We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #57 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I arrived in Tulum February 2013, and had to leave the apartment I'd booked (across the road from Om Hotel) because ANOTHER hotel's generator was on ALL night & I couldn't sleep.

After two nights without sleep I gave up on the apartment, and fortunately Om Hotel had a cabana for me. All I could hear was the sea... Om Hotel was perfect. I didn't need or want to leave their beach or bar for the next 15 nights, and no where else I went to matched it. A couple of nearby shops, and every day independents would come onsite to offer beach massages, scuba gear to hire. Very clean rooms. Amazing food, friendly, warm service, lovely staff, everything was A*. Paradise.

Nightly music (which was variable, but at least was there), good internet connection (aside from a couple of hours' downtime every morning) and a slow, steady way of life. I wrote a book while staying there, they let me play my music from time to time on their sound system, and made me feel like part of a family. Looking forward to a return & to hang out with Lissette, Isabel, Freddie & everyone else.

Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    113
    45
    37
    29
See reviews for
64
160
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The food is delicious, the fish are caught the same day and the drinks are just great and the ambiance is very relaxing with musicians playing live during some nights. The beach is just gorgeous and is one of the best I've ever seen, I wish I could wake up to it every day but alas such thing isn't really possible for me.

I highly recommend this hotel and I will certainly be returning when I get the opportunity. The only downside is that electricity is cut off during the night (around 3-4 am) but that is the case with all the hotels in the area so it is not really that much of an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor_Nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had the best time at Om Tulum. We have spent a lot of time in Tulum but this was by far the best. Om is the perfect hotel to relax and eat delicious sea food. Om is a clean place, everyone is really nice they make you feel like home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The rustic hotel is in a very narrow lot between the road and the lovely white sand beach. We had booked 4 rooms for our family group of 13, ranging from 11 to 80 years of age. The first sign of trouble was when one of the 4 rooms they gave us had a very strong moldy smell (that they tried to cover up with incense) and the promised air condititioner didn't work - which was a particular concern given the mid-30s temperatures we had been experiencing in our travels from Merida to Chichen Itza to Tulum. Since this room was not habitable and there were no other rooms available, 6 of us had to squeeze into one room for the night. The manager was not helpful, first insisting the air conditioner was working properly when it was in fact blowing ambient temperature air, then threatening to evict us if we didn't pay up for the three days we had booked, even though he was unable to provide four suitable rooms.

Other problems included water supply failure in two of the rooms in the evening, and the water that did come was salty, so much so that one of my boys complained about having to take a shower in sea water. We know when we booked the hotel that the air conditioning wasn't available all night, but when it was turned off at around 5 am the electricity also went off for a while, which meant even the ceiling fan didn't work, so most of our group woke up because of the heat. Also a sign at the hotel entrance said we couldn't bring food or beverages of any kind into the hotel. We decided to change hotels after one night, which meant a wasted day of our vacation dealing with a rude manager and a search for alternative accomodations. Sadly I didn't even set foot on the white powder sand beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtulum, Owner at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
We really sorry that you feel that way, but the problem is when people book an hotel before read about the city...........Tulum is an ecological place and 100% self sustaining so is not regular electricity thats why air conditioner is not as powerful as you required , and for the same reason only 5% of the hotels in Tulum have AC and this ones charge 200% more then us, electricity works from 12 pm to 3 am and we do advise that in all the emails we send to our guest before they book and also in our confirmation , but this is in ALL Tulum área, some hotels just have electricity from 7pm to 1am, we always give this information to everybody but some people decided not to read the information and thats why they get surprised when they check in.
Water is from our own well and this is something wonderfull for skin, actually a lot of people pay for spa treatments with this kind of wáter, but not everybody knows about this so is hard to aprecciate.
Our name is Om Tulm cabañas and beach club........if you check on Wikipedia, cabañas means :a simple house typically located in semi-rural área. We do ask for full payment on the moment of check inn but this is also advice on the confirmation page and we send this before you arrive so you can be prepared and it is very usual in may hotels all over the world.

We do have incense in all the rooms but this is for people who like to meditate , Tulum is a very spiritual place and we really sorry you did not aprecciate this, but we know this place is not for everybody.................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horning, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just stayed there for 3 nights... The whole family loved it. Sitting in the restaurant overlooking the turquoise sea is just the best. The food is nice too. The prices are higher than in the rest of the places we've been to in Mexico so far, but that's the pricerange in all Tulum. We went looking for seaturtles at night laying their eggs.. Magic!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We didn't stay here but we went to the restaurant and it was SUPERB. We ended up getting a whole sea bass cooked for us. We went to check out which fish we wanted, which were all fresh and caught that same day. For about $50 for 2 of us, we had a HUGE fish with rice, salad, and veggies. The waitstaff was so nice here as well and brought out drinks to us the entire time we were outside on the beach. This chef should win Top Chef. I cannot stop thinking about this restaurant! We had a late lunch around 4pm and were literally full until about 10pm at night. I've never had such an amazing meal before. Must check out!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

After the buzz of Cancun, we breathed a sigh of relief as we approached the reception, and saw the view of the pristine beach, azure sea and palm trees. The cabanas are primitive, but that was part of the appeal for us. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly. Tulum is nearby and a 10 minute taxi ride. Taxis are easy to flag down. There is no mini-fridge in the cabanas.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems, make sure you inform the hotel, so that you get a ground floor ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljbb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#8 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
0.7 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#35 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#17 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Property: Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing