We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is heavenly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Via Laktea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Via Laktea
Ranked #80 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

La Via Laktea is one of the loveliest spots in Tulum. The rooms are gorgeous and the location is ideal . Bambu and Roberto are great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    6
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
7
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

My brother and me and our partners wanted to celebrate my parent's 60th birthdays with a stay where we could relax in beautiful sorroundings, go for hikes in nature, dive, snorkel, eat good food and see historical sites. After searching the Internet for a long time we found Tulum - and La Via Laktea. It looked like Paradise. And we were not disappointed.

We booked the hotel through differentworld.com, and received great service. They also arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport drive us to the hotel.

Bambu at La Via Laktea was very sweet, and arranged the three top floor sea front rooms for us. It was heaven waking up the first morning - and every morning thereafter. My parents - who have been travelling a lot in Asia, Spain and Greece - fell for the place immediately, and said it to be one of the most beautiful places they'd been to. A very successful birthday present indeed!

La Via Laktea's advantage is that it is simple, laying at the least toristic and very quiet part of the long Tulum Beach. We were served coconuts with drinking straws on the beach at no charge, and borrowed for free sunchairs and bodyboards on the almost deserted beach, scattered with coconut palm trees.

It was a bit cold, as it was the beginning of December, but the sea was warm and most days were nice for sunbathing as well. We experienced that the sea breeze blowing into the sea front bungalows at night can get quite cold. The staff gave us warm blankets, but I would still recommend to bring warm clothes to sleep with for occational cold nights if you travel at that time of the year.

Food: there were plenty nice beach bars a few minutes walk along the nice beach, and some nice evening restaurants. And the restaurants in Tulum were only a cab drive away.

The friendly owner Bambu arranged everything for us: bike rentals, restaurant recommendations, taxis, trips to nature reserves and historical sites, diving etc.

I whish I had dived and snorkelled more. The sea was clear and visibility great (when the sea was calm), with beautiful colorful fishes! We discovered the last day that we only had to swim a bit out from the beach outside the resort to snorkel and see colorful fish.

The most amazing experience was to see the hatching of turtle eggs on the beach one day! We were sunbathing and suddenly saw hundreds of tiny turtle babys fighting their way through the sand to reach the sea. Fantastic to be able to experience something like that!

I highly recommend this place to anyone preferring peace, quiet and nature's paradise in stead of beach bars and party.

Bambu: thank you so much for making our stay special to us, and for your friendliness and your good advices on what to do and where to eat! We would love to return some day!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

My Husband & I stayed at La Via Laktea for one week and were mostly satisfied with the experience.
The good things about La Via Laktea:
• It has an exquisite beach, privacy, peace & quiet.
• The room is large with a king-size bed, and the balcony was great for my husband who can take or leave the sun.
• Maid service was excellent; They changed our sheets without us having to strip the bed.
• Owners were responsive & extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations.
Not so great things:
• We stayed in Cabana #1. The shower flooded the room. We informed the owners but my husband ended up temporarily fixing the shower head. However, the water pressure was terrible.
• My husband and I are coffee addicts. La Via Laktea is an “environmentally-green” type of accommodation; they do not have coffee makers in the room. You can buy breakfast at La Via Laktea, but we are early risers and La Via Laktea’s kitchen was never opened when we woke up and needed our fix.
• Back to La Via Laktea being environmentally green--the lights are on from dusk until 11PM some nights and midnight other nights. For the price, I think La Via Laktea could provide electricity throughout the night.
• I am being fussy, but the balcony had two wonderful hammocks and horrible, ugly plastic table and chairs. Losing the plastic furniture would be a good thing.
That said, finding a place that offers solitude without breaking the bank is getting more difficult. La Via Laktea offers that and a bit more.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tundragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

We spent two nights at Via Laktea and wished we could have stayed a lifetime. We had booked the garden-view 2nd floor room (much more affordable than the ocean-view rooms), but learned upon arrival that it was not available. So they upgraded us to the beachfront central cabin, which was amazing. Via Laktea is on the far south part of Tulum beach, within a few minutes' walk to the natural preserve. It was very private and quiet.

The room was enormous and well laid-out (Roberto designed the round spaces for maximum efficiency and spaciousness). The shower was beautiful, with Mexican tiles and plenty of hot water once you let the water run a few minutes at first. The toilet is in its own separate area. Each unit has its own private porch with hammocks. Windows have screens and we had no bug problems in the room. Bambu had excellent recommendations for places to visit in the area, including Ek Balam ruins and a relatively unknown cenote at the end of the beach road.

There are several things that set Via Laktea apart from other beachfront cabanas in Tulum. Most important is that there are only 4 buildings on a large lot, meaning a true sense of privacy if you want to "get away from it all." Other places we visited (Hamaca Loca next-door, Tierras del Sol, Nueva Vida up the road, Ana y Jose, etc.) were downright congested in comparison, with cabanas (and other guests) everywhere you look. Another thing is its location at the southern end of the beach road, which is much quieter and less populated, and the beach is much broader, with full sand entry (unlike some spots in the northern-central region). Some might not like the relative isolation, since there are only a few restaurant options within a short walk of the hotel. But we had a rental car and much preferred living in relative isolation and then driving to the more "civilized" areas for eating and shopping. Also important is the solidity of the buildings at Via Laktea: these are not shacks with wooden walls, but spacious, modern units built only a few years ago. You still have the feeling of a beachside cabin, with palapa roofs and a nice breeze, but you don't have bugs or visiting iguanas in your bed, you don't need to sleep inside mosquito nets, and you don't have to be self-conscious that neighbors walking by your cabin can hear or even see everything going on inside (some cabins at other places along the beach have stick walls, open not only to breezes but to bugs and prying eyes). At night, when the electricity goes on (from dusk to midnight), the soft lights built into the room's interior walls and the lighting outside in the grounds is magical and romantic.

Our only two complaints are that there was no safe in the room to lock up passports and wallets while on the beach (one reads of petty theft in some beachside cabanas in Tulum, so better safe than sorry), and also that the rooms in high season are fairly pricey, with beachfront rooms going for $200 or $225 in January 2009. (We were fortunate to pay only $125 for our room because of the unexpected upgrade.) But given that all the prices in Tulum are going sky-high, I would rather stay in a bona fide luxury cabana like Via Laktea for that money than in the shacks at other places along the beach, which are just about as pricey for a lot less comfort.

We hope to have a chance to return to Via Laktea before Tulum becomes overdeveloped; but time seems to be running out with news of a planned international airport and development plans for a condo-filled new downtown area. Go there while you can still have the feeling you've discovered a quiet undeveloped paradise!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

The view from our second floor ocean front room was spectacular and the beach here lovely. The room was clean and nice (except that the shower isn't made well and makes a lake on the floor with each use and one of the lights didn't work even after they fixed it). Bed comfortable. But the owners are very unprofessional. They can be kind and helpful when it suits them, but that treatment is not equal for all guests.

We made the mistake of not completing and getting clear about all of our payment up front before we left. Bambu had made a mistake and misquoted us a cheaper price on our room. Several days after we paid our 50% deposit on PayPal and had booked our plane tickets (with no reservations at other places I had looked at still available), she informed us that she had made a mistake and we still owed another $800. That was way out of our budget, which I told her. She offered us 15% off the full price, and I felt that still was not enough since it was still out of our budget range. We asked to speak with the owner several times and were not able to. She sent us an email a few days before our arrival telling us not to worry and that we could work out the money when we got there.

Three days into our stay, the owner, Roberto, spoke to us about our bill. He was unwilling to negotiate in any way regarding the price. He said that Bambu had no authority whatsoever to even offer us a discount and told us we could have one more night at the rate we were at and then we needed to leave. This was two days before Christmas, so I was not hopeful about getting another room. Here I have to take responsibility that I should have made sure this was handled before we left. However, Roberto was unwilling to negotiate the price of the room at all and be satisfied with any discount. I have owned my own business and had to eat costs for mistakes I've made, and, to me, that is just the cost of doing business. To me, Roberto and Bambu both acted very unprofessionally, not taking any responsibility for their mistake, and being rather unhospitable. Fortunately, we found another place to stay where we were very well taken care of and had a wonderful week.

I do give Roberto credit for refunding our money in cash after we found another place to stay. He does have some honesty, and I think that Roberto and Bambu can probably be very charming hosts when they want to be, but that was very unfortunately not our experience.

  • Liked — the view, the beach, the hammocks on our balcony
  • Disliked — the unprofessional attitude of the owners
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetpea333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed a total of 4 nights at La Via Laktea with my boyfriend. We had a second floor seaview room which was amazing. The hotel has a total of 8 rooms/4 cabanas on the remote and quiet end of the beach in Tulum. Our room was very large with a big balcony overlooking palm trees and the Caribbean Sea and a 15 foot high thatched roof ceiling. The room was simple but clean and tasteful, it was perfect. La Vie Laktea is a very quiet, casual and "hands off" operation. There is no restaurant or bar there which isn't really a bad thing because there are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. We went to almost every hotel on the Tulum beach and by far thought that La Via Laktea was the best place to stay for a quiet, relaxing, romantic and beautiful getaway. We'll be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank echall25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

We were all very pleased with our stay at La Via Laktea. We included two adults and a child. We would like to thank the owner Bamboo, for her genuine hospitality and generosity, which contributed to our wonderful vacation in Tulum. We were also introduced to a friend of Bamboo visiting at the time who was also wonderful to meet. The accommodation was very comfortable and private. The beach was spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was perched high as if in a tree, with double doors that opened onto a veranda with hammocks and a view of an incredible turquoise ocean with swaying palm trees. The cabana was on the beach but set back for privacy, although the beach was already sparsely populated. We had the second floor and found it quiet and peaceful. We appreciated the natural setting of La Via Laktea. There was an invigorating yet relaxing breeze that kept any mosquitoes away and lulled us all into a state of calm. We found this cabana by chance. We made reservations at another resort for our first few days in Tulum and then set out to find another accommodation. We explored many places finding all so different from one another. We were lucky to find a chance vacancy here. We were very content at La Via Laktea for its friendly relaxed and natural atmosphere.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seapotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Turquesa Tulum Jungle Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harmony Glamping and Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Quintana Roo National Park Campground & Hiking
0.0 mi away
Cenote Encantado
Cenote Encantado
#31 of 115 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Laktea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Laktea

Property: La Via Laktea
Address: Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Via Laktea Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing