heaven. His style is simple yet complex flavors....extremely talented! Definately....have Jacob create something special for you! Much better than any restaurant.

We absolutely loved La Luna so much, that we would recommend it to everyone. This is what to expect:

Layed back relaxing atmosphere...where anything goes.
Excellent for two or large groups (26-28)
Simple, yet elegant, and extremely clean
Staff is amazing
Outdoor kitchen is fantastic, if you love to cook, or make yummy cocktails, or even simple snacks. (great for saving a few bucks) **** see note at bottom
Beach is clean...and secluded...absolutely beautiful
Very Romantic
Personal Chef....better than any restaurant
Great for families....with small children - teenagers....perfect
Grounds are well kept...beautiful
PERFECT! All the way around!!!!!!
Tulum's best kept secret...honestly


Notes: We went to the San Fransisco market spent about 100.00 us dollars, we feed a family of 8 for several days...lunch, breakfast, dinner, snacks...drinks...etc. We had two 3 year olds and a teenager...it was kinda tasking to go to rest. for all meals with them...the outdoor kitchen was a lifesaver! we were able to make food they were accustomed to with out any problems. Not to mention...it was so nice to not have to go anywhere...just relax as if we were at our own beach home. perfect. the kitchen is fully equipted...no microwaves, but a gas cook top with all the utensils needed.

The Zanzabar Cabbana is a great gathering place. It's a bit away from the ocean, about a football field's length...but is perfect in the evenings......it has a private kitchen, which is great for making yummy mixed drinks and cooking....the best part.....(here's the secret....it get's really windy at nights on the beach front cabannas...this is perfect for hanging and relaxing, without getting windblown) Don't let this cabbanna...slide....it's perfect!!!

All in all, every cabbanna is perfect! The hardest part is choosing which one to stay in. Enjoy your stay, you will be treated like family. Remember.....you can save a few bucks or go all out....that's what make's La luna perfect.

PS...they do have electricity past 11pm, and wi-fi available 24/7

Michelle

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdhughjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

My husband and 2 boys, (5 & 3) stayed at La Luna for a week Feb 16th - 23rd. We were in Captain Dale's Cabana. What an amazing time we had! The beaches were beautiful and the accomadations amazing! When Jacob (one of the managers) showed us to our cabana we were overwhelmed with how beautiful the view was from the deck and the master bed! Free and Jacob were such great hosts. They were attentive yet not overbearing and were there whenever you needed them -offering great advice for restaurants and day outings. I was also quite impressed with the maid service. My boys are dirt birdies and it was so nice to come home to a sand free cabana every night. They don't have a restaurant yet but are making plans, that is exciting as that is the one thing we would have loved was a little more convenient access to food. Overall our vacation was amazing and La Luna was perfect for us. . . .

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrawdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

My mother (62) and I (34) stayed for 9 nights at La Luna and we had a wonderful time. It was for both of us our first time in Mexico and the Caraibean beaches were really like we've expected from pictures. The weather in January is great, not to hot, not to cold, the temperature of the water is fine and there is a cooling breece of wind. The cabanas are really cute and nice and you can just wake up and walk in one minute to the beach! Althought it was high season when we were there, it wasn't crowded at all fortunately. The breakfast was also great, especially the fresh fruit with yoghurt. We've once had diner at La Luna, you can order this one day in advance. This was very well too!
I could really recommend this place to people who love beautiful beaches, sun, water, and who like to read a book, because don't expect people to enjoy you with music or other entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

This is my second time to La Luna, and this time was to host my wedding. We choose Tulum and La Luna for our wedding because of it's beauty and simple elegance. We rented out the entire property and had a mix of friends and family stay with us. I don't think smiles left any of our guests faces for the 5 days we were there.

The beach is amazing and that is where we spent all of our time, playing bocce ball, reading, and socializing. We love that each cabana has its own cooler which we stocked with beer, limes, and ice. I also love the addition of Foxy and Polar - the dogs - because it makes you feel like home (Luna, the kitty is adorable too). Everyone loved their rooms (especially Captain Dales), and we stayed in Robinson Crusoe, which is the smallest of the cabanas, but worked out great because it was in the mix of everything. The only room complaints I heard were about Cuckoo's Nest, but they were minor (sticky locks which are probably caused by the humidity, and a smell in the bathroom which I covered with incense bought at Mixik).

We hosted our rehearsal dinner at La Luna and arranged our 43 guests under the seagrape trees in the garden area. We used the existing stone tables and rented 3 additional round tables and beautiful bamboo chairs from a vendor. The area looked beautiful set-up for dinner. There were lanterns strung in the trees to provide lighting and we bought colorful candles at San Francisco for the tabletops. Jacob and Free played bartender for our guests and mixed up margaritas, poured wine, and cracked open beers. They also made delicious appetizers of hummus, ceviche, guacamole, and a mayan delicacy with pumpkin seeds. It was exactly what we wanted - a casual BBQ in a beautiful setting.

The ceremony was also hosted at La Luna and set-up in the wedding area. Originally, I had wanted to get married on the beach but it was too windy, so we decided on the wedding area. It ended up being perfect and my friends decorated the arch with simple flowers found in the garden at La Luna. We also rented bamboo chairs for our guests which blended nicely with the surroundings. It was rustic, elegant. Jacob and Free made some fresh margaritas for the toast post ceremony and arranged for a mariachi band to play during that time.

I am so glad to have hosted my wedding here because it was the perfect expression of who my husband and I are as people. Jacob and Free were great helping plan my wedding, answering emails about bands, food, babysitting, etc. If you want a classy, understated, simple and beautiful wedding, then come here! We'll be back for some more relaxation in the future!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katea07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

I stayed 6 nights at La Luna with my 8 and 12 years old boys. We had the best time and La Luna totally met my expectations. Free and Jacob were courteous and devoted to their customers. The staff on site was very pleasant and respectful. My 8 years old befriended with the children living on site and he made new friends despite the language barrier. This is not a place for you if you want a "westernized hotel type of service": Rent your cabana and deal with your time, food, activities under the wise and good advices from Free or Jacob. Do not pass a massage with magical Edna, particularly a Mayan massage. She is wonderful.
La Luna is a great, genuine, rustic place to stay at the opposite side of the spectrum from Cancun and company! Enjoy the beach, the sand, play with Foxy and Polar, purr with Luna the kitty cat. Enjoy the best restaurant in town named "Buenos Aires"... but be careful with the surge of mangoes allergy among westerners! I was close to reach an anaphylactic shock during my last night at La Luna at 4AM... My guardians angels were the night guard and Rodrigo who kept an eye on my boys while I was rushing by taxi to the "popular hospital" in Tulum to get my hydro-cortisone shot... I totally trusted them leaving my sons behind to save my life... Take your EpiPen if you have allergies. I will next time, but no more mangoes for me!
That's how much you can trust the staff at La Luna!!
Enjoy your stay at La Luna, I strongly recommend it. Rent a car, or if you are saving, use the zillion of taxis shuttling between town and the beach strip for 60 pesos / $6 one way. So long Free, Jacob and all the kindest members of Rodrigo's family, particularly the 3 beautiful children. With love, La Senora Babette.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babofzerockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Property: Cabanas La Luna
Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Tulum, Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing