We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, great breakfasts and friendly owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Los Mapaches
Ranked #11 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing value, great breakfasts and friendly owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The owner will welcome you whole heartedly to this wonderful place. It is built in a traditional way with no aircon, but magically the place stays way cooler than anywhere else.

If you are after local advice the owner will help you with anything. Upon arrival you are given free bikes to get around meaning that everything becomes really close. The beds are comfy, the breakfasts are amazing.

Bottom line: you should stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    20
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
67
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing and hauntingly beautiful hostel! It's so exotic, owners are fantastic and very helpful. We found out where and when to see tortoises, where to eat and we had bikes which made our stay so much easier as the hostel is a little remote. Breakfasts are delicious, every day some other warm meal and fresh exotic juice, all prepared by the owners. Cannot say enough good things about this place! Will definitely come back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barb242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Would really recommend staying at Chelo and sons'sweet hostel - couldn't say a bad word! Chelo was easily contactable by email and from the few messages exchanged we could tell how lovely she was and this was definitely the case! She was warm and welcoming and her English was really good (despite what she says!) and she explained everything to us. Our room was so nice and really comfortable. The whole place seemed very secure and safe. The breakfasts were such a treat! we had a surprise dish every morning that really set us up for the
days ahead. The hospitality really made the experience and we couldn't have asked for anything more! Muchas gracias Chelo!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed with Chelo for 3 days at the beginning of my Mexico holiday. chelos's warm welcome after a long flight was a great introduction. The cabana I stayed in was perfect for an independent traveller - it was clean, the bed was comfy and the fan did the trick. There was some noise from the road as there is a speed bump outside, but this didn't bother me and I didn't need ear plugs. The breakfast was amazing - a fresh fruit plate, juice and then a second course!. As part of the deal you get a bike to use, head torch and safety gear, which is handy as you are a little way out of town and a short cycle to the beach. All in all posada Los mapaches is great value and a friendly hostel. The only thing you might want to take into consideration if you want to be by the beach is that it is a pricey taxi ride to the hotel/ restaurant zone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somedays_i_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Tulum thinking we would stay for three days and ten minutes after arriving at Posada Los Mapaches decided we wanted to stay longer! So our three days turned into six and if we didn't have a flight to catch we would have stayed longer.

Chelo and her sons are the perfect hosts! They are so friendly and welcoming, it feels like family.

The price includes an incredible breakfast as well as your own bike for your entire stay. We were told all the good places to check out and it is all so easy on the bike.

The posada has a great vibe. It's social but quiet. If you are looking to party this is not the place. But if you are looking for a warm, welcoming place where you can meet chilled out people this is perfect.

I will be back to Tulum one day and this is the only place I would stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmmmmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a beautiful and impeccably run casual, lodge style accommodation for the adventurous traveler or backpacker. Rooms are palapa and wood style cabin units surrounded by trees and plants. No airconditioning, but fan is perfectly sufficient under the breezy thatch roof. Location is outside town, on the highway just across an entrance to the Tulum archeological site. Accommodations include a bike and breakfast. Our breakfast included fruit, juice, coffee and a home made breakfast sandwich. The proprietress and chef extraordinaire, Chelo was incredibly kind and endearing as are her sons! We were assisted in making the best of our time in Tulum and given a full run down of activities within biking distance. This was the most personal and sincere hospitality we've ever received in Mexico. Definitely a must for the active traveler.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely little family run hostel!
Chelo and her sons have a genuine care for the people that stay at the hostel. It ticked all the boxes in that it was clean tidy, close to the main attraction and secure!

The only thing this place lacks is a nightlife but if you're looking for that you're probably better off in playa del Carmen anyway. Tulum as a town was generally very quiet at night and places closed early.

The people that stayed during our stay have been regulars for years and we could see why they came back. Try and book your stay for a Sunday, Chelo makes pancakes and they're the best pancakes I've had at a hostel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelbugglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
1.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#69 of 92 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Mapaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Mapaches

Property: Posada Los Mapaches
Address: Carretera federal Chetumal - Cancun | Zona Arqueologica de Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Los Mapaches Hostal B, B & B (Bike, Bed & Breakfast) Come, Relax and Enjoy the beautiful palapas (cabins). Ride your bike, and go to the Ruins, Beach or Cenotes!! Hostel room for 4 people only, private room, shared bathroom, hot water 24 hrs, Delicious breakfast, bike 24 hrs., electricity 24 hrs and more... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Los Mapaches Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing