We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has potential!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Has potential!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

As you wouldn't have 5 star expectations from places around Tulum, expect a hiccup or 2 here and there. The place has charm, has a great restaurant deck right on the beach (one of the most beautiful beaches you will ever visit, mind).
The rooms are small and so are the bathrooms; something like that I don't mind - the service is inconsistent and that makes things confusing.
We were only told AFTER booking that the electricity shuts for 4 hours a night - might be an issue if you need the air-con on while you sleep (and you WILL need it when it's hot!).
Sadly the GREAT lunch menu (Mexican) changed at night to a more European menu - it's a shame, as we were only interested in local food. The one lunch we had there - FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: Check about electricity BEFORE you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    115
    46
    37
    29
See reviews for
65
162
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great hotel for the money!!!, we actually enjoyed our stay very much, the food was delicious, the staff really friendly...they could maybe use some upgrade on the beach furniture though...we had no complaints at all, our room had A/C and it worked just fine...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We didn't stay long and checked out before our trip was over. The hotel was filthy, there were bugs everywhere. This was disappointing. We have been coming to Tulum for years and had always wondered about staying at OM - it's been there a while. This is one of the hotels that had air conditioning so we expected more than eco chic.. we got much worse than any eco -chic hotel I've ever stayed at. Bugs were everywhere including in the beds, walls, floor, and ceiling.. and the bathroom had dirt in the corners and balled up hair from previous visitors.. mold too was found in the bathroom - I suspect from the change in temp with the air conditioning.. It just wasnt' what I've been used to in Tulum and we've stayed at plenty of places that are thatched roofs and stick walls (cabanas) that were much much cleaner. We've even stayed in places without bathrooms and they too were much cleaner. The service in the restaurant was a little off.. Food is average.. orders were not being delivered as ordered.. nor were drinks.. but at that point a drink was a drink... I recommend staying else where.. There are plenty of other places to stay...

Room Tip: Stay else where... while we were in the restaurant we met others who had bugs and dirty rooms too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtulum, Owner at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We really sorry you had a bad time, but maybe you did not understand our concept;
we are a ECO place, we always try to be in harmony with nature and respect all the area because we are on the beach but all Tulum beach area is jungle, we do fumigate but only to keep mosquitos, geckos, crabs, turtles, butterfly's away from the cabañas, we don't use pesticides, we don't kill anything alive, at the end we are the ones who invaded they habitat ............. this is the real concept for Tulum be in the middle of nature in harmony so you can disconnected yourself , meditate, do some yoga and love all nature.......we understand OM Tulum is not for everybody and hope all our future guest appreciate be in peace and love nature just the way we do........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We slept in a cabana 4 nights.
It was terribly hot and humid in the wood because the walls are not made of wood like a cabana should be so the sea breeze cannot get through.
All our stuff, even in the suitcases, stink and was wet. The A/C didn't work properly, either the fan.
The first night we didn't have any hot water...The room was poorly clean every day and we had some cockroaches the last night.
I don't think that we will go back to this hotel if we go back to Tulum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchieWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtulum, Owner at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello,

We really sorry you had a bad time, all Mexico just past for very very bad storms and terrible inundations so thats why it was so humid, in Tulum we had 3 weeks of non stop rain. About the walls , we made with Wood and concrete, if we do only of weed will be a lot of breeze but also your cabaña will be full of sand and nobody like that, for AC you need to close all the Windows and doors so this can turn on, if you have Windows and doors open this does not work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We wanted to get a way from the hustle and bustle for a quick mini vacation and I am so happy I chose the OM! The staff was super friendly and the food is nothing short of amazing! Rooms are minimal/rustic, but we were expecting that...it was actually nice. :) I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to leave it all and just relax!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniquitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cancun
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

10 "cabañas" squeezed into a VERY narrow lot so none have beach view, ours was closest , but right behind restaurant, so the smoke and fumes from kitchen made it hard to use terrace. Rooms VERY rustic, the shower curtain in shreds and very little water came out of shower so took forever to rinse.Our lock was so tricky to open it was frustrating, when I reported it, they gave me a new key but it was the lock not the key so same problem as I had told them. Dont mind rustic but at these prices would really expect a bit more........a plastic shower curtain costs less than 3 bucks!!! Will not go back nor recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancunrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I only stayed here for 2 nights but it was all good for me. It is a great location on the beach, the room was good and the staff were friendly. A very special mention is needed for Marianne, she is really helpful, knowledgeable and easy to talk to. If anyone visits from the UK please can you swap some Pesos for the £5 note I gave her! Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#42 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#26 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#67 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Property: Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing