We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Paraiso - Beach Club @ Tulum”
Review of El Paraiso Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Paraiso Tulum
Ranked #12 of 89 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have been to this beach club many times, only for the beach!! The beach is GORGEOUS!!! White sand, some palms, walk for miles...all the good things in life. OK, so you have to rent the beach loungers and bed..if you want....the price varies between seasons and you can barter a bit with them if you have a group and you want this and not that. The food, well that's another matter. Not the best and can be pricey. But on this latest visit in March, the service we had was the worse ever...we had to go ask for menus...then ask for the guy to return to take our order..then ask where the food is and then find the guy for the bill..and then that was not made up and we had to tell him again, what we ordered so that he could charge us...OMG. And yes, we even told who appeared to be someone in charge but it didn't seem to matter. We got the impression they were trying to tell us it was busy, and this and that...BUT we have been here many times with the service being much better. It was not very busy on this day. Oh BTW, no tip for him!! I think the waiter's name was Rafa , but will definately NOT be in his area next time. this will not deter us from returning. it is a beautiful beach...go but watch out for the service. Remember, don't sweat the small stuff....enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CookyM-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for El Paraiso Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Simple yet elegant rooms, comfortable beds, nice breakfast by the beach, oh - gorgeous beach with lots of palm trees, the beach club with chairs and sunbeds all over, great food, turquoise waters, fantastic weather. Free wifi. Right on the gorgeous beach, 15-minute walk from the Tulum ruins. We really liked it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our family was having a gorgeous stroll, south along the beach from the Tulum ruins, when we came upon this club. I figured it to be another place with mediocre food at gringo prices. HOW WRONG I WAS! All of our dishes were very good, ( some of the best shrimp quesidillas that I have ever tasted ) portions were very large, ( we could not remotely eat all of the food we were served ) service was attentive, and the price was reasonable. Needless to say, the location is as fine as any in the Riviera Maya, adjacent to a huge beach, with some of the softest sand that my toes have ever had the priviledge of walking on. What a gem! Gracias!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The location is wonderful, most beautiful beach I have ever seen (better than Tahiti, Bali, ...).
Hotel is at walking distance to the ruins, which is convenient.
However, services are so poor and staff so unfriendly that the atmosphere is not as good as it could be in such a place. For instance, you must pay more to get towels, to get the key of the safe (you must also sign a paper that you will pay 100$ if you lose it), to check out after 12:00 (even if the hotel is half full...).....
Reception and restaurant are almost always closed.
Food and drinks are very expensive.
I would recommend to look for another place!

Room Tip: Number 1 has the best view on the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenjiFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent a day at the beach club. The beach is beautiful and daybeds for 150 pesos a great place to spend a lazy beach day.

The service is slow, however, and the food terrible and expensive. The burger was tasteless, the fries cold and the Cesar salad consisted of THREE salad leaves.

They also charge for each time you want to use the beach shower or the toilet.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDN_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Looking for a hidden gem of real value in Mexico? On arguably the best beach in the Yucatan? Nancy and I flew to Cancun this past November and after taking a cab down to Tulum we ended up staying for 3 weeks at El Paraiso Beach Club Hotel. During our month away we checked out Cancun and Playa del Carmen and we had a fabulous road-trip to Valladolid, Merida, Sisal and Progreso, but Tulum provided the peaceful getaway we needed.

The El Paraiso Beach Club hotel is about 1 ½ kilometers down the North beach road in Tulum, about half way to the Tulum ruins. There are only 10 rooms and they are not luxurious, but rather they are well appointed and very clean and the property is spacious and the beach is magnificent! What makes it special? First, the Manager, Silvia Giordani. She was gracious, warm and helpful at every turn. Silvia treated us like family and she always went out of her way to make things better for us in so many little ways.

Secondly, did I mention the beach? Protected by a reef which lies about ½ kilometer out, the sand is like white sugar and the waters are those indescribable shades of turquoise and azure. I am attaching some photos.

Next, although the hotel provides a full breakfast on an outside terrace, as part of their rates, they do not have a conventional restaurant. Nevertheless, there are 2 terrific restaurants within walking distance at nearby hotels, at La Vita e Bella and also The Mezzanine.

Lastly, because they are “off the grid” and they have to supply their own electricity by generator, they shut off the power from 6:30 am to 2:30pm. You can still shower during those hours, but you can’t get internet during that time. Relax - you’re there to unwind! So… just go and enjoy!

Windflyer, Trev Mclean

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Windflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed before in a boutique hotel near El Paraiso before (Mezanine) but as they had no room for our last two nights we moved to El Paraiso. I were not sure because of some bad comments in Trip Advisor but the place was fantastic for half the price that we paid in the other hotel. Even the breakfast was not perfect at least it was included in the price and also the sun beds on the beach. Also you are in front of the coral reef and a walking distance from the ruins. If you can choose go to the room #1 (is the closer to the beach)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepe_madrid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 98 in Tulum
370 reviews
2.0 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#21 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
1.9 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 98 in Tulum
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paraiso Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paraiso Tulum

Address: Carretera Boca Paila Mz 3 Lote 2, Tulum 77781, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £107 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Paraiso Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Paradise is like exactly where you are right now…only much, much better" Laurie Anderson At El Paraiso Hotel we take great pride in the untouched nature of Tulum. We have therefore created a small hotel in harmony with nature without waiving the comfort of modern living.Our vast pristine white sandy beach and the calm crystal-clear waters invite to stress free beach days, water activities and romantic walks along the shore line. Cool off with a refreshing young coconut picked from one of our innumerable palm trees, take up diving or kite surfing, or just be, and let all your worries disappear while you relax in the shade of an umbrella.Explore the natural wonders and archeological sites of Tulum. One of the best preserved Mayan ruin is just around the corner from El Paraiso Hotel. The ruins set at the top of lime stone cliffs overlooking the waters offer visitors spectacular views.The Sian Kaan Biosphere, cenotes and caves hidden deep within the jungle, as well as national parks can all be found within short distance from our hotel. Add to this the second largest Reef in the world just off shore and the abundant marine life of the Caribbean, which has made Tulum and important and extraordinary location for all types of water sports.After a day at the beach or discovering the surrounding areas, El Paraiso Hotel is a place to relax, unwind and disconnect from the busy days of the normal life. Pamper yourself to a massage from our Spa services right on the beach with the waves of the ocean as the only sound, or revive the ancient Mayan tradition of worshipping the sunset joining us in our sunset yoga on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your El Paraiso Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paraiso Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing