We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeted with a hug!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Los Mapaches
Ranked #11 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Greeted with a hug!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I LOVED this hostel!! I was looking for something a little different, to feel like I was amongst the trees. It's run by Chelo and her son, Joaquim, and you really feel at home - especially when greeted with a hug and a kiss from Chelo! The breakfast each morning is AMAZING!! A plate with an assortment of fruit is served first, with freshly squeezed juice and then another plate of food which changes each day. I remember pancakes with mangoes one day and the second day I can't remember.

Shared bathrooms were always clean. The rooms were spacious, but there were mosquitoes and they got into the room. This didn't bother me but my poor husband gets eaten alive by them. I love that there is a bike included - definitely use them as there are a range of places you can ride to.

It's not on the main street of town and will probably take a good 10 minute ride to the beach but this is GREAT value for money!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banany36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    20
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
67
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at the hostel and loved the place. The rooms are located in little thatched huts that make you feel like you are right in the jungle. Breakfast is huge and of outstanding quality, the landlady and her son are just lovely.

Also the free bikes are a huge bonus as you can easily cycle through the Cenotes in the area or the beautiful beach.

I know other travellers minded the road noise - I personally live in a city so I didn't think it was an issue. Yes, you will hear cars on the road as you do in any other hotel that is located on a road but I did not think much of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!! Stayed for 6 nights and wanted to stay longer. Chelo and Joaquin have to be some of the nicest , most kind people we've ever met. Great breakfast , bike included which is a necessity in tulum, hire of snorkel etc way cheaper than anywhere else , great rooms , clean and lovely relaxed atmosphere. Best hostel ever!! Thanks Chelo xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubymisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the last two nights of my Mexican trip and it was the best place to end. The hosts, a mother and son who run the B&B were so warm and friendly they kept me smiling all day! A Lil boy outside the town but with bikes you could cycle easily everywhere! Also cycling created a breeze and made the warm weather comfortable. I am sure we saved a lot cycling everywhere. Cycling distance to grand cenote and very close to the ruins and fantastic beach. Only down side was the toilets were shared and a little walk from our room. A unique place to stay with a banging breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

This place is so cool. Right off the main highway but you feel like your in another world. Chelo, the owner, and her son are so sweet and she has lots of friendly dogs and cats to make you feel at home. Rooms are like big comfy tree houses. Bathrooms are kept very clean and the showers always have hot water. Chelo's home cooked breakfasts are absolutely delicious. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrickHouse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is probably the best Hostel I have ever stayed in.

To start of with, the owners (a mum and her son) are so welcoming and nice. They made us feel right at home and provided us with all the information we needed. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they work so hard on the hostel - which is evident. It really is a special place.

The facilities were great - the rooms large and with great storage. The showers and toilets were clean and the bikes were fantastic. What a brilliant concept - bed, breakfast and bikes. I loved the way they provided little baskets for the shower things, and torches!

Breakfast each day was delicious! Coffee, tea, fresh smoothie, fresh fruit and then a main dish which changed each day. All homemade, whenever you decide to sit down at the table!

The location may put people of but I found it brilliant - especially with the bikes. Very close to the beach and ruins (maybe a 5-10min bike ride), and a similar disatnce into the main town where we got dinner most nights. Tulum is well worth a visit as there was plenty to do and I would have happily stayed here longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a treehouse-style cabana for 3 nights. The owner, Chelo, and her son were quick to make us feel welcome and they helped us plan our visit to Tulum's amazing sites. We got free bicycles to help us get around town and to the beautiful white sand beaches. Breakfast was included - coffee, fruit, and a different main course every day (usually egg-based and always delicious!) The shared bathrooms are clean and showers had good water pressure. The posada is not in the town itself, but is a ten minute cycle or 5 minute taxi ride. Although it's not in town, it's opposite the entrance to the beach ruins and close to the beaches. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
498 reviews
2.0 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 96 in Tulum
921 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#76 of 96 in Tulum
300 reviews
1.7 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#20 of 96 in Tulum
599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Mapaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Mapaches

Property: Posada Los Mapaches
Address: Carretera federal Chetumal - Cancun | Zona Arqueologica de Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Los Mapaches Hostal B, B & B (Bike, Bed & Breakfast) Come, Relax and Enjoy the beautiful palapas (cabins). Ride your bike, and go to the Ruins, Beach or Cenotes!! Hostel room for 4 people only, private room, shared bathroom, hot water 24 hrs, Delicious breakfast, bike 24 hrs., electricity 24 hrs and more... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Los Mapaches Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing