We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome and amazing rustic hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Los Mapaches
Ranked #12 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and amazing rustic hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a beautiful and impeccably run casual, lodge style accommodation for the adventurous traveler or backpacker. Rooms are palapa and wood style cabin units surrounded by trees and plants. No airconditioning, but fan is perfectly sufficient under the breezy thatch roof. Location is outside town, on the highway just across an entrance to the Tulum archeological site. Accommodations include a bike and breakfast. Our breakfast included fruit, juice, coffee and a home made breakfast sandwich. The proprietress and chef extraordinaire, Chelo was incredibly kind and endearing as are her sons! We were assisted in making the best of our time in Tulum and given a full run down of activities within biking distance. This was the most personal and sincere hospitality we've ever received in Mexico. Definitely a must for the active traveler.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    20
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
67
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely little family run hostel!
Chelo and her sons have a genuine care for the people that stay at the hostel. It ticked all the boxes in that it was clean tidy, close to the main attraction and secure!

The only thing this place lacks is a nightlife but if you're looking for that you're probably better off in playa del Carmen anyway. Tulum as a town was generally very quiet at night and places closed early.

The people that stayed during our stay have been regulars for years and we could see why they came back. Try and book your stay for a Sunday, Chelo makes pancakes and they're the best pancakes I've had at a hostel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelbugglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Los Mapaches. We felt at home from the start thanks to Chelo, the owner who met us upon arrival.

It felt adventurous and something different compared to a normal hotel by the beach.

Great price, fantastic breakfast prepared by Joaquin every morning, very practical with bikes included.

It important to know that the highway is next to the hotel, which means some noise. We slept quite well though.
Shared toilets and showers, always clean.

It takes only 5-10 min by bike to the ruins, and to the city of Tulum. The beach is a bike or a taxi ride away, not really walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva_Levin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Chelo and her family who run the place were so kind and accommodating. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is really clean. The breakfast is included and it is amazing!!.. you are given a bike with your room and it makes getting around so easy. Its a close bike ride to the beach. Really loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The hostel is in the perfect location- half way between the beach and Tulum town center.
I originally stayed at a hostel in town but moved here for the better location and the better vibe.
The owner Chelo is a wonderful host and her two sons are the only people that work here ie: your gear is safe in the rooms- they are trust worthy. Free bikes are provided....it's a wonderful area to spend a few days.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, and loved it! They gave us bikes, reflective vests, a headlamp, towels, a little basket to bring our toiletries to the showers, (there are private rooms but shared bathrooms) and amazing 2-course breakfasts every morning. Chelo is like a mom, her and her sons are amazing! They spray your stuff with bug spray when you first come in to protect against anyone coming in with bugs, and they are diligent about repelling bugs so that the place is fine even though you are directly beside the jungle. The huts are cool, clean, and there is lots of shade. There is a speedbump just outside the entrance so *most* cars slow down which helps when leaving to explore, otherwise it offers endless entertainment as people speed over it and damage their cars every ten minutes. It became a running joke while we socialized with other guests in the evening :) Location is good - close to beach and ruins, have to cycle into town but that was fine!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyrafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and it was brilliant. Yes it is quite close to the road, but it didn't trouble us or affect our sleep - there are much noisier places to stay in Tulum which don't offer the same feeling of privacy as here - some people did say it was a bit noisy. The whole place is charming, tastefully done and very clean. Chelo and her family were very welcoming, we dropped off our bags very early and were given coffee, fruit juice and use of the bikes all before we checked in.

The beach and Tulum ruins are very easy to get to on the bikes. The cycle track into town is a bit more difficult at night as many of the other cyclists don't use lights! You have to keep your wits about you especially nearer town, but it doesn't take long to get there.

Would definitely recommend staying here

Room Tip: Maybe further away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
1.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#72 of 93 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Mapaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Mapaches

Property: Posada Los Mapaches
Address: Carretera federal Chetumal - Cancun | Zona Arqueologica de Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Los Mapaches Hostal B, B & B (Bike, Bed & Breakfast) Come, Relax and Enjoy the beautiful palapas (cabins). Ride your bike, and go to the Ruins, Beach or Cenotes!! Hostel room for 4 people only, private room, shared bathroom, hot water 24 hrs, Delicious breakfast, bike 24 hrs., electricity 24 hrs and more... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Los Mapaches Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing